We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent business hotel, with a lively atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 E Fremont Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94087   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great America Package
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangalore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A decent business hotel, with a lively atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I like this place because of its location, a cheery feeling - especially the colors. The furnishings are a bit upmarket and not the usually cheesy kind that I see around. Staff are generally cheerful. Just remember not to get the rooms facing the street. That could definitely make it noisy. There is free internet and breakfast - which has some cooked options.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    182
    74
    30
    10
See reviews for
88
87
61
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is my second time at the Wild Palms hotel. I stayed here 11 nights last year and returned this year for a 9-day stay.
The location of the hotel is perfect, a 45-minute drive from San Francisco, a 30-minute drive from Santa Cruz and lots of restaurants in Sunnyvale/Santa Clara.

The hotel rooms are clean, large and the beds are really comfortable. Bathroom is really clean and nice, which is important for me because I hate dirty and outdated bathrooms.
There's free breakfast every morning. The food is nothing special but good enough. The pool area is clean and nice.

I will definitely come back for a third stay and I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Staying at the Wild Palms isn't a particularly unpleasant expeience, but it's one I doubt I'll want to repeat. To list why, in no particular order...

1. There's no bar. Despite the large signs outside saying "Wild Palms Hotel and Bar", they no longer have said bar. The receptionist directed me to a place called the Patio a hundred yards or so down the road, but the less said about that the better. There's nowhere else decent around either.
2. If you don't have wheels, it's difficult to get into downtown Sunnyvale. there are a few bus routes that stop outside the hotel but none of them goes directly to Murphy Avenue or the Sunnyvale Caltrain.
3. The hotel is 'open plan' so you can walk in off the street and be in among the corridors without going through any doors. For the first time ever, I have felt the need to use the room safe.
4. Guests seem to be made up entirely of geeks. Not a problem in itself, but they all seem to descend on the breakfast buffet at the same time in the morning, creating a scrum in what isn't a huge eating area (did it used to be the bar??).
5. Reception staff really don't seem engaged. They whisk you through the formalities and, on checking out, there's no enquiry as to how the stay was. They don't even bother with the 'have a nice day'.
6. Printer in the 'business centre' won't take memory sticks, and the PC there won't accept incoming email so printing impossible that way too. Useless.

On the plus side, the scrambled eggs for breakfast were good, the wi-fi worked well (across multiple devices on the same log-in details), and I thought the beds were quite comfortable. But that's about it - apart from the price.

I'll try somewhere different next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego California, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

nice clean rooms. well decorated. good breakfast was included. wifi was included. friendly staff. 2 small complaints
1. the room was smaller than your usual double room.
2. the beds were not very comfortable. felt like we were going to fall off the sides.
very good stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We were not satisfied with the overall look and feel of the hotel -- it felt like a dorm room somehow. (We had deluxe, standard room.) It is obvious it used to be an apartment complex -- not built to be a hotel at all. Rooms had an odd shape -- where did the kitchen used to be? Felt misled from the website. Are the other reviews for real? Did not like the neighborhood -- and the gates on all the entrances did not help -- felt like a prison. Our room practically stuck out into a noisy street. No curtains on the windows -- bright lights came through the blinds all night. Bed was very small for two people. Really a queen? Sheets and towels were rough and low quality. Carpet (rough and unattractive) had a big black stain on it -- oil? Paint? Ink? the same stain was on the thermostat. The walls were covered with small mail holes that had been patched with the wrong color (liquid nails?) so you could see all the holes. I guess somebody moved the paintings? Outside, the carpet in the stairs was stained, and smelled bit moldy -- as did the room. The stairs themselves were old and broken down. Our door wouldn't shut and lock properly unless you lifted it up and wiggled it (it was hanging on the hinges.) Furniture was old and scratched. Overall it was just sort of sad and depressing. Would have changed rooms but we were there late and were tired, and I didn't have any faith that another room would be better. Bathroom had been remodeled -- it was small but new and nice. The room was pretty clean. Price was good ($89.) Did not have breakfast. Other people seemed happy enough to sit in the pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

home like accommodation. Good value. Great service. Love it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This hotel is has a tropical feel to it from the main entrance to the courtyards and layout. It is ideal for vacationers, but less so for business people looking for full service. The hallway carpets are filthy, but they are exterior, so that is excusable. There is no restaurant or laundry facilities. If you put a "do not disturb" sign on your door and don't remove it before 11 am, don't expect to have your room cleaned. There was no microwave in my room and the girl at the front desk was somewhat dismissive whenever I spoke to here. I don't get the impression she enjoyed her job, or she felt my requests were beneath her.

My review may be tainted as I usually stay at hotels that cater to the needs of business travellers. Having now experienced Wild Palms, I would not come here again on business travel which extends more than a week. For vacationers, this is a pretty little motel trying to be a hotel and doing it quite well.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 910 E Fremont Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
#3 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#3 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Palms Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.