We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Squaw Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley
Save Saved
You added Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley to your Saves list
30894 E.Kings Canyon Road, Highway 180, Squaw Valley, CA 93675 (Formerly Squaw Valley Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Squaw Valley
West Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at the Squaw Valley Motel for 2 nights during a trip to Sequoia and Kings Canyon national parks, something I suspect is true for most visitors to Squaw Valley. We didn’t book the motel expecting luxury or first class accommodations-we wanted something in our budget ($55 a night) that was close to the parks and the Squaw Valley Motel fit the bill. Also didn’t hurt that there aren’t a lot of options in town.

That being said, we enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are small but cozy and clean, with a bed and breakfast feel-no cookie-cutter corporate-chain furniture here. There were homemade quilts on the bed, a little desk area with a clearly hand-painted chair and night stand, and the bathroom had recently been redone, with very nice tiling. The shower was quite large and the hot water plentiful. The room even had a TV with Direct TV programming, which we didn’t watch much, but was useful in catching the tail end of a Sunday night football game. Parking is directly outside your room door and plentiful. The owner was very accommodating and helpful. He lives on the property and due to our schedule, we didn’t get to the motel until about 9:00pm. When I called to inquire whether this was an issue for check-in, he told me I could arrive at any time and to just enjoy my time in the parks. Sure enough, when we pulled into the motel, he heard our vehicle and was at the check-in desk almost immediately. Check out was as easy as dropping a key in a drop box outside the office door as we left.

Our only complaint was noise while sleeping. Yes, the hotel is located right off a highway, but it’s only busy during certain periods of time and night didn’t seem to be one of them. In fact, we rarely heard highway noise, thanks in part to the AC/heating unit, which was a window unit in the bathroom. Sounds like it wouldn’t be powerful enough to cool or heat an entire room, but, as I said, these rooms are a little small and the unit was powerful, so we never had any temperature issues. And the noise the unit made drowned out the highway, best we could tell. However, if there is someone in the rooms on either side of yours, you will hear them as they come and go. You will hear their doors opening, their TV playing, their vehicle arriving and leaving and headlights shining into your room. Our first night at the motel, there was someone to the right of us, but we barely heard them. The second night, however, we had someone to our left who watched TV until 3:00am, then left the room about 5:00am. I had brought earplugs with me, so these helped, but whether due to poorly insulated walls and/or windows, or just an especially loud neighbor, we heard a lot more noise than we cared to. Still, that was the only complaint and it wasn’t that big of a deal to us as, like I said earlier, we were there to visit the parks and kept a pretty early rise/late evening schedule ourselves. We got a good night of sleep both nights and the noise wasn’t excessive or extreme-just more able to be heard than expected.

The town of Squaw Valley itself is very small but, as other reviewers have mentioned, a great little pizza place named “Bear Mountain Pizza” is directly next door to the motel and has later hours, which worked great for us. They have a large screen TV and very friendly staff, as well as great pizza. There was another café in town, but they had shorter hours and we never got to try them. We did drive to Orange Cove one night just to check out other options and quickly turned around and headed back to Bear Mountain Pizza when we saw the town-bars on all doors and windows, a few Mexican bars on the main drag and one open Mexican restaurant. One look at the menu and whiff of the air and we knew it wasn’t worth the 15 minute drive-back to cozy Bear Mountain we went. There aren't any bars on any homes or businesses in Squaw Valley, by the way-seemed very safe.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Squaw Valley Motel for those looking for a budget-friendly, comfortable and clean place to stay near the Sequoia and Kings Canyon parks. The motel is about 20 minutes from the northern entrances and an easy, nearly traffic-free drive during the early fall, with some great scenery along the way. If you came to Squaw Valley or the motel looking for luxury, first class accomodations and pampering you clearly didn’t do your homework. But if you’re looking for a good bargain and a comfortable place to rest your head after a long day, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
2
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011 via mobile

