We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn On Summerhill

Save Saved
You added Inn On Summerhill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn On Summerhill
2520 Lillie Ave, Summerland, CA 93067   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Summerland B&B and Inns
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very pretty room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I read reviews about the noice on Hwy 1 in front of inn and decided to book anyway because of all the nice comments. It is noicy highway, and it is loud, but because we live in an urban area, it did not bother us. We were on 2nd flood and we slept with the deck door open!
The room had very nice furnishings. Bathroom somewhat small, but many times that is the case in a BB or inn. Front desk was very helpful selecting a restaurant and making reservations for us.
We were offered breakfast in our room, which we accepted. Liked the convenience, but food would have been warmer if we had eaten in dining area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    25
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
11
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We only wanted to stay one night in Santa Barbara and most places would only take bookings for two nights on a Friday or Saturday, so we ended up staying slightly out of town at the Inn on Summerhill. The location is a bit noisy as next to a busy road but you cannot hear any traffic at all with the windows closed. The rooms are excellent - very clean, very modern and comfortable with a large bed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rest of the property and the lobby is nice to look at and well decorated. It's not far into town, and if you want a good value one night stay near Santa Barbara, then this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

On our trip we stayed 2 nights at the Inn on Summerhill. First we were very disappointed cause there was road constructions right in front of the hotel and it stand awfully! We have been informed that it would stop at 4 p.m. Still we decided not to stay cause it was not what we expected at all! Because we had already made a prepayment, we would have had to pay for the first night and so we stayed. We did good! Afternoon tea and wine was served and we had delicious apetizers - homemade. In our rooms, it was very comfortable and clean! The nights were not really calm, but we knew that from other guests on trip advisor. We heard the Amtrak (why do they horn all night? In other countries, trains don't crash but still don't horn?) and the highway. The beds were good and so still we got enough sleep. Breakfast was delicious and we liked the breakfast room with its beautiful teapots. The cook prepared a speciality every morning and we got great surprises for breakfast on an upper level. It is not a place for families to stay, there's only tables for 2 outside. I think we haven't disturbed the other guests and we liked it a lot. In the evenings they served a desert. The chocolate tart could have been made in Switzerland - nothing from over-sweetened chocolate - Well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in late July. Checked in a little late and the staff were very helpful and even left the cheese and wine out for us to enjoy after we unpacked. I will say however, the rooms are over crowded with funrniture and the bathroom had a petroleum smell when the shower was on.(not sure if it was the water, or heat/fan lamp) I let them know at the front desk, and it was taken care of while we were out. Not much of a view if you are on the bottom floor and the noise from the access road and the 101 are between you and the ocean. The breakfast was better than average and they had tasty snacks in the afternoon. Perhaps, I'm just not the B&B type because the other guest(much older) raved about the place.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor, if a view is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

All the reviews for this place mention the noise from 101. They are accurate. Despite this we reserved a king room for three nights. The room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding. Desserts in the evening were excellent. The service was adequate. Our kayak trip to the Channel Islands was incredible. I would highly recommend the Inn as long as one is aware of the only negative.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

My Boyfriend and I adore this B&B. It's relaxing and romantic, a great escape from our busy work schedules. The food and staff make it all the better. We have stayed in a few different rooms and never had a complaint. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. We had an amazing stay. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. We plan to visit once every year from here on!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn On Summerhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Summerhill

Address: 2520 Lillie Ave, Summerland, CA 93067
Location: United States > California > Summerland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Summerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Amenities: Air conditioned, fireplaces, private bath w/Jacuzzi tubs, refrigerators, Cable TVs w/VCRs/DVDs, radios, clock, instant hot faucet for coffee/tea, ceiling fans, canopy beds w/pillow top mattresses, telephone in room and baths, voice-mail, balcony or patio in all rooms. Complimentary full breakfast, afternoon wine and hors' doevres, evening dessert, and turn down service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Inn On Summerhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Summerhill Hotel Summerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn On Summerhill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.