We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Squaw Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley
Save
You added Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley to your Saves list
30894 E.Kings Canyon Road, Highway 180, Squaw Valley, CA 93675 (Formerly Squaw Valley Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Booked in here whilst visiting Kings Canyon NP. Couldn't stay in the park as it was full. We are led to believe that his motel is approximately 20 miles outside the park but it's a straight road with little traffic and some great scenerey. Only stayed 1 night. Booked in advance and paid a resonable price. In our opinion the room was unusually basic, very tired and worn with no fridge, microwave, coffee maker, small TV with fewer than normal channels. No ice making machine at motel (but owner gave us some of his ice) Tried to use the swimming pool but no light on so difficult. Don't remember any AC in our room. Daily temperature was in excess of 100 fh so very hot. No complimentry breakfast. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
2
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had left Fresno a little late after being unimpressed with the accommodation on offer, we were starting to worry that we might need to sleep in the car! We looked at one or two decidedly dodgy places in small towns just off the highway, then found the oasis that is the Squaw Valley Motel.
The room was small, but spotless. The shower worked fine, and this place ticked all the boxes for a one night stopover
The motel looks exactly what we imagined a US Highway motel from the fifties or sixties would be like, set back from the road and park outside. Not sure I'd want to spend a week here, but would use again for a one night stopover.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Extremely small room, but only paid $55. Had a swim in motel pool. Used communal fridge and freezer. Probably would not stay again as size of ensuite and room was an issue. Motel proprietor was polite. Grounds were very run down. Close proximity to the two N.P.'s had a bearing on us staying here.

Room Tip: Make sure you view the room before committing. There are rooms at the back of the property which may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I recently stayed at this motel due to work, it was the only place that we could get, I had been there for work a few weeks prior to this day at which time I stayed in another room next door to the to the room I stayed in this time. Room munber 2.

However I was getting ready for bed and I felt something crawling on me so i killed it, then I got up to take a closer look at which time i saw nothing. So I went to bed and woke up the next morning to get ready for work when I grabbed my work pants off of the bed and seen the bed Bug crawl out. It was disgusting. A little while later at work I realized that i had numerous bites all over my entire body. I callled the motel and spoke with the owner and he stated to me" that maybe one of the earlier guest must have brought them in". However due to the amount of bites that I hav, they surely must have known long before now that this problem existed. Yet they still continue to rent this room out to unsuspecting people like my self and other travelers and that is just plain wrong. So I'm calling the health department to report this problem, so that the general public is not at risk of taking these bed bugs home to their families or bring their families into a place like this..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Squaw Valley hotels

Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The plan was to camp at Kings Canyon National Park, but our GPS plotted a route from Yosemite through Sierra National Forest – a route that, as daylight was beginning to fade and our gas tank was running uncomfortably low, we realized was not going to take us to our destination. While trying to retrace our route around a reservoir in the forest, we met a group of boaters/campers, and thanks to their kindness in giving us directions and five gallons of gas, we were able to make it to Highway 180 – which would have been the smart route to have taken in the first place. Stopping in Squaw Valley to fill up the tank, we noticed a motel next to the gas station, so rather than proceed to Kings Canyon and have to pitch a tent in the dark, we decided to check in.

This is a mom-and-pop style motel, probably built in the ‘50s when life was simpler, so don’t expect large rooms or too many amenities. However, it’s spotlessly clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable, the towels were new and fluffy, there was plenty of hot water, the air conditioning was efficient, and the rooms – I recall seeing only about eight – are set back far enough from the road that you don’t hear traffic. Best of all, there was a patio/picnic area behind the office where we could set up our camp stove, prepare an evening meal and eat in comfort. (There’s a pizza place on the other side of the motel if you’re not planning on cooking, but that may be the only dining option in Squaw Valley.) Next to the patio is a very nice little pool where, as the friendly host explained, you can swim “till you can’t see any more.” Just as there’s no set closing time for the pool, there’s no particular opening hour in the morning, so no problem taking a dip before you hit the road.

