We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2654 West March Lane, Stockton, CA 95207 (Formerly Comfort Inn - Stockton / West March Lane)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Stockton
Montana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Adequate stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have you ever stayed at a hotel that served its purpose and not much more? The hotel was very near a freeway exit, for those who have difficulty navigating. Check in was efficient, if not warm. The room was average size, clean and comfortable. No complaints about the functional bathroom. Breakfast was typical Comfort Inn, with cold cereal, juices, toaster items. yogurt and do-it-yourself waffles. There is a restaurant in the parking lot. The swimming pool was too cold for us. The hotel served its purpose, but was not especially memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    12
    13
    29
See reviews for
25
13
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I agree with Arminius1, I too, found hair in the face towel that someone most likely used to dry their hair. There was no toilet paper; but when we called down we got prompt response. The bed looked as though someone took a short nap -- one of the pillows looked slept on -- so I put it on the floor. There really should be a small fridge and microwave in the all the rooms not just the suites. The ice machines were all out of order so we had to get ice from a freezer in the lobby. The bags were frozen solid & I had nothing to break up the ice. The desk folks just watched me struggle. I had other items in my arms that I was bringing up to the room and no one offered to help me with the door. The only positive was that we could get out fast enough. We were ready to go 20 minutes before the lobby was open for breakfast and the attendant allowed us in to get coffee and a small muffin "for the road"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Kind of appropriate that the city of Stockton became the largest city in the US to go bankrupt 2 days before we arrived. And what I mean about the hotel reminds me of my childhood is that I don't believe any upgrades have been made since then. The rooms smelled of an old, worn out hotel, which it was. The first thing I noticed was the burned hole in my top bread spread, which came nowhere near my face. And though I appreciated the towel origami, I wish they had taken the time to instead pull the hairs out of them. The service, while I didn't find it rude, was not welcoming either. I kind of agree that the other customers there gave it an unfriendly feeling- running to our car in case something happened. For the money, I think I would rather spend $20 and upgrade to another choice in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Took over 30 minutes to check-in. Door keys don't work good at all,and you have to play with door every time you use it. Few pillows and towels and over all the room was dirty. Strangers and abandon cars in parking lot. No ice machine,so they suppied ice from a freezer. We could not break the ice apart to use- totally frozen. Pool was cloudy and smelled of heavy chlorineThe only decent service was the breakfast. The place needs to be remodeled or just good maintance done. All the empolyees need to have a class on customer service.The manger needs to pay some attention to reviews and start improving poor customer service.
The saddess part of all is that we have use this place before and we had decent service.

Room Tip: Better places to stay at in the area for the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Currently staying at this hotel, I will make this short and sweet. Room key did not work not one but twice. Burn marks on comforter in non smoking room. Smoke dector held together with what looks like painted over duct tape. Highway noise so loud it sounds like fireworks exploding. Strange, scary man tried to get my daughter to go to her room so he could make a call. I can't sleep.. I don't feel safe.. Not so short and not so sweet here. DO NOT STAY HERE! I am usually not so critical on reviews, but this is the worst place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is absolutely one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Except for the courtesy of the check in clerk this Comfort Inn misses the mark on housekeeping (Carpet in room was filthy and needed a good shampoo or replacement), bathroom needs an overhaul (Tiles in bad shape, grout loose, etc.), grounds congested and unsafe, entry door to room was missing weather seal and did not lock tightly, and the room was in a state of disrepair. The lobby was not accessible in the evening even with a room key. For an early riser this was an issue as I usually read in the lobby with the more comfortable chairs. This unit is not up to Choice Hotel standards.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The bathroom and bedding was fine, but the carpet needed to be cleaned. The room was a decent size, but the wall heater was a little loud. The most annoying thing about the room was the TV. Every time you turned it on, it was tuned to the "Access" channel. There you could purchase recently released streaming movies for the bargain price of $15.99 (no that's not a typo) per movie and watch it on an old tube style TV with a crappy picture. What were they thinking?! The complementary breakfast was ok, had decent variety and was available starting at 6 am for early risers. About 6 months ago I stayed a few blocks away at the La Quinta Inn on the west side of the freeway. It's in the same price range, but a cleaner room, HD TV and less noisy AC/heater make it a better value and more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2654 West March Lane, Stockton, CA 95207 (Formerly Comfort Inn - Stockton / West March Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Stockton / West March Lane Hotel Stockton
Stockton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.