We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Stockton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Stockton to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Stockton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 N. Center Street, Corner of Center & Weber, Stockton, CA 95202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Stockton
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    18
    15
    51
See reviews for
25
22
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I would only go here for the swimming. I had two rooms for the fourth of July. I had to ask for both rooms because they did not have any in the rooms: refrigerator, microwave, towels, coffee, coffeepot, clock and shampoo. The bath, lamp, and t.v. in one room was broken. The room service did not come until 5 p.m. and we had to beg for towels and wait longer. The decor was a joke. Bedspreads were mismatched, and bedside table was rickety. The rooms walls were disgusting. On the good side, the staff was chipper and the handyman was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay with us. We are still in the process of remodeling our hotel so some rooms still have the old furniture, we are doing the best we can speed up our renovation process. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience with our staff and maintenance man. We are confident that if you give our hotel another chance and stay with us again we will definitely provide you with excellent service. Perhaps we can even give you an upgraded remodeled room. We would like to thank you for your time, we appreciate your review. Even though you were not 100% satisfied we are happy to have your feedback so we can continue to improve. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Love my stay here. People are so nice and do what it takes to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are clean, everything works great! Only place I stay when in Stockton!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right next to downtown. Friendly staff will print and fax documents for free for you. If you are a vendor for the Assparagus festival they offer good rates. They also say they will be fully renovated by january.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Arrived after dark. First impressions were from the people loitering around the hotel, making me think I was in the middle of a drug/prostitution area. Probably was not as the surrounding area looked pretty nice. Hotel room took several tries to get key card to work. Had to fiddle with the toilet tank top get the water to stop running, and then each time it was used. Hardware missing in tub/shower leaving holes. Stringy dirt/something hanging from shower head. Entire room was dirty. Bed was horrendous, uneven, lumpy and uncomfortable. Ironing board but no iron. Rack for towels next to sink but no towels. Chairs at table wer fold up plastic. The whole property seems very unkept. I wanted to check out and talk with front desk in the morning when I checked out, but at 8am they were not open. Will never stay at that property again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockton hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Stockton
Red Roof Inn Stockton
#10 of 28 in Stockton
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Stockton - March Lane
3.2 mi away
Hilton Stockton
Hilton Stockton
#3 of 28 in Stockton
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
3.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Stockton East/Hwy 99
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Stockton

Address: 33 N. Center Street, Corner of Center & Weber, Stockton, CA 95202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Stockton 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently drained our pool and replaced all pool equipment. Come visit us and take a dive into our fresh and clean pool water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockton Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Stockton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.