We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and homely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
56816 Aspen Dr, Springville, CA 93265   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Springville B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful and homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I'll be honest: I almost gave Mountain Top 'just' four stars. Why? When we booked, we were offered two rooms: one with a bigger bed, or one with a smaller bed but with a view. We chose the latter, but were given the former. It turns out the room without the view doesn't have a window (or rather it does, but only an internal one that over looks the hot tub - which can be used by other guests). This meant it was both dark and not ever so private.

However: the hospitality of the owners, their knowledge of the area, the hot tub, the wine in the evening and the breakfasts (oh, the breakfasts!) made up for the room. It really did. I can honestly say the two breakfasts we had here were the best of our two weeks in California.

Additionally, the location is really interesting. It's not in Sequoia National Park, so it's a lot quieter. There's still plenty to see and do, and we often felt like we were on our own. We stayed for several hours on Dome Rock enjoying the sunset, for example, and didn't see anyone else all the time we were there (incidentally, you should go here - it's like being on top of the world).

All in all, it felt like a place which you could really explore - a lot more 'untouched' than the main tourist places in Sequoia National Park or Yosemite.

It's worth noting the village it's in is very small, and only has one restaurant-cum-cafe that's not open late. On the day we arrived, it had already closed. Luckily, I had spoken to Mountain Top on the day and they'd warned us - so we picked up some sandwiches in the previous town.

If you want to stay in the area, there's not much choice unless you camp. So we were grateful that Mountain Top was so homely and friendly. But if I went again, I'd make sure I got the other room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Mountain Top bed and breakfast for a night, and it was nothing short of wonderful. Very cozy and nice house, peaceful nature, and warmhearted people. I suggest you to stay here at least for a night and enjoy every moment.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

As far as th trip to get there, don't go through LA; use the 395 and go up through Kernville. As far as the Mountaintop Bed & Breakfast, the place is fabulous! We were never made to feel for one moment that John and Alvie were running a business. They were warm and friendly; they put us at ease from the start. They were very helpful when we asked questions about the best way to do our activities. Our room was comfy-cosy. Just a really great place!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Loved this place! We spent the weekend riding our motorcycles in the area and after a long day in the sun we arrived for complementary wine and appetizers and collapsed in their hot tub for a relaxing night. The owners are a kick. Very friendly. The most incredible breakfast ever at a B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawndale, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Accommodations – for Bad and Breakfast – 5 stars
Hospitality – by Alive and John – 5 stars with a big plus
Location - PRICELESS

We were looking for a two days weekend getaway from LA and pinpointed this place on the Google map. We were expecting just a bed and breakfast. O boy we were wrong. Alvie and John were waiting for our late arrival Friday evening with a big smile and a heartwarming greeting. We were pampered like royalty. The mountain house, spa, and our bedroom was outstanding and really cute.
In the morning Alvie prepared one of these breakfasts you can get only at home; and we felt like at home. After the breakfast she pointed the “must see” places in the area and provided her hand drawn maps.
The following morning was the same outstanding breakfast in the cozy dining area and friendly conversation with Alvie and John. You can’t ask for more.
Our weekend was great and we can recommend you try it yourself at this place, you won’t be sorry. Cheers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Two weeks ago, we stayed here for 1 night. What a hospitability! They give you a very warm welcome, although they give you your privacy as well! It was great to talk to Alvie and John, to enjoy this beautiful, cosy and romantic location and to relax in the jacuzzi. They will prepare you a breakfast taking into account what you like and what you don't! The road driving to the B&B makes it even more worth to go and stay there! Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very hospitable & friendly hosts. Location is remote and on top of a mountain and this needs to be taken account of depending on what you are doing ie Touring/dining. We only stayed a night but it was great fun. Beautiful location, quiet. The jacuzzi was fun and most welcome after a long drive.
Excellent breakfast. Recommend the nearby one & only local Lodge for meal/drinks, great experience, tasty food and beer drunk out of a jam-jar (a novelty for this Brit!), just great!

Room Tip: Only two rooms so not a major issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springville
22.2 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
24.6 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#2 of 4 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
24.6 mi away
Pine Cone Inn
Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 6 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast

Address: 56816 Aspen Dr, Springville, CA 93265
Location: United States > California > Springville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Springville
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.