We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt as if I were in the past.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gena's Sierra Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Squaw Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gena's Sierra Inn
Save
You added Gena's Sierra Inn to your Saves list
37692 E Kings Canyon Rd, Squaw Valley, CA 93621   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt as if I were in the past.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

First ..its Ginas Sierra Inn..Out of 6 hotels and one night stuck in a car..This was the best..sweet ..comfortable..warm..The owner and side kick gal still make me smile when I think of our trip..Just hanging flowers could use a drip and the back has endless ways it could be used..Yet maybe it should just stay as is..It would be fun to come back as much as I could..These gals are the real thing.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The room is tiny, but for the price and location it is a steal. $40 a night in the off season and $60 a night in the summer. About 10-15 minutes from kings canyon it's a good place to stay if you're not staying in the park. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews for this place and thought it would be a nice stop over to Kings Canyon. The staff was very friendly and accommodating but that's all I can say. The only thing remodeled about our room was the door lock. The room was small and dirty, holes in the wall, stains on the carpet and a shelf coming off the wall. I never saw such a small bathroom. We didn't even take our luggage in but left it in the car, left our shoes on till we went to bed and hoped no one would come through the door as we slept, no chain or deadbolt. We woke up and left immediately to go to breakfast at lodge at Kings Canyon. I would not stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramchallenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Squaw Valley hotels

Clovis, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

They remodeled the rooms in 2009! And have added The Cafe for breakfst and lunch 6:30am-3:30pm! The owner of the cafe makes incredible coffee, and really tastey food. At night it is Gena's place, with great food a bar....this place has a small town feel, very welcoming and accomidating

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle8806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Sierra Inn was suprisingly inviting. The rooms are just big enough, very clean, and dog friendly. Gena, the owner, was more than accomadating and went out of her way to make my stay comfortable she even took care of my dog while we went for pizza. And, did I mention the home cooked meals served in the restaurant, let me just say thanks Gena for watching the dog but we won't go out for pizza again. Sierra Inn is 10 min. from the park entrance I don't need to even consider staying somewhere else so, Gena you rock and we'll sa ya soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cambren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

After driving through Fresno and realising it was a dive regardless of what side of town your on we headed like many to the national parks ... Deciding that we were tired, hungry and it was getting late we risked a motel ... It looked like something from a horror film... Thankfully the owners were accommodating and very friendly.

The only thing I regret is taking advice that kings canyon was any match for Yosemite - it wasn't.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FTUK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Highly recommend. Basic on the road side accomodation we stayed before going to Kings Canyon.Old fashioned but with character.Sat outside with beers in heat watching paragliders Gena food very good she works extremely hard. All you need, food and outback bar.Karioke the night we were there hidden talent there. Highly recommend for experience Well done Gena and family a very welcoming place

Room Tip: All on road side but very little traffic to Canyon after dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tig07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Squaw Valley
9.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
23.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
15.5 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Branded Calf B & B
The Branded Calf B & B
#1 of 1 in Squaw Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
17.9 mi away
Stony Creek Lodge
Stony Creek Lodge
#16 of 20 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
9.5 mi away
Wonder Valley Ranch Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gena's Sierra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gena's Sierra Inn

Address: 37692 E Kings Canyon Rd, Squaw Valley, CA 93621
Location: United States > California > Squaw Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 30's, "Gena's Sierra Inn" is conveniently located just 17 miles from the "Kings Canyon National Park" entrance. We have friendly rates, clean rooms, great food and are open 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Squaw Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing