We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not the nicest location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5045 Kingsley Road, Stockton, CA 95215 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Stockton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Stockton
South Pole
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not the nicest location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall, it was a nice place to stay. The rooms are modernized and tidy, the staff was nice, and the hotel itself was pleasant and clean. The rate was reasonable, and they serve a decent morning breakfast.
The hotel's location isn't great. Being in industrial Stockton, it's right next to the busy freeway, and is by the main on-ramp for all the local industry. So expect tons of big-rigs and commercial vehicles lumbering by. Also, there isn't anything nearby of worth for shopping or dining. Your only food within walking distance is Denny's, a couple of fast-foods, and a 7-11.
Still, all things considered, the hotel is comfortable place to rest. Just don't plan on any evening walks.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
1
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a pretty stock Holiday Inn Express for a medium sized town. It is close to the airport at Stockton.
I use it for business 3-4 days weekly when I am in the Stockton/Manteca area. I tried the Holiday Inn and Hampton Inn in Manteca; this place beats both by a longshot.
Staff here, unlike those other places, is very friendly and accomodating. They really go out of their way to help with things like early check in and late check out.
The breakfast is the regular Holiday Inn Express stuff but the woman working there is also really friendly and helpful.
The place can get pretty crowded and noisy over the weekend with kid groups, the only major drawback I have noticed so far.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikisha R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear K B,


WOW!!! Thank you so much for this awesome comment! I am so glad to read that our staff here is making your stay with us wonderful. You have really made our day and we will continue to strive for perfection so that your stay with us will be satisfactory. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel in Stockton, California is located right off the 99 Highway at exit 250. After our first night in Oregon at a Holiday Inn Express, we decided that this was our hotel of choice for this trip and we were not disappointed. We got in touch with Nikisha at the front desk who took care of our reservation. She honored the rate that the 800 reservation line had quoted us even though they had given us wrong information. As with the HIE in Oregon, our front desk staff, Nikisha, was very personable, quickly yet patiently taking care of us. Additionally, our room was very clean, the beds were perfectly comfortable and breakfast the next morning was quite good, with many of the same choices we had experiences the first day. The rates were abit higher than we had originally budgeted for this trip, but we didn't mind due the high quality of staff, food, and service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikisha R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Craig,


Thank you so much for taking the time out of your travel to leave a comment on your experience here at our Holiday Inn Express in Stockton, Ca. I'm so glad that there was consistency within the brand with our customer service. It is also an honor to know that Nikisha was able to accommodate your needs by honoring the rate that was quoted to you, being personable as well as quick and patient with you. Traveling with family can be an exciting journey and we are glad to be a part of your memory. Whenever you are in our area please come visit us again. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this Holiday Inn Express is! The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. They give complementary snack bags to IHG Rewards members. Plus, the rooms were cleaned to a very high standard. The facility is nicely maintained and the parking lot is well lit. The rooms have a small fridge which always comes in handy instead of a beverage center with all of those silly sensors that charge you when you try to make room for your water bottle.

There is the complimentary breakfast, which is standard for this segment of the industry, but what I really appreciated was the instant oatmeal, hot water and cinnamon rolls that were available well before the breakfast hour. It was nice to have something to grab on the run since we were checking out well before breakfast. The only reason I didn't rate the property as "excellent" is because my 4AM wake up call came at 4:32 AM. Thankfully, it was just a back up to my iPhone alarm.

Although the Hilton property where some of my co-workers stayed is rated slightly higher (3rd as apposed to 4th in the city) and is closer to BJ's, Chili's, etc; Hilton Honors points expire quickly (one year from last stay). As a result, I have lost 10s of thousands of points over the years and it leaves a bad feeling toward the brand.

Overall, this property feels like a well-managed enterprise. If in Stockton again, HIE Southeast will be my first choice!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for an east-facing room away from the 99 Freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikisha R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Balad,

Thank you for taking your time to give us such a wonderful review! It means so much to our Staff and they appreciate YOU! It also makes us feel even more AWESOME knowing that you have chosen us over our competitor. Like you stated IHG Rewards points never expire so you will always have your points even when you take a break from traveling that is what separates us from the others. We look forward to your next visit and we will have a cinnamon roll waiting for you.

Thank you, happy safe travels!

Sincerely,

Nikisha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight for a softball tournament. Room was super comfortable and clean. Good space in the bathroom for two. Beds were extra comfortable. Had toilet that stopped up and they handled it immediately and had no further problems. We had an even numbered room on the third floor which I would not recommend. The hotel is right on Highway 99 and the even rooms face the freeway with the third floor at road level. It was pretty noisy but we were tired and it was tolerable. I would go with the odd numbered rooms. Did not eat the breskfast. Hotel had Denny's, Jack in the Box, Taco Bell, and a Chevron station adjacent. Definitely a decent stop for a night or two.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikisha R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Maboc,


Thank you for taking your time to give us such a wonderful review! It means so much to our Staff and they appreciate YOU! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Stay and our Hotel and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you, happy safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Stockton on Kingsley Road and had an enjoyable experience. The first night we stayed in an even numbered room on the back side of the hotel. It was a nice clean room and very comfortable but there was a lot of road noise from the freeway that is directly behind the hotel. In the morning we asked the front desk clerk if we could get an odd numbered room on the front side of the hotel for our second night. She explained to us that they only showed a reservation for one night, but went out of her way to accommodate us for a second night on the front side of the hotel, which was much quieter.
They do offer a free breakfast but it was the same items for both days. All in all it was a very comfortable, clean hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on the front side of the hotel are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel was extremely clean. The hotel is very close to the freeway. There are many restaurants near the hotel . The rooms are very nice. They always seemed to have that "fresh" smell. The staff was very nice. The rate was reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikisha R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mark B,


Thank you for taking your time to give us such a wonderul review! It means so much to our Staff and they appreciate YOU! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Stay and our Hotel and we hope to see you again soon!
Thank you, happy safe travels!



Sincerely,

Nikisha Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast

Address: 5045 Kingsley Road, Stockton, CA 95215 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Stockton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently completed a 1.5 million dollar renovation. This beautiful 73 rooms property features 73 guest rooms and 50 person meeting space. Join us Monday through Wednesdays for complimentary hospitality including beer, wine,snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Stockton Hotel Stockton
Stockton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.