We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast
56816 Aspen Dr, Springville, CA 93265   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Springville B&B and Inns
Lawndale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Accommodations – for Bad and Breakfast – 5 stars
Hospitality – by Alive and John – 5 stars with a big plus
Location - PRICELESS

We were looking for a two days weekend getaway from LA and pinpointed this place on the Google map. We were expecting just a bed and breakfast. O boy we were wrong. Alvie and John were waiting for our late arrival Friday evening with a big smile and a heartwarming greeting. We were pampered like royalty. The mountain house, spa, and our bedroom was outstanding and really cute.
In the morning Alvie prepared one of these breakfasts you can get only at home; and we felt like at home. After the breakfast she pointed the “must see” places in the area and provided her hand drawn maps.
The following morning was the same outstanding breakfast in the cozy dining area and friendly conversation with Alvie and John. You can’t ask for more.
Our weekend was great and we can recommend you try it yourself at this place, you won’t be sorry. Cheers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Two weeks ago, we stayed here for 1 night. What a hospitability! They give you a very warm welcome, although they give you your privacy as well! It was great to talk to Alvie and John, to enjoy this beautiful, cosy and romantic location and to relax in the jacuzzi. They will prepare you a breakfast taking into account what you like and what you don't! The road driving to the B&B makes it even more worth to go and stay there! Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very hospitable & friendly hosts. Location is remote and on top of a mountain and this needs to be taken account of depending on what you are doing ie Touring/dining. We only stayed a night but it was great fun. Beautiful location, quiet. The jacuzzi was fun and most welcome after a long drive.
Excellent breakfast. Recommend the nearby one & only local Lodge for meal/drinks, great experience, tasty food and beer drunk out of a jam-jar (a novelty for this Brit!), just great!

Room Tip: Only two rooms so not a major issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place is incredible. VERY homey, very cute, very clean, and very comfortable! The house is decorated in a very home-like way. It's warming.
The hosts, John and Alvie, and very friendly and helpful. They drew us maps and guided us to all the main attractions around the beautiful forest. They're great people with many stories to tell.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review.
John and Alvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

First, a technical point: Mountain Top is not really in Springville. That's their mailing address. They're in Ponderosa, in the Sequoia National Monument (and national forest), not Sequoia National Park, which, as far as we were concerned, turned out all for the better, as the national park gets crowded during the summer, while the monument was delightfully peaceful and relaxing.
John and Alvie are delightful hosts and will, if given the chance, spoil you something awful. Wine, cheese, and other delectable treats, fresh-baked cookies, and then, there's breakfast, which is a gourmet delight. We couldn't finish all of Alvie's Aebleskivers at breakfast, but even cold, they made a tasty treat with lunch. The Ahwahnee creamed bananas were nothing short of fantastic, and the phyllo eggs benedict-style, were superb.
Our hosts offered excellent suggestions for hikes and explorations, and as a result, we found ourselves standing behind the stunning Nobe Young Falls, and gazing off Dome Rock. Breathtaking!
The accommodations are comfortable, the food is delicious, and the area is rugged and beautiful. But beyond all of that, it's the people who make the big difference. John and Alvie make Mountain Top B&B the great place it is for us travelers. They're deeply involved in their community (to the point where it sometimes takes its toll on the couple), and they are friendly, courteous, kind, filled with excellent advice, and accommodating. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you don't want breakfast and all the B&B amenities, Mountain Top offers a "cabin&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review.
John and Alvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Mountain top was the perfect place for us to get away in the mountains for a weekend. Alvie and John were great hosts and the room and lodge were very comfortable. The only downside is that the nearby restaurant where we ate dinner wasnt very good (the soup made my boyfriend sick) and there aren't many dinner options at all... But I guess that's what you'd expect at the top of a mountain. And plus Alvie and John more than made up for it with the delicious breakfast. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review.
John and Alvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed with John and Alvie for a total of four nights over two weekends on a tour of the lower Sierra Nevada range. They are excellent hosts and the cabin is well situated to explore and enjoy the mountain ridge that overlooks the upper Kern River from the west. Breakfasts are phenomenal if you like rich and hearty starts to your day, which I do! And it was very pleasant socializing with Alvie over wine for the 4pm Wine and Cheese event that she organizes most days. John and Alvie are pillars of the Upper Tule community and are veritable founts of information on the area. They never steered me wrong in looking for trails or resources in that area.
The only caution I would provide to fellow travelers is one that John and Alvie might provide themselves: It is a long and winding (*understatement*) road up from the lowlands to their mountain abode, so be warned that additional trips up and down the mountain should not be undertaken lightly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast

Address: 56816 Aspen Dr, Springville, CA 93265
Location: United States > California > Springville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Springville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list