We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dante's California Style Pizza & Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dante's California Style Pizza & Cafe
9305 Thornton Rd, Ste H, Stockton, CA 95209-1848
209-474-0221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 458 restaurants in Stockton
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nice hustle-bustle kind of pizza place where baseball teams come to eat after the game. great pizza, great crust!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    9
    2
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent pizza and great steak sandwhiches. Eat in or take out. Located in a little shopping center on Thornton Road.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Pizza hands down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This place is Stockton's best pizza by far! If you like a nice hefty pizza with every bite tasting like total heaven this is the place! Our whole family loves this pizza and the Philly Cheese Steak sandwiches are awesome!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, CA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not the Dante's We're Used To”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Something seems to have changed at Dante's. We've been long-time patrons and love their pizza, but we've noticed some changes over the last couple of years. We went for dinner tonight and waited for an extra long time for our pizza. We arrived around 7:10pm, ordered right away, and our pizza wasn't delivered to our table until 7:50! Our waitress had come by at one point and apologized for the wait, saying they were backed up in the kitchen. I'm not sure what caused the proposed back up, because the restaurant wasn't at full capacity. Everyone seemed just to be waiting for their orders. When it was finally delivered to our table, we asked to have it boxed to go. We were cold from the a/c and didn't want to sit there any longer. That was the second time we had an experience like that . . . once is excusable, twice not so! I'm sorry, Dante's, but even though your pizza is still delicious, I'm not sure we'll be eating in your restaurant any more. The staff isn't what it used to be. I observed one staff person cleaning off an adjacent table and while wiping off the table, simply wiped pieces of food onto the floor. Some fell onto the chairs and only when she was seating the next customer there did she see it on one chair and cleaned it off. The other customer didn't look at the seat before sitting down, so sat in cheese? sausage? Not good!! My recommendation - call in your order for their pizza to go!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Joaquin, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

A bit out of the way from the center of Stockton but well worth the trip. Good food, alert waitress and waiters, and reasonable prices. Something for everyone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's California Style Pizza & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dante's California Style Pizza & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante's California Style Pizza & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.