We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change isn't always good - Stockton Joe's” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stockton Joe's - CLOSED

Stockton Joe's
236 Lincoln Ctr, Stockton, CA 95207
209-951-2980
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Linden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Change isn't always good - Stockton Joe's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had dinner at Stockton Joe's tonight. I tried to order a favorite of many years, sauteed oysters, only to be told the restaurant was under new management, and they had been eliminated from the menu - too bad - they were wonderful. I chose the sole dore - mediocre at best. It came with a baked potatoe. I asked for it with everything. Not so fast - their everything is butter and sour cream. Hello new management - everything means butter, sour cream. chives, bacon bits and cheese. The order also included steamed vegetables - five small pieces to be exact. My husband's veal parmesan was bad. It lacked flavor, and the meat was chewy instead of a crisp coating. Change is not always good, and we have had our last dinner under the new management.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    4
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Chicken Wings, but that's about it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently had dinner at the new location. The chicken wing appetizer was very good, however when we asked about the recipe, the waitress said " I don't know, they're frozen in a big box". Well that pretty much sums up the experience. Other than the pre made boxed chicken, which we liked, the main courses are tasteless and un-imaginative. Come on guys, we have money to spend in Stockton, give us somewhere good to hang out and enjoy a great meal which isn't sushi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent food, excellent service, the Bar is well stocked and the bartenders are all attentive to your wants. There is a outside patio that you can eat and people watch as well. This is a very popular place. Classy restaurant...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My friend and I had not tried Stockton Joe's in their new location on the Brickwalk in Lincoln Center, so we decided to give it a try and were sadly disappointed. We visited for lunch. While service was good and the waitress was friendly, the surroundings were so-so. I had a charbroiled burger that was not quite cooked all the way through and worst of all I found a hair in my salad!!! Needless to say, I will not be returning!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Solid dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the kind of place my parents loved. Steaks, amazing handmade burgers, and a full bar.
I've had many fine meals here. Joe's won't disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockton Joe's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockton Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.