We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to flee at break of dawn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Sun City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Sun City to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Sun City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   27680 Encanto Dr, Sun City, CA 92586   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sun City
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had to flee at break of dawn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the disabled suite last night (Room 125). The fire alarm was disconnected. My husband got shocked when he plugged his CPAP into the outlet. There were dead cockroaches all over the room, which were nothing compared to the live ones that came out at night. My son looked under the beds and there was old food that had never been cleaned up (even the drawers had crumbs in some of them). There were fingernail clippings behind the nightstand. The beds creaked like we were having wild sex. The beds were shredded to the wood. The box springs on one bed had a dark stain (blood? feces? who knows). Plaster covered holes in the walls. The walls were thin enough that normal voices could be heard through them. The refrigerator emitted a horrible odor... Freon? I have no idea. I woke up in coughing fit at 3 a.m. We packed and left a.s.a.p. BTW -- It was grapefruit juice you served, not orange juice... lol.

Room Tip: Drive a little further down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
5
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was a lil over priced for the quality of hotel. I asked the lady for a AAA disc. she said I already had the best rate so when she charged me $79.00 I was shocked. They had continental breakfast which I wasn't told about, but I did notice it on the website. This place needs TLC old curtains the sliding door was broken and off it's hinges and bathroom light fixture was dirty, the towels were a lil old. So the value was disappointing. The beds were a lil hard not to bad, what I found surprising was the pillows 1 was hard, 1 was soft I did like that. The only plus of this place was the fact that the sliding door leads to the pool and they do have a section of grass and the rooms are divided with a wooden fence for privacy and the top rooms have balconies. You can easily have a small bbq at there and feel like you are in your own backyard.

Room Tip: This one is a difficult it's a lil old and needs TLC. Definetly over priced. But the fact that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Who gives the star ratings? The owner was very polite, helpful & nice but it didn't make up for he patched holes in the wall or the older moldy bathtub drain. An older motel but doesn't mean the rooms have to look run down as well. Torn material on the chair in the first room. Cracks in the cabinet that held the microwave. We looked at 2 other rooms & decided it was better to cancel our trip returning home 2 hours away.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel is such a mixed bag. I expected an older motel with the pool in the middle of the parking lot. What we got was something entirely different.

Enter the hotel lobby and check in with the woman "behind the counter" - through bullet proof glass. Walk across the dilapidated parking lot, past what looks like a bombed out building, up what are clearly crumbling stairs, to a hotel room which is ... well ... clean.

Once inside the room, the beds are clean, as are the floors and bathrooms, and it's generally okay.

All that said, I found the hotel grounds so scary that I would neither stay again nor recommend to anyone. I didn't stick around long enough to figure out what "continental breakfast" meant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My room was clean and came with a microwave and refrigerator, and the motel grounds were very peaceful and quiet. They had a nice clean pool with jasmine bushes nearby that smelled wonderful!(Jasmine is my favorite:-) The staff at the front desk were very friendly, and they had fresh coffee in the morning with the continental breakfast! I would recommend this motel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I was traveling for business and this hotel was convienently located and had positive reviews. It was clean. Now, for what I didn't like:
- no coffee maker
- no ironing board

This is a very basic, clean, no frills lodging.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Americas Best Value Inn for 9 nights in September 2010. We had a large, clean room (with a comfortable bed and good-sized table), and found the complex to be situated in a quiet location but within close proximity of some shops, restaurants, a postoffice and library. Our room had a fridge and microwave but no in-room coffee-making facilities. The bathroom was a good size and though the bath itself was rather tired-looking, the shower was good. Towels were changed daily and bath sundries (shampoo, body lotion + soap) were replenished when used). The hairdryer was good. A limited breakfast of prepackaged cellophane-wrapped similar-looking pastries, weak coffee but good apple or orange juice was avalable from 5am – 10am in the lobby. The complex had a small outdoor pool and terrace (untried) and guest laundry facilities (reasonably priced and worked fine). Our only negative observation was that on windy days the do not disturb/make up the room sign fell off the door and the room did not get cleaned so we had to get clean towels from reception. Overall we thought this hotel was good value budget accommodation and we would stay here again if we were in the area. There is not a lot to do in Sun City itself, but do try Temecula about 15 miles away which has a nineteenth century western feel to it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Sun City

Address: 27680 Encanto Dr, Sun City, CA 92586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sun City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Sun City 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Sun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.