We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2654 West March Lane, Stockton, CA 95207 (Formerly Comfort Inn - Stockton / West March Lane)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Stockton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I wish we had read the reviews for this place before. We got there at 2am and were too tired to drive anywhere else. We were hauling a u-haul trailer with all our possessions and parked it in view from both our room and the lobby. We fell asleep when we awoke at 4:30 the trailer was gone. We asked the lady in the front desk if she had seen anything, but claimed "she was in the kitchen." Yea what a coincidence that she wasn't at the front desk the entire time it took the theifs to disconnect the trailer and attach it to their cars. I find it very fishy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippin2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting. I’m sorry you experienced a police matter that detracted from your stay. While this is a safe and secure neighborhood, thefts do sometimes happen at any location. In any case, I apologize for any ways that things under our control fell short of your expectations. We’ve made a number of changes and improvements recently that improve the quality of your future stays with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had family visiting from Wyoming and I wanted them to be close to my house, so when they asked me for a good clean place to stay, I recommended the Comfort Inn on West March Lane in Stockton. They are always packed I said, and it's close to a lot of restaurants.
To make a long story short, do not stay at this location EVER!!! The rooms were filthy, the bathrooms were disgusting with hair everywhere, there was pornographic suggestions written in black pen on the walls. Foot prints on the wall? This place ranks just above a roach motel - they should have requested a refund, but instead they just want out, so they cancelled the rest of the week and found another place to stay. Sad, Sad, Sad! DON'T THROW YOUR MONEY AWAY ON THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Find another hotel to stay at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Hooplah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. Interestingly, hundreds of guests each month are completely satisfied. Still, I apologize that your relatives who stayed with us may not have been satisfied. We take this matter seriously. Fortunately, we’ve made changes and improvements to our hotel since their stay and are now better than ever before. We look forward to welcoming them back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This use to be one of our favorite hotels after the recession this area has not bouced back. The City of Stockton has declared bankruptcy so there are very few police. Gangs have now taken over.

Our last 2 stays: October 2012. Shots fired on the balcony above our room. a gang was targeting someone at the Dennys resturant. We left that morning.......

June 2013. Pool occupied by undesirables. Towels seemed to be in short supply. I'm not talking about pool towels, I'm talking about room towels. My two nieces were approached by a lady who was scandally dressed and asking what their ages were. We believe prostitution has become an issue at this hotel.

Room Tip: Best western: 16 miles north of this location on I5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologize if we fell short of your expectations in any ways, but thanks for coming to us repeatedly nonetheless. We can’t condone labeling anyone as “undesirables”, and we welcome all well-behaved paying guests without discrimination or prejudice. That includes you. When you come again, you’ll see that we’ve made many changes and improvements and provide a better experience than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

me and my boyfriend had a good and relaxing stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly! We checked in around 4pm and the receptionist was so nice. We went into the room and it was nice, clean, and smelled good. We were missing one set of towels, we called the front desk and the head house keeper brought us towels right away. Breakfast was great everything was good and when we checked out the receptionist in the morning was just the sweetest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I agree with all the terrible reviews and issues people have written about this hotel. There is nothing good I can say about it. We only spent a night here because we were tired and the hotel sign beckoned us from the highway. But believe me NEVER EVER again. I am yet to come across a dirtier place. In the breakfast room under the sink there was stuff lying from the last century still, it seemed, the tables were dirty, sticky, everything filthy and the lady in charge was having a chat with the receptionist all the half hour that we were there. By the look of the room she had been doing this the whole morning. Did not come out once to look after anything, to greet the guests or clean up the area. Absolutely disgusting. I shudder when I think of this night. What a terrible room, what a terrible stink in the room, what a terrible night.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a good room. Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us. I’m sorry your stay with us didn’t meet your needs when so many others were satisfied that same night. I apologize sincerely. In any case, we’re involved in a continuous improvement process and have made many changes and improvements. When you visit again, you’ll see that we’re now much better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

April 12, 2013 - I checked in at 3:31 AM checked out at 8:23 AM. During this time period the resident thieves stole my catalytic converter of my service truck. (2012 3500 Dodge Diesel) It cost me $3,400 for the dodge dealer to replace it. It really makes me angry when I look at reviews of this establishment, I find in January another guests had the same thing happen. I wonder how many others this has happened to, that did not take the time to write a review. The floors are dirty, trash between the wall and bed, one hand towel, one wash cloth, none of the electrical appliances were plugged in, etc. There is no security or security cameras on premises. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that you experienced a theft outside the hotel. That is a police matter, and I hope you filed a police report at the time. Our on-site security was not questioned about this matter, so I’m not sure if any report was filed. In any case, we’ve since improved every aspect of this hotel, including security, and we hope you’ll try us again to see how we’re better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was the worst hotel I've ever stayed. Chewed gum was stuck on the back of TV remote, the floor was dirty, shower head was dirty, foot prints on the bath tub, heater was broken, a light bulb was out. Pillows were smashed into balls. When we asked for an extra set of towels and blanket for our son, it took hours for them to respond. We had to call 3 times and talked to the manager. When we complained, the front desk person told us that if we didn't like it, we could go somewhere else. It was getting late at night and we were too tired to go find another place, so we stayed. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomotomoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for your comments about our property, now a clean and comfortable Econo Lodge. We’re pleased that you could stay with us, but I’m sorry if we failed to meet your expectations in any ways. We take real pride in this property and have made many changes for the better. I hope you’ll visit soon and see that we’re better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockton hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Stockton
Hilton Stockton
#2 of 28 in Stockton
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Stockton - March Lane
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Stockton
Red Roof Inn Stockton
#9 of 28 in Stockton
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Stockton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2654 West March Lane, Stockton, CA 95207 (Formerly Comfort Inn - Stockton / West March Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge, a hotel in Stockton California near University of the Pacific Located off of Interstate 5, the pet-friendly Econo Lodge(R) hotel is minutes from downtown Stockton and the recreational activities offered at Stockton's Delta Waterways. Nearby attractions include: University of the Pacific Delta College Bob Hope Theatre The Stockton Events Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Stockton / West March Lane Hotel Stockton
Stockton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing