We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as advertised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
56816 Aspen Dr, Springville, CA 93265   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Springville B&B and Inns
Lancaster, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just as advertised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

John and Alvie are kind and helpful hosts - they really know the local area! They gave us perfect directions to the Staff Tree and Nobe Young Falls. Trail of 100 Giants is just down the road. We enjoyed our weekend there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meadview, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

John and Alvie, owners of the Mountain Top Bed and Breakfast were our hosts this summer for a vacation that included our family staying in their Bed and Breakfast for a weekend while we rented their adjacent cabin for six weeks. We also brought our horses and enjoyed trail riding among Giant Sequoias and into the Golden Trout Wilderness as well as locally in Ponderosa. It must be said that condensing all of the fun and excitement of our vacation into a short review is a daunting task. The Ponderosa area has great mountain scenery, the Mountain Top Bed and Breakfast (and Rental Cabin) are comfortable, homey and nicely decorated. But
the most important ingredient in our great vacation was John and Alvie. They are gracious hosts that make their guests feel at home for either an overnight stay in the Bed and Breakfast or a multi-week vacation in the Rental Cabin. Their knowledge of the Ponderosa area was most appreciated. They directed us to little used trails and meadows that were a delight to explore either by hiking or on horseback as well as the more well know attractions such as Giant Sequoia groves and local streams for fishing. And of course there are Alvie’s (with lots of help from John) wonderful breakfasts. We are already thinking about next year. Thank you John and Alvie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days there for our 10 year anniversary and we absolutely loved it. We loved the place and the couple (Alvie and John) that owns it. Our car broke down on our way there and they immediately offered to lend us their jeep which we were using for a couple of days. Now who would do that?
Alvie not only makes the best 3-course five-star breakfasts but she also gives you great directions to all the need-to-see hiking trails.
Our room was the one overlooking the spa and we loved it. It was quiet and private.
Cannot say one bad thing about this place. We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I'll be honest: I almost gave Mountain Top 'just' four stars. Why? When we booked, we were offered two rooms: one with a bigger bed, or one with a smaller bed but with a view. We chose the latter, but were given the former. It turns out the room without the view doesn't have a window (or rather it does, but only an internal one that over looks the hot tub - which can be used by other guests). This meant it was both dark and not ever so private.

However: the hospitality of the owners, their knowledge of the area, the hot tub, the wine in the evening and the breakfasts (oh, the breakfasts!) made up for the room. It really did. I can honestly say the two breakfasts we had here were the best of our two weeks in California.

Additionally, the location is really interesting. It's not in Sequoia National Park, so it's a lot quieter. There's still plenty to see and do, and we often felt like we were on our own. We stayed for several hours on Dome Rock enjoying the sunset, for example, and didn't see anyone else all the time we were there (incidentally, you should go here - it's like being on top of the world).

All in all, it felt like a place which you could really explore - a lot more 'untouched' than the main tourist places in Sequoia National Park or Yosemite.

It's worth noting the village it's in is very small, and only has one restaurant-cum-cafe that's not open late. On the day we arrived, it had already closed. Luckily, I had spoken to Mountain Top on the day and they'd warned us - so we picked up some sandwiches in the previous town.

If you want to stay in the area, there's not much choice unless you camp. So we were grateful that Mountain Top was so homely and friendly. But if I went again, I'd make sure I got the other room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Mountain Top bed and breakfast for a night, and it was nothing short of wonderful. Very cozy and nice house, peaceful nature, and warmhearted people. I suggest you to stay here at least for a night and enjoy every moment.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

As far as th trip to get there, don't go through LA; use the 395 and go up through Kernville. As far as the Mountaintop Bed & Breakfast, the place is fabulous! We were never made to feel for one moment that John and Alvie were running a business. They were warm and friendly; they put us at ease from the start. They were very helpful when we asked questions about the best way to do our activities. Our room was comfy-cosy. Just a really great place!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Loved this place! We spent the weekend riding our motorcycles in the area and after a long day in the sun we arrived for complementary wine and appetizers and collapsed in their hot tub for a relaxing night. The owners are a kick. Very friendly. The most incredible breakfast ever at a B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast

Address: 56816 Aspen Dr, Springville, CA 93265
Location: United States > California > Springville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Springville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.