We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little place in a great area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Cafe

Parkside Cafe
43 Arenal Aveune, Stinson Beach, CA
415.868.1272
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good little place in a great area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stopped by here on our way back from Muir Woods (see my other review). We thought the town of Stinson Beach was just adorable and had to stop. Parking is a real premium here and it took several times around the town center to finally find a spot. Parkside Cafe is the closest restaurant to the actual beach and had a nice sit down part and then a summer time beach style outside ordering window for ice cream, hot dogs; etc. It was crowded at the outside window so we opted to go inside and order from the full lunch menu. This place is near Point Reyes so I was hoping that, much to the theme of the area, its menu would feature locally harvested ingredients. My wife and I opted for calamari and oysters. The calamari was good, but the oysters (the were local) were very poorly shelled. Considering that the oysters were about 50% more than other places we had eaten in San Fran she expected them to be good. My wife constantly was picking shells from her mouth and crunching on bits of shell that were too small to see before she starting eating. It made the whole thing bad. The service was a bit slow and we had to tell our waiter (I don't think he asked us if everything was ok) that the oysters were very poorly shelled. He came back 10 minutes later with the oysters removed from our bill and apologized and said that's not how they normally come. All in all a great gesture from the restaurant. We took a walk on the beach after eating which was a good way to help get our food digested and a bonus to eating at Parkside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    35
    22
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“BREAKFAST BRUNCH and SOUP all homemade!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Park at the post office lot if other places on the street are occupied.
Sit near the fireplace if you want the extra warmth. Take in the lovely oil paintings of beach scenes. Parkside has a great menu for everyone's wants....from young to old. Service is
fast and very friendly. We liked the soup + sandwich option. You come away satisfied and ready to go to the Bookstore or a game of basketball at the corner court. Parkside is a
reliable address at Stinson. Give it a try!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Empty cafe turns custom away!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Not having had an opportunity to search Tripadvisor before trying to get a morning coffee in Stinson Beach, we (a party of 4 adults) arrived at the Parkside Cafe at 11.30 am on a mid-September Wednesday, wishing to order coffee and cakes. The cafe was completely empty indoors and the large terrace had only 2 tables occupied; however, the server told us that they were only serving lunch at this time and turned us away. We don't take lunch until around 1 pm though we realise that a lot of North Americans eat earlier than us, but for an empty cafe to turn 4 customers away seems unprofessional and short-sighted. Luckily we had a warmer welcome in Bolinas. We won't be taking friends to this cafe again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audlem
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunchtime place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We late lunched in here on a midweek and had a enjoyable meal. Service was was pleasant and helpful towards the kids. If you are a planning a day at Stinson and need a place to go to close the beach then I would recommend here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Tale of Only 2 Dinner Restaurant’s In 1 Beach Town!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

In August, we (4 adults, 1 foodie teen) rented a beach house for 2 nights (Friday & Saturday) in Stinson Beach. There are 2 restaurant’s open for dinner, Sand Dollar and the Parkside Café! Reading the influential Stinson Beach TA reviews, I booked Osteria Stellina in Point Reyes Station and Buckeye Roadhouse on the Shoreline Highway in Mill Valley. We are somewhat cursed being ultra picky about where we dine. After driving the roads into Stinson Beach and touring North our first day, it became clear that picky eating comes with a price of twisty, narrow dark roads late at night. So when in Rome or should that be Naples?

Both eateries turned out to be very good! The consensus (tough crowd) rating for each is 3. But this author internally votes 4 because my expectations were exceeded and I really enjoyed both meals. See Sand Dollar Restaurant for detail review!

Parkside Café is located behind guess? The Park! We made an 8PM dinner reservation and were seated right away on a crowded evening. Inside the tables are fairly close together with window views of the beachgoers parking lot. By habit we had asked for a window table (temporary insanity) but they were taken (alas). There is also a heat lamp warmed side patio. Attached, as part of the building, is a “fast food” stand with ice cream and other daytime goodies for the fog parched beachgoers to enjoy. We all felt the menu with its daily specials had a slightly better offering of food preparations compared to the Sand Dollar. Naturally the young foodie had the evening special Softshell Crab (thought was okay) and enjoyed his first raw oyster from his Uncle’s (me) appetizer. Glad I am his Uncle because he liked the oyster and the next meal out there will probably be a dozen for him (sushi disappears at light speed)! Also ordered were 2 petit filets (one overcooked), seafood mixed pasta and I went “light” with the generous appetizer mussels in an excellent broth. The house bread served hot was very good and terrific for soaking up the broth. We enjoyed 2 “community” desserts (Scharffen Berger chocolate cake with vanilla bean ice cream & upside down (appeared very right side up) peach pie also with vanilla bean. The pie earned the majority vote! Our server with his 1980’s mullet (I learned a new term) haircut was attentive and offbeat witty. I commented your serving presentation “sounds” are like Halloween. He said everyday is Halloween (ooooo)! I should have known because that is typical of Northern California beach towns!

Overall we were all very satisfied with our dining experiences at Sand Dollar and Parkside Café. The drives home involved 2 turns being back in plenty of time to take a long moonlit stroll on the expansive beach with the SF City lit skyline in the distance. You will not be disappointed at either locale!

Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkside Cafe also viewed

 
Stinson Beach, CA
 

Been to Parkside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.