We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California Visit2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of P.F. Chang's

P.F. Chang's
390 W El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-1306
408-991-9078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 338 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“California Visit2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A nearby place of where I was staying. Had a good lunch and enjoyed the food and the ambiance. Good service as well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    40
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Better to go to a Chef Chu's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sorry to report that PF Chang's has come down a few notches in my opinion. They have a great ambience but the food has become pretty lackluster over the last few years. Drinks are strong and tasty, but the food tastes like it's been frozen, thawed, and re-heated. The chicken in the Kung-Pao Chicken I had tasted like nothing and had a texture like it had been frozen and thawed a couple times. Much better Chinese food can be had from the locally-owned restaurants, such as Chef Chu's in Palo Alto.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
1,011 helpful votes 1,011 helpful votes
“Sat 620pm, limited parking, 15 minute wait, Mongolian beef & lettuce wraps a hit, Singapore noodles too salty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We got a coupon for a free lettuce wrap at PF Changs in the mail, and decided to go -we only go to this restaurant with a coupon, as there are better values and better food at Chinese restaurants nearby -Ginger Cafe across Mathilda Ave. I called up to make a reservation, but was told they don't take reservations less than 2 hours in advance of seating. I ask, and am told there is a 15 minute wait for parties of 2.

We get to the shopping center at 625 pm on a Saturday, and luck out getting a spot just as a car is pulling out, beating out the dozen cars circling the large parking lot, holding hundreds of spots, looking for an empty space. The shopping center hosts a number of stores, anchored by a Trader Joes, and is is always busy after 6pm every day. The restaurant does have valet parking, reserving a number of spots.

We check in, and wait 15-20 minutes, along with another dozen guests, despite there being an entire section of the restaurant is near empty - they only hire so many waiters to be on duty.

Good ambiance, with a circular Chinese mural on the wall near the ceiling, and two giant horse sculptures at the entrance inside, and moon shaped ceiling lights, amid the TV screens showing sports events, on the walls in the bar area. Disco music with that 1,2,3,4 drum beat, perhaps from Donna Summer blaring in the background -well nobody said this was an authentic Chinese restaurant!

We get lucky, and get seated with two single tables joined together, with one side on the couch. Pretty tight quarters for two if you get a single table, as they are only about 20" across.

We order the $9 Chicken Lettuce Wrap, the $16 Mongolian Beef, and the $12 Singapore noodles. I had a bad experience with their Kung Pao chicken the last visit, and stay away from chicken dishes unless they are soaked in a sauce, like a curry dish. They used to have a chicken mango dish which I liked.

We always order the Chicken Lettuce Wrap, as it is their signature dish, and always delicious with just out of the frying pan: cooked chicken, mushrooms, bamboo shoots, and Chinese rice noodles to go with a half dozen lettuce wraps - a Chinese burrito. Not sure if they have some pieces of peanuts in the wrap.

The Mongolian beef arrives slightly overcooked, but is tasty, accompanied by a ton of green onions -if you don't like green onions, then don't order this dish. The portion size is on the small side, but it is a hit, and a dish I will order the next time I come.

Our final dish is the Singapore street noodles, with very thin noodles with soy sauce, orange peppers, bits of chicken, shrimp, and a few vegetables. Too much soy sauce. I drink up my water in no time, but the waiter never comes back to refill it. If I order it again, I would ask them to go light on the sauce, as it overwhelms the taste of the other ingredients, particularly the shrimp. About 5 pieces of shrimp, each about an inch in diameter, in the dish, .

The final damage is $36 after tax and tip. I will have to remember that rice is free at this place, unlike other places which charge up to $4 for rice. We get out of there at 745 pm, and there is a long line of cars circling the lot, waiting for any available space on this Saturday evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good vegan fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The vegetarian menu is excellent for vegans. Fairly consistent across locations. Enjoy veg lettuce wraps and all the entries.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I celebrate my birthday every year and all special events at PF Changs. The food is amazing. Lettuce wraps and Buddah's Feast are my favorites. Service is always good. The location on El Camino Real make it easy to find. It can get a bit noisy but other than that it's a wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.F. Chang's also viewed

 

Been to P.F. Chang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage P.F. Chang's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.