We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to stay at in Sunnyvale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale to your Saves list
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   748 North Mathilda Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94085   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel to stay at in Sunnyvale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I like the apartment concept of this hotel (with kitchen and all!) which is very helpful if you're staying for a couple of days. It's also close to 237 and 101 so it's easy to get here if you're coming from SFO or going some place else.

Checking in and out is also a breeze.

Another thing that I liked here is the free laundry (you have to buy the $1 detergent though) and it really helps for long trips.

Only downside is that the breakfast is not as fancy as other hotels. They only have breads and cereals, coffees and juices.

If you're bringing a car, the parking is free and there are two gas stations nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback from your recent stay here at the Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale! It is always great to hear when our guests are able to enjoy the many amenities provided as well as our helpful and friendly front desk staff. Regarding our breakfast, we are always looking for ways to improve and again, appreciate your feedback. We do currently provide hot menu items three days each week and will certainly look into adding additional breakfast items to spice up our menu.

Thank you again for your time and feedback.

Best Regards,
Brian Hutchison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    55
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
19
12
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed in a 1 bed apartment in this hotel, the kitchen comes with all appliances and utensils, great furnishings, clean and convenient location, free parking. Staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast comes included and it was ok. They have a good DVD library to watch movies. For people staying for a week or two on business this is a very good place to stay, as it gives the space and the option of cooking and avoiding eating out every day. Only issue was the bathroom was not upto the standards expected, it was very basic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay here at the Larkspur Landing Hotel in Sunnyvale. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of so many of our wonderful amenities. Regarding our bathrooms, we are currently replacing the bathtubs in many of our suites and have recently updated the products provided in each bathroom. We hope that you are back again soon to enjoy these updates!

Thanks again for helping us to improve our product!

Best Regards,
Brian Hutchison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed for 3 weeks through the Thanksgiving Holidays.

Hotel has a friendly feel and a nice ambience with easy access to near by Businesses and Freeways.

Rooms were good clean and spacious with everything provided for

Breakfast was a little let down with even the Milpitas property serving something cooked.

Hotel staff very friendly and Wendy in particular was real charming with a ready smile and willingness to help

This place is an excellent option for long stays with the kitchenette and the great location

Ravi

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! It is always great to hear when our guests are able to enjoy the many amenities provided as well as our helpful and friendly front desk staff. I will be sure to share, with our staff, the pleasant impressions they left with you. Regarding our breakfast, we are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your suggestion to add more hot items to our menu. We do currently provide hot menu items three days each week and will certainly look into adding additional days to our menu.

Thanks again for helping us to improve our product!

Best Regards,
Brian Hutchison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice hotel with a great location close to the freeway. Rooms are large comfortable suites with kitchens. Staff were always polite and friendly.
The free laundry is really appreciated when you're on a long business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share such positive feedback from your recent stay here at the Larkspur Landing Hotel in Sunnyvale. It is always helpful to hear first hand from our guests, how much they were able to enjoy their stay.

Thank you again for your time and for your business! We hope to see you again during your next visit to Sunnyvale.

Best Regards,
Brian Hutchision
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The room is really big with living room and kitchen. Room is comfort and hotel staffs are friendly. I would say it is a really good bargen if you want to stay long for business trip. The hotel has everything you need. (Plus it's not that expensive compare to rooms in SFO). Recommend to stay here if you got a chance!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Absolutely pristine apartments with friendly and attentive staff. Always smiling at reception, we had no problems arranging a complimentary transit to our head offices at the drop of a hat. Fresh cookies were on offer every day and the breakfast staff were genuinely lovely, even at 6:30am!
The member of staff at this particular hotel that seemed to be in charge of the breakfasts went out of her way to find me some a traditional English Breakfast tea which was much appreciated for a non-coffee drinker.
Only two suggestions for improvement - cooked breakfast would be a great addition that I would be happy to pay for. And the refrigerators in the rooms are very loud. I turned mine off using a quarter to adjust the thermostat inside but it may be worth staff mentioning this tip when checking in if guests aren't planning to use the utility.

Otherwise, I'm looking forward to staying again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for about 10 days and found it much better than some other apartment stay hotels that I have been to earlier. The shuttle drop-off and pick-up facility is highly useful, use of laundry machines is free (there's a vending machine to buy soap as well) while quite often breakfast has freshly cooked omelettes - all of which I didn't find at some other apartment stay hotels.

The location is good with some decent restaurants around (Denny's, Hobees etc.) apart from McDonalds and Burger King. Other fast food joints and grocery store are about 10 minutes of walk. The caltrain station (and the new shopping place thats coming up there) is about 20-25 minutes of walk - again shuttle service helps.

The front desk staff is very helpful and courteous, they go that extra mile to make the stay comfortable. Once on the weekend we were stranded at a place with no bus or taxi available, the hotel promptly sent across their shuttle to pick us up - even though they don't offer shuttle service on the weekends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale

Address: 748 North Mathilda Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94085
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
#5 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#7 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale Hotel near San Jose is conveniently located in the heart of Silicon Valley off of Highway 101 on North Mathilda Avenue. The city, which is home to well known companies like Yahoo!, Lockheed Martin and Juniper Networks, also offers close proximity to attractions like the Shoreline Amphitheater, California's Great America, the Tech Museum of Innovation and much more. Larkspur’s Sunnyvale CA hotel provides easy access to these famous attractions as well as dozens of eclectic boutiques, shops and fine dining options. This San Jose Hotel provides guests with unparalleled comfort and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.