We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vietnamese GEM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saigon
1904 Pacific Avenue, Stockton, CA 95204
(209) 463-2274 ‎
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 466 Restaurants in Stockton
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vietnamese GEM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Let me say that the owner is a true delight! This place is a gem in the heart of Stockton on Pacific Avenue (Miracle Mile). I told the owner that I was vegan and she proudly told me that she has lots of options available as she is vegetarian. She highly recommended her Crispy Tofu which she makes herself (she actually makes the tofu herself). It was DELICIOUS! The food can be made as mild or spicy as you want and the ingredients were all very fresh tasting and well prepared. The decor was very tasteful and there was a cool clock in the shape of Vietnam on the wall surrounded by a map of Asia. It was really neat. We also ordered the Vegetarian Spring Rolls and they were excellent. The flavors were sublime and they were perfectly rolled. I HIGHLY recommend this place!

Also note that the hours have been listed wrong on the http://google.com website and she has been trying to resolve this for a while. The correct hours are Monday - Saturday from 11am - 9pm everyday. I can't wait to go back and try some more entree's from Saigon Vietnam Restaurant!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“excllent quality and fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Saigon is an excellent restaurant for Vietnamese cuisine. The salted shrimp is a must buy. Easily one of their best dishes. The rolled beef with onion is also excellent. It's unique in the fact that the beef is rolled over the onion stalk and grilled. A rather unique way in serving. Their spring rolls are also excellent. I have yet to be disappointed in this place. Surely one of the best in Stockton.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic international cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

A great little place---very helpful to orient you to unknown cuisine

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

As the previous reviewer did, we stumbled into Saigon. We were looking for a pleasant looking restaurant with parking as we drove through Stockton. We too were very pleasantly surprised. The place was attractive, clean, friendly and had really good food. We had basil chicken and an asian chicken salad. I am sorry it isn't located near to my house!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great little place on Stockton's Miracle Mile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We just happened across Siagon when we were attending an event at the Empire Theater across the street. The food was good (and fresh), the owner of Siagon was a real character and the prices were right. They had a nice menu that would rival most Vietnamese restaurants in Orange County's Little Siagon.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon also viewed

 

Been to Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.