We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale to your Saves list
Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   504 Ross Drive, Sunnyvale, CA 94089 (Formerly Sundowner Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Placerville, California
1 review
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in transition. Laminate floors are great. Old bedspreads inside white duvet covers not. Microwave omelets and unfriendly breakfast staff. Showers regulator in our room fluctuated from cold to HOT--we had to work at not getting burned. Awful towels. Location is great and hotel has potential. They need to get rid of "dead " sofa in stairwell and trashed night stands in laundry room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSunnyvale, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear that you liked our new renovations (for instance, brand new flooring in all our rooms). We apologize that we did not meet your expectations in some areas. Here is what we are doing about the issues you pointed out: we recently upgraded shower temperature regulator in all our rooms, our maintenance staff is re-checking all the rooms as I write this to ensure they are working well. As part of the renovation, we have removed older furniture such as sofas from all the rooms, however, due to poor weather conditions, we had temporary situated one unit(the dead sofa, as you rightly described:) in the common area. Warm oats, milk, waffles, boiled eggs are few of the choices of our breakfast, however, we continue to listen to our guests and improve our quality. Please reach out to us if you would like to discuss further about our initiatives or have any more suggestions. Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale the next time you're in Sunnyvale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    47
    35
    44
See reviews for
44
11
22
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To say this hotel is adequate is the nicest thing that I can say. If you need a place to sleep for the night, it will get the job done. But beyond that, it's not as nice as it is represented in pictures online. I had booked a king-size bed room....guess what size bed I had? If you guessed queen, you'd be generous, the bed in my room was a full sized bed. When I went to complain at the front desk, I was told (and I quote) "we only have king sized beds in our single bed rooms." If this was my only complaint, I would be far less upset. But the fact that I decided to spend extra money on this hotel based on the pictures posted to their website (I wanted to have a more "luxurious" stay). Nothing has been upgraded in these rooms like the pictures would suggest, except for the duvet cover that covers the original, dated comforter. The A/C unit in my room didn't work (I just wanted to turn the fan on because the place was stuffy and had a funky musty smell). Oh...and the funky musty smell. The breakfast was also disappointing...again, the pictures online seem to indicate there are waffles and hot eggs....nothing but cereal and toast. So yeah....just beware that this hotel is not nearly as nice as it seems. OH! And this place is terribly inconvenient to get to--and confusing to get to because there is a big "SUNDOWNER" neon sign on the side of the hotel (and a really tiny "Days Inn" sign off to the side).

Room Tip: Adequate at best, but misrepresented online
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I reserved 3 rooms and was very impressed with the roomy rooms and friendly staff. We are def coming back!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Vanessa, we are glad that we could make your stay wonderful. We would love have you back again. Cheers! - Precy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

This might be the most questionable motel I've experienced for the price. First impression was being told that there is a $250 fine for smoking in the room, not a problem don't smoke. Then I drive over to my room and find nearly a dozen people who have hauled furniture out of their rooms to smoke outdoors. The hanging rack in the room was mounted at an angle, and towels were very thin.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Precy M, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
We are extremely sorry if the no smoking in the room caused you any inconvenience. We are changing furniture in the rooms and normally by 4 pm we stop the work.. People smoke out side their room 25 feet away from the building. We have designated smoking area for the smokers. Towel rack was truly our mistake and as the folks check out late and the hotel is fully occupied it is inexcusable that the housekeeping missed this.. If you would have called the front desk the error would have been corrected. Please call the hotel and ask for the manager and we would like to discuss what we can do for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Stayed with my family, rooms were clean. Furniture was a little out dated, as was the bathrooms. The hard wood floors were something I had never experienced before, cold on your feet in the morning, but over all was good. Disappointed we were unable to have joining rooms with our kids.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Precy M, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. The hotel was nearly sold out and all the connecting rooms with two beds were occupied. In the future please let us know in advance so that we can comply with your request. We are in process of changing furniture in the rooms. Also bath room vanity and lighting will be changed shortly. Drapes are also being changed. We are considering offering slippers for the hard wood floor in the room. Please do come back soon to experience the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Good value for an overnight. Breakfast is good. Room adequate if in need of a little updating. Bed comfortable and hotel is quiet. WiFi nearly worthless, very spotty and difficult to maintain. Desk clerk efficient but far from the chatty friendly that makes you feel welcome. Overall, just okay. Because of value in the area, though, would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Precy M, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our staff is trained to make guests comfortable. We try hard to check our guests efficently and answer their questions. We have four WIFI signals and one must pick the strongest one depending in the area of the hotel one is located. We have upgraded the hotel with new flat screen TV, bedding, hard wood flor, new furniture in some of the rooms. Ourbusiness center offers high speed internet access. Please come and talk with us so w can help you with your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale

Address: 504 Ross Drive, Sunnyvale, CA 94089 (Formerly Sundowner Inn)
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our amenities are designed to make business travel a pleasure. Here you will find high-technology companies, abundant recreational and entertainment choices and storybook landscapes. The Days Inn and Suites Sunnyvale is centrally located South of San Francisco Bay in the heart of Silicon Valley, convenient to major Fortune 500 companies, Shoreline Amphitheatre, Stanford Shopping Center, and beautiful Stanford University. We look forward to hosting your next stay in the Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Sunnyvale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.