We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great palce to stay in Springville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast

Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
35634 Highway 190, Springville, CA 93265   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Springville B&B and Inns
Santa Ana, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great palce to stay in Springville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This 10-room hotel is quiet, and the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. We stayed only one night. Among the amenities are two bathrobes (which you can buy or leave there), a Direct TV connection, and real chairs. There was no shortage of hot water. In the morning, we were treated to a good breakfast.

The building dates from the 1920s, and is a "historic building" in Springville. February is the off-season, and we were one of only two people staying that day. The staff was pleasant, friendly, efficient, and looked after our requests.

We would definitely stay there again - perhaps during the October Apple Festival.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
11
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Several work colleagues and I stayed for the weekend at the Springville Inn. The rooms were clean and comfortably appointed. The staff was courteous and friendly. Due to our work, we had several special requests and the Inn staff met and exceeded every single request we had. They made us feel right at home during our stay.

The view from my second floor room also made the stay well worth it. I could see across a park to a set of golden mountains. It was a lovely way to wake up in the morning.

All in all, I would recommend the Inn to anyone passing through the area. Or even as a base camp to explore the neighboring Sequoia Parks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed at the Springville Inn with a group of colleagues this past weekend, and each of us spoke of the charm and friendliness of the staff. We had several special requests; management met every one of them with generous hospitality. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The complimentary Continental breakfast was tasty, and our server, Christina, was especially attentive and welcoming. The Inn is a great place to stay the night and start a new day with the backdrop of the beautiful Sierras all around.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing Highway 190 have patio chairs outside the rooms to soak in the scen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

All this place needs is a sprucing up and it could be great. But it's not. Dirty and dull with a loud A/C in the wall directed into the side of a bed.
Strange people running it - and we heard from friends that they had a horrible experience with the woman who was looking after the place a week earlier.
Restaurant closed down and the breakfast was odd. No milk - it went sour - which was the climate of the entire stay.
This place could be a little gem but it needs care and attention, instead of some drunk woman falling out of the bar to show us to our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The inn is located at the entrance to Sequoia, our room was really nice, good size bathroom, with robes! upstairs facing the mountains. Jennifer was friendly, helpful and has a great, quirky sense of humour, others guests there appeared to be very happy. We were recommended to stay there by the tourist info. office. There's also a mini supermarket across the road which is handy. A great start to our journey into Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

First, I wouldn't call this a true B&B, where you feel you are a guest in someone's house. The rooms have the feel of a mid level motel (e.g. Hampton Inn) and the property is located right on the main highway through town (expect road noise if your room faces the highway). However, the service and breakfast were definitely up to good B&B standards.

I arrived on Sunday afternoon with my teenage son following two days camping and a drive through Sequoia National Monument. The office was closed, and when I knocked/rang the bell to the private residence the next door over, there was no answer except a small dog barking. I walked around the full property, and found no one. Shortly after another try at the door, a woman emerged from the residence. It turns out the manager (Jennifer) had fallen asleep and it took 15 minutes of her dog yapping to rouse her. An inauspicious start, but she quickly apologized and checked me in.

The service after that was excellent, and very friendly. When I was having trouble connecting to their wireless network, Jennifer came to the room right away to help. She also gave detailed recommendations on where to eat dinner that night. The room was clean, beds were comfy, room was dark, and things were quiet except for the occasional car driving by. Room decor was unexceptional, and the size/layout were good, with a large bathroom counter/sink area. My only complaint was that watching DirecTV on what looked like a 15 year old screen seemed out of place. With the price of flat screens so low nowdays, they could upgrade all their rooms to HD for a few thousand dollars.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent. We were the only ones in the dining room at the time, and the hostess/server (who had taken our reservation) greeted us warmly and asked about our camping trip and drive through the mountains. We had the choice of three interesting quiche varieties, served with fresh fruit, 1/2 a muffin and an apple danish, all tasting freshly made.

All in all a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My wife and I spent one night in this Inn and for the money we paid we feel that it was vastly over priced . In all of our two week vacation to California this was the only place that we would not give a positive review. On arrival we were "cautioned" about how much it would cost if we smoked in the room and if we lost the key etc. We were advised that the breakfast was a fixed menu with a choice of coffee, tea OR juice! Even a lowly Super 8 usually has a choice of beverages and a breakfast ceareal and toast etc. We didn't feel welcomed right from the moment we checked in.
The previous night we stayed in nearby Porterville at a Best Western motel which offered approximately the same size room accomodations for about $50 less . While ambiance of this quaint village and the view was better in Springville we would not have minded the additional cost except that the room was filthy. There was a heavy layer of dust over the door sills and under the bed we found several almonds and sunflower seed husks.as well as a broken water glass! One of the the coffee cups was dirty and unusable also.The room obviously had not been dusted or cleaned in some time and was in need of a serious cleaning. The bathroom fixtures and furniture is tired and old also for a hotle in this price range. If not for the cancellation policy we would have returned to Porterville to the much cleaner Best Western and saved ourselves $50 . The only highlight of an otherwise dismal experience. was that the attractive young blond haired woman serving breakfast was pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhego, Manager at Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Dave and Matsy:

We are sorry that you found the information on our check in sheet so offensive and made you feel unwelcome. All of our guests receive this sheet upon their arival.

From past experience, we have made it our policy to make our guests aware of a few of our Terms and Conditions to avoid any misunderstandings or issues.

I personally took your phone reservation on March 3, 2011 at approximately 1:07pm.

When we take a reservation there is a minimum of information we recite to our guests, such as:
Check-in & Check-out time
Cancellation policy
How you will be charged and the cost of your stay
Hours when breakfast is served
What is served for breakfast (fresh baked Quiche or a Strata, fresh baked goods, freshly cut
fruit and our selection of beverages) Many guests have juice and coffee or tea - there is no limit on the choices and we are baffled who told you it was either or.
We do have hot or cold cereals and toast, we may serve if our guest(s) request them. There have been occasions when a guest(s) has requested scrambled eggs instead of quiche and we always try to accommodate this. We are a Country Inn and try to be more personable and serve our guests as other Bed & Breakfast inns do, instead of having a buffett style breakfast sitting out under heat lamps for 2 1/2 hours.

We apologize for the cleanliness of the room but find it hard to believe it "filthy" as you stated; however, if you had brought to our attention your displeasure when you checked in, or certainly prior to you leaving, we would have happily compensated you or moved you to another room. We take pride in giving our guests a memorable stay and strive to accommodate all their needs. We have many repeat customers and train our staffs that repeat customers represent happy customers who will recomment our Inn to friends and family.

Your comment on the furniture and bathroom fixtures puzzles me because we get many compliments on the charm of the Inn and the rooms, the quality of our beds, bedspreads, etc.

We certainly do not want any customer going away with negative feelings about The Springville Inn and we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Hobie Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 35634 Highway 190, Springville, CA 93265
Location: United States > California > Springville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Springville
Also Known As:
Springville Hotel Springville
Springville Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;