We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flea bites and surly bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Inn of Sunnyvale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pacific Inn of Sunnyvale to your Saves list
Pacific Inn of Sunnyvale
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 S Sunnyvale Ave., Sunnyvale, CA 94086   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Flea bites and surly bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for more than 2 weeks in July. The location is excellent being so close to the Caltrain station, shopping places and the wonderful historic murphy street. Otherwise this place is bad news. I suffered flea bites all over legs, arms, head, back... the maid service does not clean the rooms that well at all. The rooms themselves were run down and the bed not comfortable. Service was largely surly and unpleasant. The one plus side is the wifi worked well and reliably. Otherwise, do try your best to stay away from this place. You can smell the cigarettes in the halls even in the non-smoking rooms. The supposed complimentary coffee and water for guests pretty much non-existent. The breakfast they offer is also incredibly unhealthy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    7
    4
    28
See reviews for
4
4
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are incredibly small, there were stains in the carpets, the shower was black on the floor who knows the last time it was cleaned. The towel racks in the bathroom were falling down. Continental breakfast consisted of cold cereal and coffee, there were no alternatives. None of the staff spoke clear english. All in all if I wasn't in a financial bind with my fathers heart surgery I wouldn't have stayed at all! Seriously save your money and sleep in your car you'd be better off!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We found this place online and we saw the rooms looked great but when we got there to our suprise there wasn't good about it. The room we stayed was supposedly a deluxe, but it was dump the floors were sticky and smelly, the whole room was smelly, the can opener was broken, The breakfast was joke I wouldn't even touch it, the next morning we found bed bugs hiding in the mattress and we had to wash our clothes. The city of Sunnyvale and the health department need to shut this hotel down no one should be subjecting to staying in a hotel as dumpy and gross as this dump. If you think about booking this hotel think twice before you book don't make the same mistake we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Honestly, This is the most disgusting place I've ever been to. The Fridge in the room as broken so it leaked water all over the carpet and I swear the carpet and bed smelled like piss.

The only bright side was that I left within the hour and got my money refunded.

Do Not Go Here!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

For people who party out on Murphy on weekends this is a nice place to stay cheap so no driving necessary and avoid DUI. Its also great for short term stay and close to Caltrains. The cost is low so amenities are inline with cost. It is a city hotel so....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed here with my family. With our arrival at one in the morning, we went to the room, discovering that it was the nastiest room ever. It can't be described to the full extent of how horrible it is. To start off the carpet was dirty and sticky, the bed sheets was dirty and smelly, the towels were also dirty, making it super disgusting to apply the towels, the curtain board was cracked, the air conditioner does not function at all, and half the lights do not work. After contacting the front desk, they claim that this is one of the best rooms they have to offer. If this is the best, I can only wonder how bad the worst one could be. If you want to stay somewhere cheap, please stay anywhere else besides this. Stay FAR FAR FAR from this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I rented a room for a night as I had to move into my apartment the next day. It was such a HUGE mistake! I have stayed at cheaper hotels before but had not seen anything like this ever. The rooms are only large enough to fit a bed frame which is covered with a dirty bed sheet and wallpaper is coming off the walls, no toilet paper in the pathetic bathroom. In short, don't stay here even if they offer rooms for free!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Inn of Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn of Sunnyvale

Address: 170 S Sunnyvale Ave., Sunnyvale, CA 94086
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Pacific Inn of Sunnyvale 1.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Inn of Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Inn Of Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale
Pacific Hotel Sunnyvale
Pacific Inn Sunnyvale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Inn of Sunnyvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.