We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Stockton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Stockton to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Stockton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 N. Center Street, Corner of Center & Weber, Stockton, CA 95202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Stockton
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We got to the hotel going to see a minor league baseball team. At first it seemed llike a ok cheap place. We had to rooms to choose from a older room and a newly remodeled one we got the remodeled one beacuse the lady at the front desk gave us a discount. We got to the room, it was not very nice but it is a howard. You could see a mark on the door from were the lock use to be. The onlhy nice thing in the room was the safe. We use the safe to store money and our self phones. The next morning we woke up and went to check the safe when I typed in the code it said error. I had wrote the code down and say the numbers on the screen as it closed the night before. We tried agin and it did not work so we call the manager and he came up. He told us that these should not even be on due to work on the machines and that there was no contract so they were not supposed to use it. The guy messed with it for 1 hour not doing anything productive. Then he took out a machine to kinda hack into it but of coures he didnt have batteries but luckly my father did. I took another 30 min intill he called a mantence man which then only took 5 min to unlock. Then we went to the breakfast area . If i had to use one word to describe the ares it would be crapy. Dont stay here ever! The only plus to this hotel is that it is very close to everything.It is also very loud as a forgot to say I herd the garbage truck twice and people talking in other rooms. This is a 70 dollar waste do not stay.

Room Tip: Just dont stay there are better chooses out there ex Best Western.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We would like to apologize for the inconveinence that you expeienced with the safe in your room while you stayed with us. I understand that the first gentleman who went to your room to fix the safe actually gave you some wrong information. He was not aware that we had already renewed our contract a week prior to your stay and the safes were in good working condition. The second gentleman who went to your room was the Manager on duty and he was able to open your safe right away. We have spoken with our safe company to complain about your situation, they replied to us that the only reason the safe can not be opened by your code is because you keyed in different code than what you wrote down. It is normal situation and it often happens when a person dial phone number. We feel happy your safe is finially opened.
As for breakfast, we have more than 15 items, including milk, juice, cookies, cereal, fruit, bagel, muffin, coffee, eggs, etc, maybe none of them you like, you could let us know, so we may be able to prepare the item you like for you.
As for location, we are only one block to access 2 highways, highway-4 and highway-5, but in comparison to other hotels that are next to the freeway we are more quiet.
Aagin, we are sorry for your unhappy experience, and we will make everything ready for you, including breakfast item you like if you choose to stay with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    13
    9
    34
See reviews for
17
17
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We didn't have any reservations and finding a hotel with a non-smoking room in Stockton was next to impossible. Eventually we ended up in Howard Johnson thinking it would be a decent place to stay. Wrong! At night we were woken up by a woman(prostitute) screaming at somebody, in the morning going down for breakfast we didn't expect much but it was as bad as a continental breakfast can be plus they forgot to put the bowls out so even if you decide to go with cereal...sorry can't do( Coffe maker in the room was disgusting and i think there was only 15 channels at most. I advise to avoid this hotel and the city too if you can.

Room Tip: ask them to show you a few rooms, first 2 we looked at were not worth 30 bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoStockton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Stockton, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We would first like to apologize for the inconvience you experienced while you stayed at our hotel. After reviewing your comment we asked the guests that were in the rooms around yours if they heard this disturbance that you described. The other guests did let us know that they heard what sounded like to them an arguement between two people in our parking lot that night who happened to be locals and where not even guests at our hotel. We wish that you would have notified front desk so we could have sent security to that side of the parking lot right away. We also apologize that you were unhappy with the coffee maker in your room. Our housekeeping staff is trained to clean the coffee makers everyday but we would have been more than happy to exchange it or re-clean your coffee maker. We also regret that you were not able to find all of the channels that we offer, we may be able to send a technician to your room to check the tv signal. Our bowls were not put out yet when you arrived for breakfast because you arrived earlier than scheduled and we were still setting up our breakfast. Again we apologize for the inconveinences you encountered, we hope that your next stay with us will be more enjoyable and if there are any problems please let us know right away so we can correct the issues and make you feel more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

From the first sight of the hotel,I was attracted to the location of the hotel,which was next to the Stockton Marina.With the Marina being so close I was able to watch the sunset.With further investigation I was drown in to the hospitable employees that this Howard Johnson in Stockton had working for them,making me feel at home instantly.Very surprised,when I opened the door to my issued room.This room was very clean and fresh everything having it's place.Unlike other Hotels I have stayed in,the bed I slept in was very comfortable much like my bed at home.Being able to receive a fitting nights sleep I was able to wake up in the morning and conduct my business with my employers.This Howard Johnson in Stockton is an Hotel that I will use again and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

