We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gena's Sierra Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Squaw Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gena's Sierra Inn
Save Saved
You added Gena's Sierra Inn to your Saves list
37692 E Kings Canyon Rd, Squaw Valley, CA 93621   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Much better than expected ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place was much better than expected. Front desk was friendly at check in. Rooms were clean, they even had the ac on when we got there so the room was already cool. Breakfast was just the basic waffle, Danish, cereal, ect. One day they did have cantaloupe and watermelon this was very nice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

First ..its Ginas Sierra Inn..Out of 6 hotels and one night stuck in a car..This was the best..sweet ..comfortable..warm..The owner and side kick gal still make me smile when I think of our trip..Just hanging flowers could use a drip and the back has endless ways it could be used..Yet maybe it should just stay as is..It would be fun to come back as much as I could..These gals are the real thing.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

The room is tiny, but for the price and location it is a steal. $40 a night in the off season and $60 a night in the summer. About 10-15 minutes from kings canyon it's a good place to stay if you're not staying in the park. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews for this place and thought it would be a nice stop over to Kings Canyon. The staff was very friendly and accommodating but that's all I can say. The only thing remodeled about our room was the door lock. The room was small and dirty, holes in the wall, stains on the carpet and a shelf coming off the wall. I never saw such a small bathroom. We didn't even take our luggage in but left it in the car, left our shoes on till we went to bed and hoped no one would come through the door as we slept, no chain or deadbolt. We woke up and left immediately to go to breakfast at lodge at Kings Canyon. I would not stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Squaw Valley hotels

Clovis, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

They remodeled the rooms in 2009! And have added The Cafe for breakfst and lunch 6:30am-3:30pm! The owner of the cafe makes incredible coffee, and really tastey food. At night it is Gena's place, with great food a bar....this place has a small town feel, very welcoming and accomidating

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Sierra Inn was suprisingly inviting. The rooms are just big enough, very clean, and dog friendly. Gena, the owner, was more than accomadating and went out of her way to make my stay comfortable she even took care of my dog while we went for pizza. And, did I mention the home cooked meals served in the restaurant, let me just say thanks Gena for watching the dog but we won't go out for pizza again. Sierra Inn is 10 min. from the park entrance I don't need to even consider staying somewhere else so, Gena you rock and we'll sa ya soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

After driving through Fresno and realising it was a dive regardless of what side of town your on we headed like many to the national parks ... Deciding that we were tired, hungry and it was getting late we risked a motel ... It looked like something from a horror film... Thankfully the owners were accommodating and very friendly.

The only thing I regret is taking advice that kings canyon was any match for Yosemite - it wasn't.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gena's Sierra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gena's Sierra Inn

Address: 37692 E Kings Canyon Rd, Squaw Valley, CA 93621
Location: United States > California > Squaw Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 30's, "Gena's Sierra Inn" is conveniently located just 17 miles from the "Kings Canyon National Park" entrance. We have friendly rates, clean rooms, great food and are open 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Squaw Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gena's Sierra Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.