We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast
56816 Aspen Dr, Springville, CA 93265   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Springville B&B and Inns
1 review
“Perfect place for a weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Mountain top was the perfect place for us to get away in the mountains for a weekend. Alvie and John were great hosts and the room and lodge were very comfortable. The only downside is that the nearby restaurant where we ate dinner wasnt very good (the soup made my boyfriend sick) and there aren't many dinner options at all... But I guess that's what you'd expect at the top of a mountain. And plus Alvie and John more than made up for it with the delicious breakfast. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review.
John and Alvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed with John and Alvie for a total of four nights over two weekends on a tour of the lower Sierra Nevada range. They are excellent hosts and the cabin is well situated to explore and enjoy the mountain ridge that overlooks the upper Kern River from the west. Breakfasts are phenomenal if you like rich and hearty starts to your day, which I do! And it was very pleasant socializing with Alvie over wine for the 4pm Wine and Cheese event that she organizes most days. John and Alvie are pillars of the Upper Tule community and are veritable founts of information on the area. They never steered me wrong in looking for trails or resources in that area.
The only caution I would provide to fellow travelers is one that John and Alvie might provide themselves: It is a long and winding (*understatement*) road up from the lowlands to their mountain abode, so be warned that additional trips up and down the mountain should not be undertaken lightly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

It is indeed a little oasis far up in the mountains in the Ponderosa community and big kudos to Alvie and John and the other people up there who keep this great place as charming as it is (and that includes the Brewer family who runs the local general store and restaurant!!!). we were welcomed very warmly with great wine&cheese, followed by an awesome breakfast menue which helped through the day which was well structured and consulted by Alvie and John on what to do, to see and where best to go depending on interests. We saw so many Sequoia giants and had great hikes and enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed even longer than planned.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review.
John and Alvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent New Years Eve and New Years Day 2010/2011. This place was exactly what I was looking for. A cozy cabin tucked away in the mountains!

Alvie and John are your hosts and do an excellent job of welcoming you. During your stay Alvie cooks up a delicious breakfast and around 4 pm, they set up a cheese plate with some tasty wine! The room was excellent. Just the right size with a big comfy bed and flannel sheets. A nice warm fire place and a big tv to watch movies on. Plenty of hot water too! There is also a spa in the back room with windows all around to look out at the surrounding forest. Unfortunately it had short circuited right before we got there due to the snowy conditions.

There was about 4 feet of snow if not more around and a few inches on the ground which made it a winter wonderland. There a couple pairs of snow shoes and snow mobiles that they offer for use. We did a little bit of hiking and got to explore the snow. It was beautiful. The hike must be spectacular out here in the summer, might just have to come back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review.
John and Alvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Located in Ponderosa (pop. 28), which is surrounded by the Sequoia National Forest, Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast is the ideal place to relax after a day or a week in the outdoors.

This b&b is a true mom & pop operation. The friendly hosts, Alvie and John Kracik, live on the second floor. On the ground floor there are two well-appointed guest bedrooms (there's also a two-level apartment with its own kitchen, called the "Mountain Pine Cabin"), a comfortable living room with a high beamed ceiling, a spa room with an 8'x8' jetted tub, and outdoor seating on the deck—all available for guest use.

The hospitable Kraciks welcome guests with a bottle of wine and appetizers and are happy to provide information on local attractions and activities. Their delicious breakfasts are beautifully presented and will keep you going the whole day (we had the opportunity to test their lasting power on a 7-hour hike). Home-baked pastries, fresh fruit with unusual dressings, eggs in phyllo dough on a bed of fresh spinach leaves, and stuffed French toast and berries were some (but not all) of the delights we were served at our two breakfasts.

Having come here after several days of camping and hiking in Kings Canyon National Park, we were looking for comfort but found so much more. Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast is truly pampering. Thick bathrobes are available in every guest room for a visit to the spa room, and I particularly enjoyed having the whirlpool all to myself early in the morning.

Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast offers a thoroughly rejuvenating stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review.
John and Alvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast

Address: 56816 Aspen Dr, Springville, CA 93265
Location: United States > California > Springville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Springville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mountain Top Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list