We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel in Stockton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Plaza Waterfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added University Plaza Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 West Fremont Street, Stockton, CA 95202 (Formerly Lexington Plaza Waterfront Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Stockton
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel in Stockton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was a good experience. The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars is that I have had previous exceptional hotel experiences and this was very good. The staff were wonderful and the rooms were clean. Beds were extremely comfortable and the setting was pleasant. Breakfast staff couldn't have been more helpful - going way above and beyond all three days of our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    33
    8
    21
    7
See reviews for
38
33
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The general consensus seems to be that this is the nicest property in Stockton, and that's almost certainly true. The problem is that--as several other reviewers have mentioned--this place is also the venue for a lot of large evening parties, events, and gatherings. This was the case both nights of our recent stay, and they were LOOOOOOOOOUUUUUUD and made it impossible to sleep until the wee hours of the morning, when they mercifully ended.

The first night of our late October stay, the hotel was hosting a large Halloween party (the kind that is marketed to the public as a big event, with an admission fee charged and hundreds of people, if not more, in attendance). There was a band with live music, played at the level you would expect for a large event of this nature, which continued until around 2:00 a.m., along with, of course, the accompanying shrieks and shouts from the drunken partygoers during and after the event. The music was so loud that it practically sounded as if the band was set up in our room. It was simply impossible to sleep. We had to get up very early the next morning, so we had very little sleep that night.

We complained the next morning and suggested that perhaps we were due some compensation, and essentially were told too bad, that the hotel has lots of parties and events on weekends and that's the way it goes. We suggested that guests should be warned when they make reservations that an event like this is scheduled, so that they can make their own decisions about whether to stay there. When we asked if any other such events were scheduled during our stay, the desk staff did acknowledge that there would be another "much smaller" event that night, but that it was only a wedding reception and that it would only be a few hours in the mid-evening. That sounded OK.

The reality turned out to be different that night We were dismayed to discover that the hotel was in fact hosting a VERY large party (which we assume was the wedding reception that was referred to), again with non-stop, extremely loud music. And it wasn't just a mid-evening event, as the staff had told us, though, mercifully, it was shorter than the previous evening's Halloween party. This event ended between midnight and 1:00 a.m. rather than after 2:00 a.m., but after only getting a couple of hours sleep the previous night and then again having to get up early the next morning, we were seriously sleep-deprived during our stay.

The happy news is that, after complaining again that we were not given any warning when making reservations (only a few days before) that there would be large, noisy events that ran into the wee hours of the morning on both nights of our stay, the hotel staff decided to comp our stay. While we would've prefered to stay somewere where we could've actually slept than to stay here for free, that was certainly appreciated, because we would've hated to have to actually pay money to not sleep here.

It's a shame because the hotel itself is pretty nice, the rooms are nicely-furnished, large, and clean, and this is otherwise quite a decent place. Considering the several other reviews here that also complained about large, noisy events being held at the hotel and ruining their stays, I would urge any future guest to inquire before staying here if there are any events planned during their stay. If there are, stay elsewhere.

It's understandable that this place--given its proximity to the University of the Pacifc (some of the rooms are rented ot as UOP dorms, in fact) and its suitability as a venue to host student events and non-university events--would want to maximize its profits by leasing out areas of the hotel for large events. But this place needs to decide whether it wants to be a hotel or an events venue. Because sometimes the two are mutually exclusive, and it isn't currently finding a way to do both satisfactorily.

Though our room was ultimately comped, and though the hotel property itself is pretty nice, I can't give this place a good rating, given that we got almost no sleep here.

Room Tip: When booking a room, be sure to ask if there are any large events scheduled during your stay. If th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, IA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

After spending two nights there this past weekend, it confirms why we continue to use this hotel for our annual meetings. The front desk clerk (Jean), was so helpful and professional in making sure that we she had our block of rooms ready for us upon our arrival. The sales staff, Angie, Oscar, Renee, Sandra and Gary, (who set up and provided our AV services) and the banquet staff were all very professional and were always asking if we needed anything. I also want to recognize the bar/restaurant staff as being very efficient and pleasant and attentive to any special requests that we had.
jwcjecIA

Room Tip: It was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in our sleeping rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Having lived in Stockton for 4 years, I was a little weary about staying in a hotel that was downtown on the waterfront. And, true to Stockton, don't venture too many blocks away at night. That being said, this is a GREAT HOTEL. The staff was friendly, and the room was clean, neat, and looked brand new. The bed was incredibly comfortable.

The night we arrived there was a noisy event in the lounge, but going down the hall to our room, which was on the ground floor, the noise quickly diminished. With the door closed, the room was silent. The same goes for our second night with a Stockton Thunder game. The hotel is located adjacent to the Arena, but no sound was heard from inside the room.

Parking is outdoor, but there is security. The parking lot seemed crammed, but we had no difficultly finding a spot.

The hotel also has the University Loft, dorm-style/apartment living for students of University of the Pacific. I had thought that may be a problem, but again I was wrong. The Lofts have their own entrance and are located on the top-most floors of the hotel, away from the guest rooms.

I throughly enjoyed my stay at the University Plaza at the Waterfront and plan on using it as my hotel-of-choice when I stay in Stockton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron park, ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This is an absolutly beautiful hotel. I was amazed by the incredible view of the waterfront. The food & restarant where great & the service was terrific. Secured parking, shuttle service, pool, spa, outdoor billiards tables, even ping pong. It doesnt take long to figure out that the staff here cares & takes great pride in not only the gorgeous facility, but also ensuring their guests have a great stay. I had forgotten my toothpaste. A quick call to the front desk & they delivered it to the room within 5 minutes of my call. This place is awesome. Do not hesitate to stay here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a local festival and had a great time. The food in the restaurant was amazing - especially the house hamburger! The views from our room were breathtaking. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The room was very comfortable, The service from the hotel front desk to the restaurant was extremely friendly and helpful for never being there before. I plan to make all future trips to the plaza!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Plaza Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Waterfront Hotel

Address: 110 West Fremont Street, Stockton, CA 95202 (Formerly Lexington Plaza Waterfront Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — University Plaza Waterfront Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look no further. The elegant University Plaza Waterfront Hotel stands on the water's edge alongside Stockton's beautiful Delta waterway. Recipient of the California Green Lodging Program Leadership Level award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your University Plaza Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Stockton
Lexington Plaza Waterfront Stockton
Regent Stockton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Plaza Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.