When we arrived (our reservation was made on-line), the room assigned to us had not been cleaned and the previous customers had smashed out the deadbolt lock. All this without the front desk clerk knowing.
At 12:30 that night, we were awakened by a child running and jumping off the beds. Tried to phone the office - phone didn't work. Had to walk to office to raise night manager.
This is one of the Wyndham properties and we always stay at Super 8 Motels (also Wyndham property). Have always been pleased with our stays. That's why we were so disappointed in this property.
Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Go to different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Can't believe that the Howard Johnson name is associated with this property. We have stayed at several "HoJo's" in the past and really enjoyed them, this was the one exception that made our family rethink staying at another Howard Johnson property.
We reserved on line, trying to prepare as best we could for a college road trip- budget was a top priority. We weren't expecting anything fancy since we really only needed a place to lay our heads- we were afraid to even do that here. When we arrived we noticed that the downtown Stockton area was actually fairly clean for a "big city", we got to the location at approximately 6pm on a Thursday night, too late to cancel per our on-line reservation agreement. The streets were not busy and most businesses had closed for the day INCLUDING the restaurants that were in the vicinity so we had to drive about 15 minutes away to find an OPEN restaurant. We decided, partially due to the abandoned car in the parking lot, clientelle and staff that we'd get take out and "hunker down" for the night. While doing your research you should note that the county courthouse is right across the street from this location and the police station is just the next block up so because of the condition of this property you may consider some of the clientelle to be "undesirable"-- but you would think many professionals doing business with the county & other local business would be attracted to the location of this property. We did not realize the actual location until we arrived. It's also right across from the river walk & Stockton marina, which is really nice, again you would think this property would keep higher standards.

The property- the exterior is old and needs to pressure washed, that would take care of most of the visual appeal from the outside. There was an abandoned red car that must have been there for atleast a week, enough for spider webs to appear and leaves/rubbish to gather around the tires. the hotel signage boasts "renovated rooms", we were NOT in one of them. After check out we joked about that since it technically would not be false advertisement if they did have only 2 renovated rooms! There was a man "dumpster diving". When we arrived on our 2nd floor corridor we found 2 dirty/stained towels just outside our doorway. The elevator wreaked of urine!

The room- at first glance, visually would have been acceptable just old.
BUT it didn't just "smell", it wreaked of smoke & cigarettes. A closer look- the a/c was falling apart, the temperature only functioned at one temperature, COLD! Glad there wasn't a fire because we didn't even have a working smoke/fire alarm! There was a dead moth & dirt/dust in the bathroom, and years of dirt buildup in the corners of the room and sink area. Basically housekeeping is paid to walk in and walk out of the room. The bed sheets seemed to be clean BUT were stained. The sink area smelled like a mens urinal, we hoped that someone had not relieved themselves and hoped that it was just the smell of pine-sol, wishful thinking? The light fixtures had junk in them that could easily have been cleaned out. There was no remote control for the TV. The bathtub was badly stained and tub grips were peeling away. One of our neighbors was extremely loud yelling and banging doors/dresser drawers. The a/c drowned out most of the other noise except the occassional loud motor and booming bass & music at 2 in the morning! Did we feel comfortable? NO- we slept with the lights on and one eye open, hoping the rental car would still be there in the morning. We included some of the pics, sorry but we didn't feel that fixing the beds would have enhanced the picture for you.

The staff- the only good experience was at check out, the girl that worked on Friday morning was very pleasant and apologetic when I asked about breakfast. She explained that the "guy" who gets there breakfast items did not return from his scheduled vacation so their menu was limited. I only saw bulk cereal, did not even see any milk- we chose NOT to have breakfast here after the night we had.
ALSO those 2 towels I mentioned outside our door- we now believe they belonged to our room. I called to the front desk, figured I'd be able to walk down and get 2 more towels. We had four people and only two towels upon arrival. The girl at the front desk(April) answered, I asked for 2 more towels and she asked me what room we were in. I said room #223, and she said, "umm...oh, we don't have any more towels available". I was of course shocked and perturbed, explained that to the family-- toughed it out and used the HAND TOWELS as bath towels for two of us! Internet, they say they have it but we were not able to get access and again the front desk was of no assistance.

Advice-- if you stay here make sure you're getting a newly renovated room and don't expect ANY SERVICE. And of course definitely request not to be in room 223. BETTER advice do NOT stay here. Again if we could give a NEGATIVE 5 stars we would!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Had a great time at the Howard Johnson, room was nice and clean and have very friendly service. Room was right by the pool, and the kids had great time at the pool. Will stay again if had a chance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

The room was very dirty a hole in bathroom wall bathroom t seat was broken

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Stockton

Address: 33 N. Center Street, Corner of Center & Weber, Stockton, CA 95202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Stockton 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently drained our pool and replaced all pool equipment. Come visit us and take a dive into our fresh and clean pool water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockton Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Stockton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.