Old but well maintained and clean facility. Cute little pool and amazing sky view in the night. Outdoor BBQ and dining tables and homey nostalgic backyard impression. Very nice for family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Went to kings canyon this july 4. Arrived on July 2 around 9pm after a whole day outside. The motel is run by a couple. When checking in, the man said I booked next day which I pointed out wrong. Then he gave me a card which wrote another guest name having the same last name as me. Again I pointed it out. Finally, he admitted my reservation was cancelled. The reason was I called one day before to ask if I could cancel it and still got refund. He answered no and I said I wanted to keep it. I repeated the situation and they admitted they made a mistake but couldn't help since all rooms were full. They reluctantly refunded me after I complained. Given it's not our fault and it's already 9pm, and the nearest possible hotel is at Fresno which is 30 miles away, I asked for compensation. They refused and said they don't care about customer satisfation. Given they only have five rooms and during the peak season, finding customers is not a problem at all. They just give the room to whoever pays the most and simpliy cancel the previous reservation and keep the money for the website says cancellatino has to be made 7 days before arrival during holiday in order to get refund. Very bad experience, highly unrecommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Squaw Valley hotels

Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

After arriving in Sequoia and pitching our tent the heavens opened then it got cold and miserable. With just enough light we decided to pack up and head for a motel along with many others judging by the convoy we had on the way down. After about an hours driving the rain had stopped and the sky had cleared and we came across 'Squaw Valley Motel' lit up with fairy lights in the middle of nowhere. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and the quirky rooms were themed around the bedspreads. We were happy to pay the $75 and the old chap that checked us in was most welcoming. We sat on the patio out back and celebrated into the night with a few tinnies at our luck in finding such a 'little gem'.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,co
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Very expensive for what it offers, very old, run down, dirty! The walls are paper thin and you hear everything that is happening in the room next door. Squaw Valley is a very small place with nothing to do. Unless you have to stay here, don't! Stay in the National Park or go to Visalia or Tulare where you have excellent choices for the same money!

Ariana Travel

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Having booked this motel some time ago, certainly before the April 09 review below, we were somewhat surprised and disappointed on our arrival at the motel. It certainly didn't look like the photos on the website and we thought that we'd made a big mistake.

The room was just about big enough to accommodate the bed but we would have been better off leaving our luggage in the car to make the room feel a little more spacious. The bathroom was small but the shower cubicle appeared to have a recent overhaul and was spacious with good water pressure - definitely no complaints on that.

The a/c unit was built into the bathroom window and so if you wanted it on then you had to leave the bathroom door open ... but it was effective and not too noisy.

We didn't try the complimentary breakfast that was supplied (outside under a tent like construction).

At $65, including tax, I suppose I shouldn't complain but we just weren't comfortable ... perhaps that says more about us than it does about the property. I could recommend this place so long as you book it with your eyes open to it's true nature ... however the website paints a distorted view of the surroundings and features and therefore I can not.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

We read the reviews and decided to give it a go and stay just one night - it sounded intriguing but after arriving at the motel we could hardly wait to leave again. Decrepit and dilapidated. It wasn't dirty, just awful and we certainly didn't feel at all comfortable there and at $75,-- comparatively overpriced. We booked a room with a kitchenette and this is what we expected to find. What we got was a floor-level microwave and a built-in kitchen (presumably built in in the 30s !!) which we preferred not to put to the test. There were no pots or pans to cook with anyway. The room was small and the bathroom tiny. The Californian tourist agency rated the room at up to $195 per night - was this inspector blind !! Maybe he got the decimal point wrong - $19.50 would be much nearer.
Also the owners had been described as friendly but after having paid for the room (in advance - be warned, look at them first), we never saw them again.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley

Address: 30894 E.Kings Canyon Road, Highway 180, Squaw Valley, CA 93675 (Formerly Squaw Valley Motel)
Location: United States > California > Squaw Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Squaw Valley
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Squaw Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia Kings Canyon Lodge Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.