We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old outback” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gena's Sierra Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Squaw Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gena's Sierra Inn
Save
You added Gena's Sierra Inn to your Saves list
37692 E Kings Canyon Rd, Squaw Valley, CA 93621   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good old outback”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Highly recommend. Basic on the road side accomodation we stayed before going to Kings Canyon.Old fashioned but with character.Sat outside with beers in heat watching paragliders Gena food very good she works extremely hard. All you need, food and outback bar.Karioke the night we were there hidden talent there. Highly recommend for experience Well done Gena and family a very welcoming place

Room Tip: All on road side but very little traffic to Canyon after dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sayreville, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed at the Sierra Inn cabins down by the Go West Deli. At first I thought Go West was a bar, but Gina quickly corrected me. Boy - Do I miss the Go West breakfast sandwiches. Anyway, my better half is wheelchair bound and Gina insisted on giving me the key to cabin two and getting my betterhalf inside and around within the cabin to make sure that the two of us would be comfortable staying there. Overall, in retrospect Gina could not have been nicer.

Yes, the cabins are old and in need of some external ( outside ) repairs, but inside the room was immaculate, the beds were made up daily, and once again the inside was pristine. We loved the himmingbird pictures on the walls. The airconditioning worked perfectly, and overall for $ 85 per night you could not beat the value....

Room Tip: Room 2 is where we stayed and I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I have read some bad reviews for Gena's Place. We stayed in room 3 for 3 nights and it was fine.
The air con worked well and was not too noisy and the shower also worked fine. The bed was comfy and clean and looking at my photos now the room looked warm and cosy.

The food was yummy and Mum and Daughter served us and were very friendly.

It feels more like a cabin then motel and so a bit of dust and odd spider or moving leaf insect in the room seems to fit and who doesn't have at least one spider in their home!

Its only about 15 min drive to Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Forest.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3. If you don't like spiders go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma Wine Country
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

Today, we can only look back and chuckle at my gullibility.

Sierra Inn is a clapboard mistake by the highway, probably built in the early 1900s from tin and saw-board. Unwittingly, I made a reservation the day of, by phone, on Memorial Day Weekend - they said they'd had a cancellation. Planned to drive 4.5 hours to Sequoia Nat'l Park and stay just one night outside the Park.

The room was straight out of a nightmare. It reeked of bathroom cleaner, had no functioning anything. A sagging bed with thread-bare sheets. The AC wall unit in the room, that didn't work, had a cord running to a plug inside the bathroom. Effectively you couldn't close the bathroom door without the cord interfering or unplugging it. The bathroom contained a rusted tin shower stall.

We returned to the BarRoom that serves as their front desk and asked for a room refund - which they provided. I'm thankful because it was 9:00 PM. This place had other wayward travelers trapped there who had looks of abandonment on their face.

We drove 45 miles back to Fresno from the Park Boundaries to try to find a room at 10:00 PM. Every call we made to hotels and motels resulted with "no vacancy". We allowed that we would sleep in the car and still be better off than the pit we had just witnessed an hour earlier.

Eventually we found a refurbished Super 8 Motel, the room was so brand new, there was a layer of construction dust on all the surfaces. Sierra Inn is listed for Sale on a real estate website. The only sensible thing an investor could do would be to 'bulldoze it and start anew."

  • Liked — Impossible, there is not a single redeeming quality
  • Disliked — It should be bulldozed. It cannot be up to standards for any kind of building code.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Squaw Valley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gena's Sierra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gena's Sierra Inn

Address: 37692 E Kings Canyon Rd, Squaw Valley, CA 93621
Location: United States > California > Squaw Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 30's, "Gena's Sierra Inn" is conveniently located just 17 miles from the "Kings Canyon National Park" entrance. We have friendly rates, clean rooms, great food and are open 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Squaw Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gena's Sierra Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.