We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
865 W El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94086   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 hotels in Sunnyvale
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at the Grand for 5 nights for business. Hotel limo ride to work was very nice!! My room was clean and spacious. The breakfasts were OK, usual fare eggs, sausages, fruit, yoghurt, pastries etc Something different every day. Coffee was OK. The best part was Dave the barman "the nicest guy in the world". Lovely to have a beer and nibbles and a friendly chat after a hard days work. The worst part was housekeeping hounding me to vacate my room at 8.30am when I had just got out of the shower :o( Reception staff were nice and helpful though. Recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    30
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
6
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great Happy Hour with hors d'oeuvres, fruit and nuts. We were upgraded to a bungalow with a full kitchenette, was nice and filled with amenities. Yummy hot breakfast was included. Pretty quiet considering its right on El Camino Real. Many restaurants near by, Ewxcelletns ervice, pool and hot tub area with locked gates for safety. Lots of foilage in the courtyard area with flowering plants, shrubs etc. Felt safe ~ I would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I always stay at this hotel when I'm in town for business. I like the size of the rooms, the free breakfast, the free parking lot, the swimming pool with heated water and the free happy hour. What need to be improved is the wifi internet (terrible) and the TV channels (quality and quantity of channels).

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Very nice place with great location near restaurants.shopping and mall. Clean quiet and fab breakfast included. This is the place to stay. Only thing missing is a computer or buisiness area otherwise perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My employer put me up here for four days recently for my first week on the job. Staff is friendly and efficient. Liked the free happy hour in the evening. Pool and jacuzzi looked nice, and I saw it get cleaned each morning, but alas no time to try those out. The free breakfast in the morning is what you'd expect from a continental breakfast bar setup, but they also had fresh sausages, eggs, hashbrowns and a waffle making machine. I usually took some food to go and a fresh coffee to start my day. Room: I stayed in one of the suites and found it clean, quite and felt safe. Wish the LCD TVs in the room had an actual HD signal being fed to them, but small knitpick. What was annoying was the wifi coverage, or lack thereof: the signal just wasn't that strong. Come on guys: this is Silicon Valley - install a repeater or two for the suites please.
Overally, thought this was a good place to stay near my employer's office -- I'd gladly go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have stayed several times, every time on business trip. I choose to stay primarily due to convenience to my place of business in Sunnyvale, but also as it is clean and spacious. There is a free Wi-Fi regardless of number of devices you want to connect.
If you are looking for true luxury this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a place where things work, it is clean and no hassle, you might consider it.
There is a happy hour in the evening, and the bartender is very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Boutique this is not, despite their motto, but clean and fairly spacious. There is nothing too special about th place. My King Deluxe room was pretty large and it was clean. Though it's not exactly brunch at the Ritz, they did have a reasonable assortment of foods and juices in the morning. Free Wifi and reasonable proximity to office buildings and the highway make it a decent choice for a work trip hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 865 W El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94086
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sunnyvale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.