This isn’t what most people would call destination accommodation, but it was such a welcome haven when we came upon it that we’d have been happy to stay again on our way out of Kings Canyon had the timing been right. For $65 a night, including tax, in the high season, this surely has to be one of the better deals in the vicinity of a major national park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at the Squaw Valley Motel for 2 nights during a trip to Sequoia and Kings Canyon national parks, something I suspect is true for most visitors to Squaw Valley. We didn’t book the motel expecting luxury or first class accommodations-we wanted something in our budget ($55 a night) that was close to the parks and the Squaw Valley Motel fit the bill. Also didn’t hurt that there aren’t a lot of options in town.

That being said, we enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are small but cozy and clean, with a bed and breakfast feel-no cookie-cutter corporate-chain furniture here. There were homemade quilts on the bed, a little desk area with a clearly hand-painted chair and night stand, and the bathroom had recently been redone, with very nice tiling. The shower was quite large and the hot water plentiful. The room even had a TV with Direct TV programming, which we didn’t watch much, but was useful in catching the tail end of a Sunday night football game. Parking is directly outside your room door and plentiful. The owner was very accommodating and helpful. He lives on the property and due to our schedule, we didn’t get to the motel until about 9:00pm. When I called to inquire whether this was an issue for check-in, he told me I could arrive at any time and to just enjoy my time in the parks. Sure enough, when we pulled into the motel, he heard our vehicle and was at the check-in desk almost immediately. Check out was as easy as dropping a key in a drop box outside the office door as we left.

Our only complaint was noise while sleeping. Yes, the hotel is located right off a highway, but it’s only busy during certain periods of time and night didn’t seem to be one of them. In fact, we rarely heard highway noise, thanks in part to the AC/heating unit, which was a window unit in the bathroom. Sounds like it wouldn’t be powerful enough to cool or heat an entire room, but, as I said, these rooms are a little small and the unit was powerful, so we never had any temperature issues. And the noise the unit made drowned out the highway, best we could tell. However, if there is someone in the rooms on either side of yours, you will hear them as they come and go. You will hear their doors opening, their TV playing, their vehicle arriving and leaving and headlights shining into your room. Our first night at the motel, there was someone to the right of us, but we barely heard them. The second night, however, we had someone to our left who watched TV until 3:00am, then left the room about 5:00am. I had brought earplugs with me, so these helped, but whether due to poorly insulated walls and/or windows, or just an especially loud neighbor, we heard a lot more noise than we cared to. Still, that was the only complaint and it wasn’t that big of a deal to us as, like I said earlier, we were there to visit the parks and kept a pretty early rise/late evening schedule ourselves. We got a good night of sleep both nights and the noise wasn’t excessive or extreme-just more able to be heard than expected.

The town of Squaw Valley itself is very small but, as other reviewers have mentioned, a great little pizza place named “Bear Mountain Pizza” is directly next door to the motel and has later hours, which worked great for us. They have a large screen TV and very friendly staff, as well as great pizza. There was another café in town, but they had shorter hours and we never got to try them. We did drive to Orange Cove one night just to check out other options and quickly turned around and headed back to Bear Mountain Pizza when we saw the town-bars on all doors and windows, a few Mexican bars on the main drag and one open Mexican restaurant. One look at the menu and whiff of the air and we knew it wasn’t worth the 15 minute drive-back to cozy Bear Mountain we went. There aren't any bars on any homes or businesses in Squaw Valley, by the way-seemed very safe.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Squaw Valley Motel for those looking for a budget-friendly, comfortable and clean place to stay near the Sequoia and Kings Canyon parks. The motel is about 20 minutes from the northern entrances and an easy, nearly traffic-free drive during the early fall, with some great scenery along the way. If you came to Squaw Valley or the motel looking for luxury, first class accomodations and pampering you clearly didn’t do your homework. But if you’re looking for a good bargain and a comfortable place to rest your head after a long day, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011 via mobile

Old but well maintained and clean facility. Cute little pool and amazing sky view in the night. Outdoor BBQ and dining tables and homey nostalgic backyard impression. Very nice for family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley

Address: 30894 E.Kings Canyon Road, Highway 180, Squaw Valley, CA 93675 (Formerly Squaw Valley Motel)
Location: United States > California > Squaw Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Squaw Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.