We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xochimilco Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Xochimilco Cafe
36 South San Joaquin Street, Stockton, CA 95202-3212
(209) 462-3784
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 459 Restaurants in Stockton
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mexican food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food here is incredible. The best Mexican food. It is best to be here during the day. When the sun goes down, terrible neighborhood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    7
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I love this place, they have great food and cool painting's to look at while you are waiting for your food :-) This is a huge hole in the wall (meaning it's big, comfy and has good food) in downtown Stockton.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“the best. period”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

been going here since i was a kid. aside from my mothers home cooking, it is THE standard, the very HIGH standard which i judge ANY restaurant regardless if its italian or mexican, or asian cuisine!
dinners are basically $10 a plate. and the portions are WOW!!! im a big man and i eat big and yeah...these dinners will fill you! the chicken they use is mostly white meat, with a few pieces of dark meat to add flavor and moisture...their 'red' sauces are NOT canned...oh no you can see the cook in the back and he works hard and fast! home made real tortillas... and when you ask for them they give you at leat 4-5 thick big hot ones! :) tacos are crisp but not rock hard :) its a small place but so down to earth and just plane real! the owners have been there since MY parents were young! they are ALWAYS nice and no they do not know me lol they are always genuinely concerned how ur meal went or if u need anything. I always tell the manager Thank you and seeing the real appreciation on his, or anyone's face there makes me know : YES these people love to cook GOOD food for US! :D
EVERYHTING on the menu is excellent!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food but place needs and upgrade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Food is great. There is no doubt about that. Everything from beans and rice, homade tortillas, chips and salsa, to the chile colorado is excellent. The place does need renovation. I know people will go regardless since the food is great. I just think its about time to do some upgrades at least to the bathroom. But food is awesome!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I am biased. I have been eating there for years. I love this place. Lots of food on huge plates. and little money. Parking sucks. But one of Stocktons great mexican food places. I have tried most of the mex places in town. If you get a chance go there. If you go at night, go with acrowd, it is downtown and lots of locals HAnging around.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xochimilco Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Xochimilco Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xochimilco Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.