We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They say there is no place like home except the Waterfront Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Plaza Waterfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added University Plaza Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 West Fremont Street, Stockton, CA 95202 (Formerly Lexington Plaza Waterfront Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Stockton
Stockton, California
1 review
“They say there is no place like home except the Waterfront Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am fortunate enough to reside in the condominiums located on the upper floors of the hotel. My experience at the Waterfront has been absolutely wonderful. The hotel is gorgeous from its interior design to the courtyard which provides a breath taking view of the Delta.(Especially during Sunrise/Sunset) As far as the rooms go the beds are almost too comfortable. The pillow top mattress combined with down comforter and fluffy pillows makes it difficult to get out of bed every morning.

As far as the staff goes I have never met a more genuinely warm and friendly group of people. From the parking attendants to the front desk and restaurants everyone goes out of their way to make you feel at home. I can honestly say in the 8 months I have been living here no one has been rude or short tempered with me. Once I lost my favorite jacket with no idea of where to begin looking and I told one of the women at the front desk, Priscilla, about it and she found it for me within a couple of days of my informing her about it. Mind you, my jacket had been lost for over to a week before I disclosed the information to her. This same woman , who usually works in the morning, has one of the brightest spirits I have encountered. Every morning as I am on my way to school she greets me with a warm smile and asks me how I am doing. I know it is more than a formality because she constantly asks me follow up questions about things I have told her previously.

In an effort to keep this short and sweet I'll end there. If you're ever in Stockton take note because the University Plaza Waterfront Hotel is the place to be!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    29
    8
    21
    7
See reviews for
34
32
15
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here because I just wanted some time to myself. I was going through a difficult time because of a death in the family. The hotel itself is beautiful (especially for stockton).

I booked a room for two nights, thinking it would be a relaxing experience. It wasn't. I woke up at 6am to loud construction noise. It didn't stop for hours and it was on an off consistently, so it kept waking me up. They were LITERALLY drilling (or something like that) into my wall from the next room over. When I complained to the hotel manager, she apologized, gave me a small discount for the night I had just stayed and told me should would transfer me to a new room. She assured me there would be no construction. I made her promise because I did not want to stay another night under those conditions. She said she spoke directly to the foreman and there was no construction happening the next day-at all.

The next morning I woke up to the same thing at 6am! Couldn't believe it. I went to the front desk and asked for the manager. She wasn't there and the guy at the front desk was really rude and said I already got a discount from the night before! I hadn't even asked for a discount-he acted as if I were complaining for no reason.

I explained that I would not have stayed had I known there was loud construction and that the manager had promised me there would be no construction. I checked out and was given the managers phone number. When I followed up with her at a later date, she was extremely rude and just repeatedly stated, "what do you want me to do?" When I said "I don't know," she hung up. No apologies, nothing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was in Stockton attending school for six weeks and stayed at this property. I'm used to a more rugged environment, what I got was this beautiful courtyard and what I'm sure my wife would think was a plush bed. It was soft and comfortable. While the TV channels lack in variety, I was a bit busy with school to really pay attention. The people in the bar and restaurant were just amazing. What was a bonus was that the front desk was absolutely amazing. I had to be to school earlier than when the restaurant would be open. The night clerk, I think her name was Samona, made coffee for me and the other students and went out of her way. I remember one morning I walked down earlier and she was checking someone out, no coffee was out. I waited to see if maybe I missed it and as soon as she was done with that guest, told me she'd be right back and out came the coffee. It's just an example of the service this place brought to us. I was expecting a much different atmosphere. I also liked that they nearly had a fully functioning grocery store. The girl on the morning shifts was amazing in helping me out, her name started a P but I can't remember it. If you go there, ask for these two at the front desk, they are amazing. At the restaurant I had Kelly help me a couple of times and she was so warm and friendly. The other server in the morning seemed too busy to help me, but Kelly was warm, friendly, and quick to help. I really appreciated her help. In the bar, you gotta stop and say hi to Chris. I was here for six weeks and it felt like my second home. The only issue I had was with housekeeping not keeping up with my room. there was a couple of days that I didn't get service or towels. But the service the rest of the hotel provided, was amazing. It over rode the bad with housekeeping. If you go to Stockton, you need to stay here. Amazing rooms, service, and I really hated to leave at the end of my sessions. If I come through here again, I'll be staying for sure.

Room Tip: Mine faced the arena and that was a cool site at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you have not stayed here you are missing a very special place. The hotel is on the water and there is a very pleasant park walk in downtown Stockton. The Hotel has a very comfortable and enjoyable center courtyard complete with gracious patio seating with heat lamps and a pool table and ping-pong table for a relaxing game.
But best of all the staff are friendly efficient and knowledgeable. The accommodation is upscale modern and a bit unique -- you know you are staying in a place that cares.
We go out of our way to stay here -- it is that good!

Room Tip: We like the ground floor inside unit because of the ambiance of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Clean, modern rooms. We were in town for training and stumbled on this gem. The service is awesome! Front desk is helpful! The free shuttle is the best. The drivers are nice and helpful in terms of giving us tips on what to do and where to go. Bar and restaurant are nice, a little pricey, but convenient. A must-stay in Stockton!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having to live in Stockton for five years isn't something I'll boast about but being able to make this hotel my home for the past year is definitely brag-worthy! When I moved in, all I expected was a nice living space but I definitely got so much more than that! The amenities are never-ending, the view of the courtyard is absolutely gorgeous, and the staff are some of the coolest bros you'll ever meet in your life. I'd definitely recommend this place to anybody staying in Stockton!

Room Tip: The rooms looking into the courtyard are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Waterfront was really a top notch experience. First, the common area's were lively, modern, and gave a luxurious vibe. I spent one of my evenings lounging around the grass area outside with friends and spending some time at the bar. The food was great at the restaurant and all the staff I ran into were super friendly. Overall it was a great experience and I would easily recommend it as the top place to stay in Stockton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to University Plaza Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Waterfront Hotel

Also Known As:
Sheraton Stockton
Lexington Plaza Waterfront Stockton
Regent Stockton
Address: 110 West Fremont Street, Stockton, CA 95202 (Formerly Lexington Plaza Waterfront Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stockton
#3 Family Hotel in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — University Plaza Waterfront Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look no further. The elegant University Plaza Waterfront Hotel stands on the water's edge alongside Stockton's beautiful Delta waterway. Recipient of the California Green Lodging Program Leadership Level award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your University Plaza Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Plaza Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.