We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner, great service, great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bud's Seafood Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bud's Seafood Grille
314 Lincoln Ctr, Stockton, CA 95207-2627
209-956-0270
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 459 Restaurants in Stockton
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great dinner, great service, great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were headed back to Oakland and we reached Stockton around dinner time. We decided on Buds since we were in mood for clam chowder and it was recommended per trip advisor. We weren't disappointed. We were there for happy hour so the pricing was very reasonable for CA. I had the Buds beef which was very tender and flavorful. My husband had the rainbow trout which was also tasty and well cooked. We both had a cup of clam chowder which was thick and full of goodies. We finished our meal with the pots de creme. It was very good and disappeared quickly. Oh...and the sour dough was also perfect.

I should also mention the service was very atentive and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Top notch food top notch service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've had brunch, lunches, many dinners and even had their "Bud's beef" catered. Consistently wonderful. If you like fish it is always perfectly prepared.
Highest recommendations, and I'm kinda picky.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stockton's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Clam chowder.....awesome.....macadamia crusted sole will fill your soul with happiness. Just wish the butter was not cold so it woul spread on the bread easier.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sand dabs, wine, coffee and desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Best seafood restaurant in the area. Good wine list and menu is full of excellent choices. It's in Lincoln Center with very good parking in front of the bar and entrance.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The worst owners and management I have ever dealt with”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I cannot express how horribly I was treated at this establishment and how unskilled and unprofessional the owners are. I do lots of reviews and seldom do I need to complain.

December 21, 2012 I took two people to lunch and the place I intended to go was not open at 11 but this facility was. We went here and it was a disaster from the beginning. The service was terrible, but I was a waitress for a long time. I chalked it up to the waitress having a bad day. I did not consider that she was working for such awful employers. I received the bill and gave my credit card. The total was in the mid-forties for the bill. When she came back, the amount charged was approximately $29. I caught the error and did NOT sign that receipt. I had her go back and fix it. I signed the correct one. Even though my food was incorrect and was bad enough to request it to be remade, I did not complain or get upset. In fact I still tipped well, over 15%.

December 22, 2012 I see that the charge for $29 is pending as is the charge for $52 reflecting the tip plus the bill amount. I called the restaurant and the waitress who served me apologized. She told me this happens all the time and that the incorrect amount would drop off. She requested I give it a few days. On December 24th, the charge is no longer pending and has been removed from my checking account. This is not a credit card that I pay in thirty days, this is my atm card and the money is removed. I call back and am told that Matt is in charge of handling the receipts. I am advised it will be reversed and the money returned. I wait several days and call again when I see the charge still in there. I leave countless messages for Matt.

Moving forward into January. January 8, with all the holidays done, the money still has not been returned to my account and now there have been many phone calls. They are blowing me off and hoping I go away. I am still not rude or even upset. That is until I call and Matt actually comes to the phone. He puts me on hold. Sixteen minutes later I am still on hold. I hang up and call back. He answers and apologizes. He requests that I send my statement to him via fax the next day after he replaces his fax machine. He says he cannot see the charge receipts past seven days. I know this is untrue, and he should have saved them from my first call, but regardless, I just want my money returned. Now my husband is pissed and calls him. Matt winds up cussing him out and hanging up on him rather than handling the situation like a man. My husband then called him seven more times which he would not take the phone and had his teenage employees try to handle the situation.

I never gave the guy a bad time, I never raised my voice, I never used bad language. I persisted in trying to get the error they made at my expense fixed. When I tried to fax him, the fax failed. I personally drove an hour to the restaurant and presented my statement to him. Because it posted on the 24th, rather than the 21st he insinuated that I was lying and made me repeat the story of what happened. He tried to refuse to give me the money back and told me that he didn't care if he had my business. He finally gave me the $29 but not the change. I asked for the change. He asked me not to come back that he does not want my business. I started to leave and turned around and asked for the waitress and why she wasn't standing up and admitting what happened. I asked him how he could turn this into something I had done wrong rather than take responsibility. I did not ask for the $52 dollars back, I did not want anything free, I wanted the money taken from my checking account in error returned. I did not want to wait 19 days until January 10 to receive my money. He told me to leave, he did not want my kind there, and that if I did not he would call the police.

They owe me an apology for how they talked to me in their establishment with customers there. They also need to be forthcoming about who was responsible for this situation. They also need to explain what bad behavior I engaged in that caused them to belittle me and treat me so poorly. I am shocked and horrified.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bud's Seafood Grille also viewed

 

Been to Bud's Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bud's Seafood Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.