We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Food in Northern San Joaquin Co.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoori Nites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tandoori Nites
8102 Kelley Dr, Stockton, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 459 Restaurants in Stockton
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Lodi, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Indian Food in Northern San Joaquin Co.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have never been disappointed here. We especially enjoy the lamb curry and various chicken curries. Tandori dishes, chicken and mixed grill are favorites as well. We have turned various friends on to Indian food with successful visits to Tandoori Nites. We have started ordering an extra helping of Lamb Bhuna, Rice and Nan to take home to reheat for lunches. Highly recommended. If you don't care for spicy ask for mild. We prefer medium...for our palate it doesn't over power the other flavors in the curries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham U K
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Return to this restaurant every time we visit Stockton and always receive a warm welcome back. It is hard to find an authentic Indian restaurant in Northern California ,that doesn't have an American influence on the menu or food presentation.The owners are a family that have links with the midlands in the U K so needless to say they know their stuff when it comes Indian cuisine. Some evenings they have a buffet,so if you want a relaxed meal with table service it might be best to call ahead Either way I am sure you will enjoy the food!.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very friendly place with wonderful food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Regarding location.....Another reviewer pointed out it does not look like much from the outside. It is in a strip mall behind the Hammer Lane In Shape Health club. It also has a Kelly Drive address which should be ignored because this place is safe. It is a nicely decorated restaurant once you go inside.

I have been dining at Tandoori nights for over 20 years. It is a family owned and run restaurant with flavorful food. I have dined here with many groups of people over the years so I have tried many items on the menu. The spice level can be adjusted from mild to medium to hot to very hot. They will also explain what is in each dish.

I also suggest the buffet during lunchtime if one is not familiar with Indian cusine. They usually have rice, tandori chicken, two curry dishes, several vegetable dishes and some bean dishes too. The restaurant is vegan and gluten aware and can point out the best options for those with dietary preferrences of restrictions.

When my husband worked within lunchtime driving distance he ate at this restaurant every day for over a year and never tired of their wonderful buffet.

My 12 year old daughter always finds soemthing to eat on the buffet too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent East Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Every chance I get takes me back to this excellent East Indian restaurant in Stockton. The staff is friendly and family owned and they never forget a return customer. No matter what you order, Aloo Goobi, Tandoori Chicken, Chicken Vindaloo, each and every dish is has distinctively different flavors and is perfectly prepared. The naan is always freshly made for each table and each dish can be made as hot or mild as you prefer just by asking. I always feels well attended and taken care of (almost like being at moms) when I am at this restaurant. Don't let the location throw you, the area is a little run down but inside is authentically decorated and clean. If you haven't tried Indian and are nervous about investing in something you may not be familiar with, try the lunch buffet which provides a great selection of traditional Indian cuisine and daily specials. I have had East Indian food everywhere and my favorite is in Stockton at Tandoori Nites. The people are great, the food is great, the prices are reasonable, I love it. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“american indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

i can't forget this place, i did not know what to order,even with the help of the water. what i ate was spicey, and the sause was black, mymouth was watering as i ate, it was delicious--but i was sweating... i won't ever foget it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Nites also viewed

 

Been to Tandoori Nites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoori Nites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.