We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price/quality ratio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1217 Wildwood Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94089   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
North Pole, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best price/quality ratio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Best price/quality ratio hotel in the area. You get what you pay for - clean room, breakfast, free wifi - and even a little bit more.
Some rooms are facing the highway so it might get noisy - bear this in mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear s s,

We appreciate sharing your feedbacks about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that we met your hotel needs.

While cost of the hotel in the Silicon Valley area can be expensive, we offer our accommodation at reasonable cost with many amenities including free continental breakfast and wireless internet and more.

Should you return to the area, we look forward to welcoming you back. We appreciate your comments and business.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    90
    84
    49
    33
See reviews for
77
33
29
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DELMAR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Ramada Silicon Valley came recommended by a local business man. The lobby is separated from the rest of the hotel and is not representative of the room quality. Parking for the room (accessed by outside breezeway) was dimly lit and backed by trees which lowered the ability of this traveler to stay aware of his surroundings. Room service was discontinued at this hotel 2 years ago. There is a convenient 7-11 right around the corner where inexpensive alcohol can be purchased...I'm not sure what the local business man had against this traveler!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear RETLAW G,

Thank you for taking the time out of your bus schedule to share your feedbacks about your recent stay with us. Despite the recommendation from a local business man, we regret to learn that we didn't meet your hotel expectations. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and it was very unfortunate that we didn't meet your standards.

Please feel free to contact the hotel if you would like to discuss further. RETLAW G, we apologize again fro the less than satisfactory stay with us.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laporte, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I came into town to visit with family and chose the Ramada Inn because it seemed like a great value for the money. Sadly, we were wrong. The main issues are 1. The lack of functioning internet, and 2. The ghetto building and location. 3. I ended up with FOOD POISONING from their breakfast sausages.

Internet: We are currently 3 days into our week stay and so far we have had to call the front desk 15+ times in regards to the internet not functioning properly, which is pretty much every time we have tried to use it. The connection is as slow as dial-up when we can even get it to load at all, and staff has not found any solution to the problem. Apparently, the hotel has very little bandwidth, and apparently if the are folks downloading movies then no one else can use the internet at all. Taking into account that even when the staff kicks those user, their computers are automatically reconnecting, there is no way for anyone else to grab a piece of bandwidth. REALLY FRUSTRATING!

Rooms: The Ramada is in a building that has got to have been around since the 70's and the interiors have probably not been renovated since at least the early 90's. There are small holes in the walls from where there used to be different lapms installed that have some kind of paper-like fill stuffed into them. The sink has the porcelain chipped off so that gross rusted metal is showing through and their are stains running from the upper drain down to the lower one. The fridge seems to work, but without a microwave , you can't reheat anything. And the coffee-maker uses special coffee inserts so that is you just want to heat up water (without an insert) for the (provided!) tea bags, the water spews everywhere but in your cup.

Location: The location is run down and nothing like any of the other Ramada Inn's I've been to. Every other Ramada I have stayed at had the room doors on inside hallways. The doors here are the outdoor/motel style and the parking lot is old/gross. The area is definitely ghetto, and though we haven't had any problems with break ins yet, it seems like an area where that is a definite possibility.

Continental Breakfast: I ended up in the hospital with food poisoning. I think that pretty much sums it up.

I would not recommend anyone to stay here and we will definitely not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Jamie M,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your feedbacks on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations while you were in the area to visit your family.

According to our records, you have contacted the front desk numerous times about the internet issue you were experiencing during your stay as you mentioned. Every time you called the front desk to report the issue, our front desk staff tried to assist you by checking the wi-fi usage status as well as we offered to change your room for possible better internet connection. We put the room with wireless router on the side for you to move yet unfortunately, you declined to change your room numerous times. There is also a number to call for technical support on the piece of paper with the internet passowrd information. By reviewing our records, we couldn't find complaints about wi-fi issue from other hotel guests for the dates your stay.

We are an older property and in process of updating our property. We are very sorry if you felt the area and the building was “ghetto.” City of Sunnyvale is one of the safest cities in the country and it is very unfortunate that you were concerned about your safety during your stay. We also have security at night to perform foot patrol every night. In regards to the coffee maker, we tested and found no defect to the machine and the water didn't spew everywhere as you mentioned. The coffee maker we provide in the room (insert special coffee filter) is a new style that many hotels choose to use nowadays. We do provide a microwave in the breakfast area which is accessible for all the hotel guests 24hrs a day/7 days a week.

Lastly, we don't know how to comment on “Food Poisoning” from breakfast sausages. Again, we have checked our Manager On Duty reports for the dates of your stay and we couldn't find anything to indicate that the guests suffered food poisoning from our breakfast. In fact, we had no such incidents reported. Our sausages are prepared every morning and pastries are also delivered every morning from a local bakery.

Jamie M, we apologize again for the less than satisfactory stay with us. Please feel free to contact the hotel if you would like to discuss further about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and business.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley

Address: 1217 Wildwood Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Silicon Valley Hotel Sunnyvale
Ramada Inn Sunnyvale
Ramada Sunnyvale
Ramada Silicon Valley
Sunnyvale Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.