We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, comfortable and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale

Save Saved
You added Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   748 North Mathilda Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94085   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 hotels in Sunnyvale
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value, comfortable and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

I stayed here for 2 weeks and was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, comfortable and relatively new. Compared to the other options in the area, you can pay a lot more for similar quality, or somewhat less for a scary cheap motel. When you are on a tight business travel budget, it can be hard to find something like the Larkspur. The kitchen was a great help in keeping my travel costs down. The room I had was exceptionally quiet and it seemed like there was almost no one there over the weekend. I had no problems with internet connectivity.

Do not use Orbitz to book a hotel - they have a record of charging people and not making the reservation and refusing a refund (this happened to me.)

  • Liked — value, comfort
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    40
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
12
12
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
FW, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel for several weeks as a business traveler. Before 2 weeks ago, would have given it a lovely review. My opinion has now changed, after encountering what should have been a simple to resolve problem and seeing how the hotel staff has addressed the issues.

This hotel has recently moved its internet service "in house" and the IT staff is simply not up to the job. When the service was first switched from Lodgenet to the Larkspur Hotels in house ISP, we lost our ability to send outgoing email and also lost a secure wired LAN connection (they still have insecure wireless internet). It has now been over 10 days and the LAN connection is still out on the 4th floor and they can't even figure out the problem. (The 4th floor is the only floor with balconies and is where most of the long-term stay customers are located.)

After talking to my own firm's IT department, I was able to explain to the hotel that they were blocking the main outgoing email port and they finally managed to restore our ability to send email. However, the LAN is still down and there is no indication of when or IF it will be restored. The hotel has repeatedly stalled on pursuing a repair and tried to pass off problems as being the customer's problem, thus delaying any attempt at a resolution. And don't forget the irony that this is a hotel located in the center of Silicon Valley -- you'd think internet would be a priority for a hotel catering to high tech business travelers.

In addition, this is billed as an "upscale" extended stay hotel, but they only have 12 cable channels, compared to the 70+ at nearby competitor hotels owned by Marriot and IHC and Sheraton. They do not have a hot breakfast, nor a restaurant, nor a "mini-market" to purchase small items, like TV dinners, wine, aspirin, etc. (the competitors all have this). The closest thing they have is a vending machine and a grocery shopping service. Competitor suite hotels within 5 miles all have full stoves with ovens, but this one doesn't. They also have pathetically dim lighting in the rooms and bathroom, so if you need light to get ready in the morning, plan to bring a lighted hand mirror or something similar.

The nice thing here is the furnishings and bedding; they also occassionaly make cookies at night (assuming the staff decides to make them). Those things are great extras if the business hotel basics are there, but when the basics like secure internet are missing, they hardly make up for the lack of those items.

On the staff, 2 weeks ago I would have said they were great, but then again, I never actually had a significant problem that needed to be solved. Now that I see how they solve problems (they don't or they really drag their feet), I would give the staff a thumbs down. They are quite polite while dragging their feet and making excuses, but if you're a business traveler, you want solutions, not polite excuses.

At least for the time being (by that, I mean months from now), I'd recommend trying the nearby Staybridge Suites, Towneplace Suites, Sunnyvale Sheraton or Residence Inn. These are all equally nice places just minutes away and they don't suffer from the IT problems and seem capable of solving problems in a reasonably prompt manner. Most have hot breakfasts, happy hours, restaurants, shuttle services, and most importantly, decent cable and internet. The Larkspur Landing lacks all these items, although they keep promising it is changing.... I'm STILL waiting.

  • Liked — Furnishings, bedding, cookies
  • Disliked — internet and cable service
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2007

We stayed at the this hotel over New Years weekend because we wanted to get out of town and relax. The service was excellent, and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed is advertised as being especially comfortable, it is, but certainly not the best I've ever slept on. There is free Internet connection and after working out a few glitches getting hooked up it ran smoothly for the remainder of our trip. The free breakfast was nothing to write home about, I would definitely bring something to prepare in my room. The only really dissapointing thing was that we thought that the kitchenette would have either an oven or one of those convection oven microwave combos. There was only a stovetop and that limits what you can cook.

Overall we had a nice stay and would stay here again.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

I have stayed at Larkpur for quite a few nights...the rooms are nice, the buildings are new, and the staff friendly. The problem is I travel for a few nights here and there..and the last thing I want to smell when I'm traveling to a hotel is a room next to me cooking a big meal filled with Curry or Garlic. Since all the rooms have cooking facilities, and quite extensive at that..I was feeling a little overwhelmed by the smells..I'd probably go to a regular hotel next time, and leave this type of property to people who like to cook while traveling. I'll stick to restaurants and room service.

  • Disliked — Apartment feel
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2006

My husband had to go to Sunnyvale on work for 2 weeks so I helped the TA book this hotel since it had the full kitchen and separate bedroom. We joined him for the last seven days of his stay, and was very pleased with my choice. We had initially booked an executive suite, however since the hotel gave away his room the night he checked in, he was upgraded to a boardroom suite. This worked out great when we got there for the two small kids got plenty of room to run around. Loved the cookies, the Starbucks coffee present ALL the time in the lobby, the laundry facilities, the tremendously helpful front desk, and the location. I did not like the housekeeping. I would tip them every day but most of the days I would need to call them back since they would forget to do the basics. It got really annoying since it was not like the place needed a lot of work. I have stayed in a LOT of hotels and this place easily took the cake in providing horrible housekeeping. The kitchen was nice and compact with everything you would need, they even provided the popcorn and starbucks packets to make coffee in the room though I would run out to the lobby to get my coffee. One thing to remember, the coffee cups were tiny paper cups and if you are a coffee drinker like me, it would need several cups to get you satisfied.

  • Liked — Free internet access, layout of hotel suite
  • Disliked — Housekeeping was TERRIBLE
  • Tips/Secrets — Hobbes right next to it serves great breakfast.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale, ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

stayed at the larkspur for a couple nights while visiting family. at $90, the weekend rate was acceptable. the weeknight rate was $180, which would have been a bit disappointing.

what i liked-
freshly baked chocolate chip cookies at 5pm
dvd library
complimentary popcorn
friendly service went above and beyond, we were able to check in a couple of hours early
free in-room internet access

what i didn't like-
no swimming pool
kitchen in our room was modern, but i didn't realize there would be a kitchen in our room
did hear a bit of the weekend noise from people "cruising" the parking lot on friday night, but it didn't prevent me from sleeping
the air conditioning unit was loud

  • Liked — front desk staff
  • Disliked — noisy air conditioner
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

I stayed at the Larkspur for a business trip, and it was only one night, but it was a fantastic hotel. The room was great - big, clean, full of amenities.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The free breakfast and reading room, with the day's newspapers was great.

And the common-use computer was a big plus, too.

I'd definitely recommend the Larkspur for any business traveller.

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale

Address: 748 North Mathilda Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94085
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale Hotel near San Jose is conveniently located in the heart of Silicon Valley off of Highway 101 on North Mathilda Avenue. The city, which is home to well known companies like Yahoo!, Lockheed Martin and Juniper Networks, also offers close proximity to attractions like the Shoreline Amphitheater, California's Great America, the Tech Museum of Innovation and much more. Larkspur’s Sunnyvale CA hotel provides easy access to these famous attractions as well as dozens of eclectic boutiques, shops and fine dining options. This San Jose Hotel provides guests with unparalleled comfort and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.