We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to coast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Stockton

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Stockton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Stockton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 N. Center Street, Corner of Center & Weber, Stockton, CA 95202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 27 hotels in Stockton
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    11
    7
    33
See reviews for
16
16
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The place had dopers living in the rooms they advertising free breakfast on sign no breakfast no hot tub no poolside bar like advertised. The room had a sagging bed do not go there unless you have nowhere else.only good thing so far is I didn't see any bugs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We would like thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We apologize that you were unable to locate our breakfast room, it is on the first floor to the left of our lobby. We wish you would have asked one of our employee's to point you in the direction of the breakfast room. We are not sure where you found an advertisement for a hot tub and pool side bar for our hotel, but we definitely do not advertise those items on any of our websites as our property does not have those amenities. We hope that you will give our hotel another opportunity to provide you with excellent service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed there on Sun. Eve., July 21,2013. Made reservations by phone while on a vacation trip to Oregon. Did not have internet acess to review hotel. Biggest mistake I ever made!!! The front desk didn't have a record of our res. The whole property was a total mess, filthy, appearance of unsafe neighborhood.. The room was very smelly, dirty and dark. Very poor lighting and sagging beds. This experience has been a valuable lesson.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are saddened to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory. We do have scheduled maintenance for our property to keep our hotel looking clean and inviting. We apologize that you felt unsafe at our hotel, but we can assure you that we never have problems at our property. We have overnight security to make our guests feel more comfortable and we are located right across the street from the police department. We apologize that your room was not up to standard and you were not pleased with our beds. We would have been more than happy to change your room for you and give you a room that you were happy with. We hope that you will give our hotel another opportunity to provide you with excellent service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglewood, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If I could give zero stars I would, this has to be one if the nastiest hotels I've ever seen! The pool was green and had slime floating on top, upon opening the room door there was trash on the floor, the quilt had not been washed since Jesus was in Pampers, and it smelled like wet sticky feet! We checked out 30 seconds after checking in. If this is the only available hotel, then sleep in your car!
Any good reviews of this location are fake, Id bet my life on it!

Room Tip: Go anyplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay with us. We would like to truly apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay at our hotel. We understand your concern about our swimming pool. Unfortunately, all of our pool equipment broke and it took our pool company a little longer than expected to get our pool fixed because they had to wait on parts to be shipped in. We assure you that making sure our pool is up to standard is a high priority for us, along with our room standards. We are sincerely sorry to hear that our room was not up to standard. We wish that you would have expressed your concerns while you were still at our property so we could have upgraded your room to a brand new remodeled room. We hope that you will give us another chance to give you excellent service. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon! Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Even though we had reserved a family suit it wasn't available when we arrived. We were given 2 rooms instead which had stains all over the walls and seriously needed a good clean. I'm bemused how anyone could swim in the pool it was as green as the river. The bread for breakfast was stale. I'd be interested to hear if anyone ever inspects this hotel as pretty run down and not maintained. However staff are friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking your time and giving us your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize that the room you requested was not available, next time we will make sure we do not overbook room types. We would like to apologize that your rooms were not up to brand standard. We also understand that you were not satisfied with our breakfast. We are sincerely sorry that you encountered several problems during your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly though. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with excellent service. Again, we thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Stockton

Address: 33 N. Center Street, Corner of Center & Weber, Stockton, CA 95202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Stockton 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently drained our pool and replaced all pool equipment. Come visit us and take a dive into our fresh and clean pool water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockton Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Stockton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.