We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for any occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   865 W El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94086   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for any occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great Happy Hour with hors d'oeuvres, fruit and nuts. We were upgraded to a bungalow with a full kitchenette, was nice and filled with amenities. Yummy hot breakfast was included. Pretty quiet considering its right on El Camino Real. Many restaurants near by, Ewxcelletns ervice, pool and hot tub area with locked gates for safety. Lots of foilage in the courtyard area with flowering plants, shrubs etc. Felt safe ~ I would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    45
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
14
2
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I always stay at this hotel when I'm in town for business. I like the size of the rooms, the free breakfast, the free parking lot, the swimming pool with heated water and the free happy hour. What need to be improved is the wifi internet (terrible) and the TV channels (quality and quantity of channels).

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Very nice place with great location near restaurants.shopping and mall. Clean quiet and fab breakfast included. This is the place to stay. Only thing missing is a computer or buisiness area otherwise perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My employer put me up here for four days recently for my first week on the job. Staff is friendly and efficient. Liked the free happy hour in the evening. Pool and jacuzzi looked nice, and I saw it get cleaned each morning, but alas no time to try those out. The free breakfast in the morning is what you'd expect from a continental breakfast bar setup, but they also had fresh sausages, eggs, hashbrowns and a waffle making machine. I usually took some food to go and a fresh coffee to start my day. Room: I stayed in one of the suites and found it clean, quite and felt safe. Wish the LCD TVs in the room had an actual HD signal being fed to them, but small knitpick. What was annoying was the wifi coverage, or lack thereof: the signal just wasn't that strong. Come on guys: this is Silicon Valley - install a repeater or two for the suites please.
Overally, thought this was a good place to stay near my employer's office -- I'd gladly go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have stayed several times, every time on business trip. I choose to stay primarily due to convenience to my place of business in Sunnyvale, but also as it is clean and spacious. There is a free Wi-Fi regardless of number of devices you want to connect.
If you are looking for true luxury this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a place where things work, it is clean and no hassle, you might consider it.
There is a happy hour in the evening, and the bartender is very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Boutique this is not, despite their motto, but clean and fairly spacious. There is nothing too special about th place. My King Deluxe room was pretty large and it was clean. Though it's not exactly brunch at the Ritz, they did have a reasonable assortment of foods and juices in the morning. Free Wifi and reasonable proximity to office buildings and the highway make it a decent choice for a work trip hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

How can you go wrong with a clean room with tons of space, great beds, wonderful staff.. great Bartender (Dave) and a staff that is pleasant with a 'customer first' attitude. The breakfast is perfect for the business person.

And the free happy hour!!! top shelf booze and great wines. Dave (bartender) is extremely well versed in the wine selection and is a whiz at drinks.

You'll often see the GM in the lobby / bar area, so if you ever had an issue (which you won't, I've stayed there for over 10 years), you could speak to the person that can fix it without question.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.6 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#2 of 35 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
#5 of 35 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Sunnyvale Mountain View
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 865 W El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94086
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sunnyvale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.