We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and dumpy!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast

Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast
35634 Highway 190, Springville, CA 93265   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Springville B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing and dumpy!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

All this place needs is a sprucing up and it could be great. But it's not. Dirty and dull with a loud A/C in the wall directed into the side of a bed.
Strange people running it - and we heard from friends that they had a horrible experience with the woman who was looking after the place a week earlier.
Restaurant closed down and the breakfast was odd. No milk - it went sour - which was the climate of the entire stay.
This place could be a little gem but it needs care and attention, instead of some drunk woman falling out of the bar to show us to our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
11
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The inn is located at the entrance to Sequoia, our room was really nice, good size bathroom, with robes! upstairs facing the mountains. Jennifer was friendly, helpful and has a great, quirky sense of humour, others guests there appeared to be very happy. We were recommended to stay there by the tourist info. office. There's also a mini supermarket across the road which is handy. A great start to our journey into Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

First, I wouldn't call this a true B&B, where you feel you are a guest in someone's house. The rooms have the feel of a mid level motel (e.g. Hampton Inn) and the property is located right on the main highway through town (expect road noise if your room faces the highway). However, the service and breakfast were definitely up to good B&B standards.

I arrived on Sunday afternoon with my teenage son following two days camping and a drive through Sequoia National Monument. The office was closed, and when I knocked/rang the bell to the private residence the next door over, there was no answer except a small dog barking. I walked around the full property, and found no one. Shortly after another try at the door, a woman emerged from the residence. It turns out the manager (Jennifer) had fallen asleep and it took 15 minutes of her dog yapping to rouse her. An inauspicious start, but she quickly apologized and checked me in.

The service after that was excellent, and very friendly. When I was having trouble connecting to their wireless network, Jennifer came to the room right away to help. She also gave detailed recommendations on where to eat dinner that night. The room was clean, beds were comfy, room was dark, and things were quiet except for the occasional car driving by. Room decor was unexceptional, and the size/layout were good, with a large bathroom counter/sink area. My only complaint was that watching DirecTV on what looked like a 15 year old screen seemed out of place. With the price of flat screens so low nowdays, they could upgrade all their rooms to HD for a few thousand dollars.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent. We were the only ones in the dining room at the time, and the hostess/server (who had taken our reservation) greeted us warmly and asked about our camping trip and drive through the mountains. We had the choice of three interesting quiche varieties, served with fresh fruit, 1/2 a muffin and an apple danish, all tasting freshly made.

All in all a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My wife and I spent one night in this Inn and for the money we paid we feel that it was vastly over priced . In all of our two week vacation to California this was the only place that we would not give a positive review. On arrival we were "cautioned" about how much it would cost if we smoked in the room and if we lost the key etc. We were advised that the breakfast was a fixed menu with a choice of coffee, tea OR juice! Even a lowly Super 8 usually has a choice of beverages and a breakfast ceareal and toast etc. We didn't feel welcomed right from the moment we checked in.
The previous night we stayed in nearby Porterville at a Best Western motel which offered approximately the same size room accomodations for about $50 less . While ambiance of this quaint village and the view was better in Springville we would not have minded the additional cost except that the room was filthy. There was a heavy layer of dust over the door sills and under the bed we found several almonds and sunflower seed husks.as well as a broken water glass! One of the the coffee cups was dirty and unusable also.The room obviously had not been dusted or cleaned in some time and was in need of a serious cleaning. The bathroom fixtures and furniture is tired and old also for a hotle in this price range. If not for the cancellation policy we would have returned to Porterville to the much cleaner Best Western and saved ourselves $50 . The only highlight of an otherwise dismal experience. was that the attractive young blond haired woman serving breakfast was pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhego, Manager at Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Dave and Matsy:

We are sorry that you found the information on our check in sheet so offensive and made you feel unwelcome. All of our guests receive this sheet upon their arival.

From past experience, we have made it our policy to make our guests aware of a few of our Terms and Conditions to avoid any misunderstandings or issues.

I personally took your phone reservation on March 3, 2011 at approximately 1:07pm.

