We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2654 West March Lane, Stockton, CA 95207 (Formerly Comfort Inn - Stockton / West March Lane)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Stockton
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible place to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We arrived in Stockton, Ca. after driving all day and looked for a hotel. We had never been to Stockton, but we have had pleasurable stays in "Choice Hotels" in the past, but this one was bad. We had gotten settled in our supposedly no smoking room and found large burn holes in the blankets, sheets and even the carpeting. A huge fight broke out in the parking lot at dusk and it was obvious a group of people were after a fellow who fled to the office and was holding the door shut. After that fiasco, our door knob rattled 2 times during the night and was quite scary. In the morning we saw folks who appeared to be living in the hotel and were taking piles of the food from the breakfast area back to their hotel room. Also in the breakfast area were two people that were very obviously drug addicts. What a nightmare that place is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveroadtrips71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that actions by other outside our control detracted from your stay. While we don’t make judgments about our guests, we have not observed any activity that is concerning in our safe and quiet neighborhood. We satisfy dozens of guests every month as well. Still, I apologize that we failed to live up to your expectations.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have stayed in 82 separate Choice Hotel Group properties so far in 2013. This one ranks as 82. My rule is if I would walk barefooted on the floor I am halfway happy. When they installed the carpet they simply carpeted over whatever was on the floor, concrete globs, or drywall mud or possibly a rock. Walking you might get a stone bruise from whatever was under the carpet. The shower curtain was to short and kept allowing water onto the floor, hence the smell of mildew even after the over powering smell of chlorine. No bath mats, no wash cloths in shower area. Okay enough: Time to go to bed, the pillows were 12" inch square, the mattress felt as if purchased from dumpster outside of Motel 6. The A/C had a ranch of at least 15 degrees, set on 74 it would begin cooling and cool down to 66 then cut off and not come back on until 81. So cool then hot, cool then hot, now I have a cold. There is a Quality Inn across the freeway don't know what shape it is in but anything would rate about this absolute disgrace to the Comfort Inn brand.

Room Tip: Call Quality Inn across the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your interesting comments. I apologize if we failed to satisfy you in any way. Please understand that hundreds of people are satisfied every month with what we provide. Still, we’ve made a number of changes and improvements to the hotel since your stay, and we hope you’ll stay with us again to see how we’re better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

For one asked for a King or Queen, we were given a double bed. Sheets to small for bed so the fitted sheet kept falling off. Pillows were ridiculously small and hard. The carpet filthy whole place dirty. In the bathroom there was dirty a wash cloth and towel hanging on shower rod.
We were very tired after a 11 hour drive so dealt with it.
This was the worst room I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Noisy in front of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyndie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us. I’m glad you didn’t encounter any issues severe enough to cause you to leave. I sincerely apologize for any ways in which we fell short. We’re involved in a continuous improvement process and are now better than during your stay. I hope you’ll try us again and see how we’re changing for the better.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here after a long day of driving and was greeted by a very helpful and friendly front desk receptionist. After filling out the paperwork we went to the room and immediately noticed that the pillows were the size of throw pillows you might have o. The couch at home. This wouldn't have been so bad but they also felt as if they had half the stuffing removed. As it was a king bed it looked a bit ridiculous. We were both very tired and did not feel like losing out on any more sleep complaining about something that was unlikely to be remedied anyway. The bed was very hard as well and we both had a restless night and awoke the next morning with aching backs. We stayed in room 108. Hopefully not all the other rooms are like this. Other than the bed it seemed to be a good hotel. Well I guess the whole reason we were there WAS for a bed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I apologize that our bedding didn’t satisfy you when so many others have been completely satisfied. You’ll be pleased to know, however, that we’re involved in a continuous improvement process and have made many changes at this hotel in Stockton, CA since your stay. I hope you’ll try us again to see that we’re now better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Booked this hotel as we were traveling. Didn't have plans to stay in this area but were too tired to move on. It seemed to have decent enough reviews and we liked the fact it was right off the freeway. It is decent enough for one nights stay. There were things I disliked, like the outside light coming through the bottom of the door and the bright lights coming in around the side and bottom of curtains. Although being so tired we didn't notice it much. My biggest complaint would be the pillows. We had a king bed but were only given three pillows and they were the size of pillows you would put on your couch. Liked that Dennys was right next door. They had complimentary breakfast but we didn't make it in time to try it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased that you had a pleasant stay. I apologize, however, that our pillows didn’t meet your needs. Many others have been completely satisfied. Still, we’re involved in a process of continuous improvement and have made many changes here that you will appreciate. I hope you will try us again and see that we’re now better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PILOT HILL, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at this facility. It was chosen as the host hotel for our state tournament. I am appalled at the condition of the rooms at this property. The first room we were put into had no working air conditioner. The table tops were sticky and dirty. There was no TV remote and no trash cans .
We were moved to another room with a working air conditioner. The carpets were dirty, burn holes in the comforter and shower curtain, mold on the ceiling in the bathroom, the security locks did not work, you could tell the door was forced open at some point - the molding around the door was broken, the molding also had been chewed by a dog and not repaired, no ironing board or iron in the room, the pillows were terrible - tiny and misshapen. Not only was the inside dirty and unmaintained but the outside was as well. Trash and cigarette butts everywhere. The jacuzzi did not work. The room keys had to be reset daily because their machine was not working properly. There were many other people that stayed here during the tournament and many, many people were unhappy. The company should be ashamed to have their name on this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STOVETOP4YOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments. You’ll be pleased to know that we’ve upgraded and improved the hotel significantly since your stay. If you try us again, you’ll see that the issues that concerned you have been corrected. Still, I sincerely apologize that we fell short of your expectations in this case. Our goal is complete satisfaction and we obviously failed you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

very convenient location right off of the hwy can't miss the comfort inn, surrounded with multiple restaurants that you can walk to. The mall was not to far at all, only took less then 10 minutes to get there with my wife and kids, hot breakfast was very good to have here, staff at front desk was very help full with directions and gave us a very good service. I don't care what others have to say but I would stay here again and recommend for others to stay and enjoy.

Room Tip: room near the pool was very convenient for my kids and I.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockton hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Stockton
Hilton Stockton
#3 of 28 in Stockton
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Stockton - March Lane
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Stockton
Red Roof Inn Stockton
#8 of 28 in Stockton
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Stockton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2654 West March Lane, Stockton, CA 95207 (Formerly Comfort Inn - Stockton / West March Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge, a hotel in Stockton California near University of the Pacific Located off of Interstate 5, the pet-friendly Econo Lodge(R) hotel is minutes from downtown Stockton and the recreational activities offered at Stockton's Delta Waterways. Nearby attractions include: University of the Pacific Delta College Bob Hope Theatre The Stockton Events Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Stockton / West March Lane Hotel Stockton
Stockton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing