We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buon Gusto Ristorante

Buon Gusto Ristorante
224 Grand Ave., South San Francisco, CA 94080
6507429777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Buon Gusto Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Airport Blvd
Transit: CalTrain South San Francisco Station is located at 590 Dubuque Ave and Grand Ave, and is .26 miles aka walking distance. The South San Francisco BART station is 2.3 miles from the restaurant.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Order the special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were a boisterous party of 6 and were nicely greeted by the host (owner?), an older gentleman who flirted with the ladies and explained the specials. We ordered drinks, wine, appetizers and everyone fell in love with the sound of the special pasta of the evening... a homemade linguine with mushrooms and garlic. We knew when we made the right choice when our host said we'd ordered the best dish. So... service was good, wine flowed, the atmosphere was convivial... pleasant decor and tableware... nothing special, but nice.

When the appetizers arrived, we were disappointed to discover that the caprese was just ordinary mozzarella and pale, cold, tasteless tomatoes (California tomatoes at the end of the summer should be vibrantly flavored and bright red, right?) A seafood and anchovy appetizer was better. When the salads came, they were the typical small-town Italian restaurant fare of ordinary pale lettuce, bland vinaigrette, and those sad bland tomatoes again. Sad.

But.... THE SPECIAL! Five of us were ecstatic with huge plates of lovely tender pasta and a wonderfully flavorful mushroom topping. We added grated cheese and many of us slurped down the whole plate (it was a lot of pasta!). An amazing treat after typical appetizers. (One of us had lasagna and she said it was ok... nothing to write home about.)

More wine after dinner... and we received complimentary after-dinner cordials. Service remained consistently good and we had a great time. I would eat there again, but would focus more on the daily specials... and skip the refrigerator-tomatoes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    42
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So Welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a couple of really nice entrees; very affordable, very pleasant. They even provide a surprise after dinner drink for free!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bon Apettito!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a chance to have dinner with my high school batchmates in Buon Gusto end of August, 2013. When you first enter the restaurant, you get this "comfy" feeling. It's a typical Italian resto with soft lights, green table cloths and wooden tables and chairs.
It took a while for someone to approach us and give us a table because it was a full house.
The server we had was very nice and very patient in explaining some dishes on the menu. Customers in the resto were so friendly they would say hello and smile.
Very good pasta and wine. I recommend this place if you are looking for good Italian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELAVIV Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ITALIAN GOURMET FOOD - A DELIGHT TO THE PALATE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Italian grown tourists are generally a bit "snub" to advertized "italian restaurant" abroad from of Italy, and are sort of sceptical in respect of the displayed menus at their thresholds.
We were sent to the BUON GUSTO restaurant by our Hotel manager who was quite insistent about its quality. The name "Buon Gusto" in Italian means "Good taste" as is absolutely deserved by the place, what is not expected from this modest looking location, in "Downtown" South San Francisco is the AMAZING atmosphere in the dining room, the real Italian care
given to guest by the owner Mr VINCENZO in his charming.and outstanding friendliness.
His help to those who were not familiar with the Italian food names,in choosimg their meals was as delicious as the latters. BRAVO BRAVO Vincenzo and his whole staff of Camerieri.
Real Maestri !!!
Moscato Roberto and Aliza

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If there was a score higher than 5...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant was recommended to us by the Comfort Inn hotel near the airport and it was an absolute delight. Friendly, local atmosphere with simply outstanding food and service. We did not want to leave. They catered to a gluten free request and made us feel like old friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon Gusto Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Buon Gusto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buon Gusto Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.