When we take a reservation there is a minimum of information we recite to our guests, such as:
Check-in & Check-out time
Cancellation policy
How you will be charged and the cost of your stay
Hours when breakfast is served
What is served for breakfast (fresh baked Quiche or a Strata, fresh baked goods, freshly cut
fruit and our selection of beverages) Many guests have juice and coffee or tea - there is no limit on the choices and we are baffled who told you it was either or.
We do have hot or cold cereals and toast, we may serve if our guest(s) request them. There have been occasions when a guest(s) has requested scrambled eggs instead of quiche and we always try to accommodate this. We are a Country Inn and try to be more personable and serve our guests as other Bed & Breakfast inns do, instead of having a buffett style breakfast sitting out under heat lamps for 2 1/2 hours.

We apologize for the cleanliness of the room but find it hard to believe it "filthy" as you stated; however, if you had brought to our attention your displeasure when you checked in, or certainly prior to you leaving, we would have happily compensated you or moved you to another room. We take pride in giving our guests a memorable stay and strive to accommodate all their needs. We have many repeat customers and train our staffs that repeat customers represent happy customers who will recomment our Inn to friends and family.

Your comment on the furniture and bathroom fixtures puzzles me because we get many compliments on the charm of the Inn and the rooms, the quality of our beds, bedspreads, etc.

We certainly do not want any customer going away with negative feelings about The Springville Inn and we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Hobie Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We loved this historic inn. Authentic old style, bar and restaurant downstairs, staff who went out of their way, and were truly friendly and in the bartender's case, funny. Rooms weren't exceptional but were very nice. This is definitely the style/fun pick and it was great not to be in another hotel chain!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

The only positive thing I can say about this place is the location, it is close by the places we like to fish. From the moment I called to the day we left I was disappointed by the entire experience. When I called to make the reservation I was told the only thing available was a suite and to call back the next day because she was the only one there and was too busy to help me. I did receive a call the next day and was told that I could make a dinner reservation upon check in, however when we arrived we were told that since there was an event going on that we couldn't make dinner reservations until 9:00 pm, since getting up early to fish staying up this late to eat was out of the question. When we asked how to get to the room we were led there very quickly, through the back, over water puddles, around stcked chairs and when someone asked her a question she barked that she couldn't answer because she had to show "these people" to their room. The suite was overcrowded with big furniture with no use to them, the armoire took up an entire corner and the only thing in it was a 21" TV. There were two bathrooms and both showers had extended shower heads but both were not working properly. One wouldn't stay upright and the other had less water pressure than the faucet. The bathroom walls didn't look like they had been wiped down in a month and the floorboards were gross. No microwave, the fridge wasn't turned on, Maxwell House coffee...all this for $240.00 per night! We were the first ones down for the free breakfast and were served by a very nice lady but it looked like she was doubling for the cook because her oversized shirt was covered in, I guess, food? Unless the new ownership shapes up the place we will never stay there, or eat there, ever again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhego, Manager at Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Dear Very Disappointed:

We are also disappointed that you had such a difficult experience in our establishment the first weekend of November.

We would like to address your points of frustration. The person who originally took your call should have called you back that night and not waited for the morning. Also, you should have been advised that the suites lock off so we could have just rented you the bedroom portion at the king room rate.

As far as dinner reservations, we checked our reservation book and you had a reservation for 7:30 which you didn't show up for. We had a very busy weekend that weekend as there was a private party and a Cellars & Chefs event that took up most of the Inn. Unfortunately, it rained that day so the whole Cellars & Chefs event had to be moved into the Inn and therefore we could not take dinner reservations before 7:30. We have not been able to determine who told you that you couldn't eat before 9:00.

Sorry you were taken to the suite the back way and had to go around furniture - again, this was because Cellars & Chefs had to be moved inside due to rain. We are sorry that you didn't like the furniture in the suite - most people do.

We apologize for any inconvenience - we try very hard to always treat our guests with special service. We want people to be very happy here and to return.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree National Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We had a wonderful time at this Inn and would stay again. Great food!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 35634 Highway 190, Springville, CA 93265
Location: United States > California > Springville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Springville
Also Known As:
Springville Hotel Springville
Springville Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Springville Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list