We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is very good but arranging the party was a challenge.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of China Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Palace
5052 West Lane, Stockton, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 460 Restaurants in Stockton
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is an excellent, popular, and reasonably priced Chinese restaurant in Stockton. It is easily worthy of inclusion on Tripadvisor.
Lodi, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The food is very good but arranging the party was a challenge.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Recently I planned a dinner for a group of 50 to 60 people at China Palace and I vowed they would not be my first choice for a large group dinner again. I would guess if you spoke Chinese it could be a little easier. I found talking with the owner and the staff, when the owner was not there, was very challenging. What I understood when talking with the owner initially didn’t seem to have been communicated to the staff. So when I went to finalize the details and the owner was not there, the staff and I were not on the same page. Plus their flexibility, I found was lacking a bit. “No you cannot pay with a check”, “You can pay with a credit card but we will charge you 3%”, “Cash or Cashier Check is best”. Then we had this conversation… Them: If you make a substitution you have to charge you $5.00 per table for each substitution. Me: Really aren’t vegetable cheaper than shrimp. Them: No. Me: Really? And this conversation… with 6 tables you can have the room for the amount of time you need. If you have less your time may be shortened. If we have only 5 tables, are you going to kick my guests out! Really? The food was delicious and wait staff helpful so I am not rating them poorly for the food or service, just the frustrations of making the arrangements.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, service not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Title says it all basically. It is a shame that service is so lacking as food is usually really good. Would recommend you not go between 1:30 pm and 3:00 pm however as, if lunch business was slow, food quality suffers. Take out available and sometimes the best way to go.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Chinese in Stockton all eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Located in a shopping mall this is an authentic Chinese restaurant. Martin Yan has rated it highly. Large portions. Wonderful food. Don't miss it if you visit Stockton.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real china in America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

When you walk in, you get that Hong Kong feeling. This is my favorite restaurant in Stockton. They have all chinese help, that help you with all your wishes, from reading your menu, bringing your order with style, following thru your dinner, to paking your left overs to take home. the food Hooooo, fried oysters, the crab, their chow mein, their rice, sweet sour pork, the family delight (combination sea food and vegetables). They are made after you order and are Supper delicios. on week ends around noon time, the have Dim Sum, every dish is supper delicious. I have been going to this restaurant for the last 15 yrs. and i always go home --DELIGHTED. - Well they treat me, like a King - they feed me, like a king so i leave feeling like a king.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best dim sum in Stockton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This is the best dim sum in Stockton!!
Service is great and the food is the best! They even have a Togo counter that is really cheap! Much better than Dynasty! We will be back again and again !!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.