We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location for flights in and out of SFO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 East Grand Avenue, South San Francisco, CA 94080-4812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful location for flights in and out of SFO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We arrived late at night and were heading out the next morning for a journey down the coast. This was a perfect stop for a good night's rest, a quick breakfast and access to the freeways. The rooms were not large but were very clean with the exception of the carpet. The beds and pillows were amazing and the bathroom was nice and large enough for 2 people to be getting ready at the same time. It was great to have a small refrigerator since we had purchased cold drinks for the road. We were impressed with the professionalism and courtesy of the desk staff. Personally I was taken aback by the rudeness of an "entitled" guest or two who expected special treatment at midnight :( but the young woman at the desk was calm and respectful just the same. We had a car so getting to/from the airport was not an issue but the hotel indicates that there is a complimentary shuttle. The ONLY downside of the location is that it is in an industrial area and there is no food to be found! We wished we had grabbed something at the airport...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We are glad the comfort of our bedding had helped you rest well and energized for you next trip. Thank you for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    128
    83
    33
    38
See reviews for
88
73
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were wonderful and clean. The pillows and bedding were soooo soft I almost asked to take them home. The front desk was very friendly. The only negative for our family was not having a car. This hotel is not at a walking distance to anything and taxi is expensive!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We would like to thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities were to your standards. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit San Francisco,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our King Bed room with microwave and mini-fridge was sufficient to our needs. Very good breakfast, waffles, scrambled eggs, pork sausages plus cereal, oatmeal, toast, muffins, and fruit. Close to the airport, yes planes fly overhead and close to the CalTrain, yes, you can hear the trains passing by, quick way into the city. Oh, and if they're still doing construction on the streets it's during the night, you can hear that too. We were very satisfied with the staff and housekeeping. Stayed for six nights and ran ourselves ragged so when we got back to the room we were too dead tired to hear anything. They do charge $6.50 a night for parking. Overall it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your nice compliments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about Comfort Suites SFO-North. We always enjoy hearing positive feedback which provides even greater motivation to us to maintain our highest standards of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Staff was great! Edmond at the front desk was the perfect host. We didnt have a reservation, but drove in when we found out family got their connecting flight home cancelled. And clean rooms!!! I cant say enough about clean rooms when I find them! No old musty smells or heavy cleaning chemical odors- just clean! Freshly painted and soft comfy beds. Mini fridge and microwave are a great addition for late night snacks and early coffee is great too! Breakfast was fresh & tasty- Scram eggs, sausage & waffles as well as cold items. If you are looking for a great dinner, go around the corner to Houlihans on S Airport Blvd at the Holiday Inn. Extraordinary food! 5 people, with drinks, $110. And exquisite service! We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are outside facing doors- no inner hallway. No pool but if you plan on using the spa, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
I am extremely happy to hear that Edmond was very helpful and instrumental in making your stay with us pleasant. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I normally would have probably not stayed here but did so as a courtesy of family members we were traveling with. They selected it because of the price (low) compared to Downtown SF. It is very convenient to SFO and with normal traffic it's about 30 minutes to downtown. Not bad for a major city however. It is next to a CalTrain stop. While it did not bother me, light sleepers could be bothered by the thin walls. The cheap price seemed to attract people who like to get wild, yell and slam doors. We could also over hear what appeared to be regular conversations next door. On the positive side the breakfast was very good with hot and cold options including make your own waffles. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Comfort Suites SFO-North and we appreciate your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and our service was to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
504 reviews 504 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We ended up in this hotel after we missed our connection due to airline issues. The hotel was neatly laid out in a pleasant style. The people at the desk were very helpful. At this point we had reached the limits of our endurance so it was great to have such a pleasant staff. Our room was non-smoking with a king sized bed and an additional seating area that pulled out to a bed if needed. We overlooked the inner courtyard, the hot tub and the mountains.The hotel was quiet and the free shuttle service from the airport was a nice feature. Breakfast in the morning started early and was one of the most complete in a stop over hotel I had seen. There were scrambled and hard boiled eggs, yogurt, waffles, cereal,bacon,coffee, fruit etc. something for everyone. You could eat in the spacious lobby area or take your meal outside where there were tables in neat arrangement. The grounds and common areas and our room were clean and well maintained. The shuttle arrived on schedule to drop us back at the airport. A great place to stay if you end up out in the cold, like we did, due to airline issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Our priority is to ensure the comfort of all of our guests here at Comfort Suites SFO-North by providing great service and a variety of breakfast items to choose from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stopped over before an international trip from SFO because of the hotels free shuttle. We had a very good stay. In fact I am wondering if the other people were in a different hotel, or whether some rooms have been upgraded and others not? Anyway, our experience was the opposite. Our room was really comfortable and clean. Once we were inside, you couldn't hear the traffic noise. We specifically asked if we could have a quiet room, so maybe that contributed to our good experience. Ours was on a wing away from the freeway on an upper floor. Quality furnishings included big screen tv, granite counters, microwave, wardrobe closet, tv, comfortable mattress with duvets. The building appeared to be in good repair and had pretty flowers in the courtyard. The front desk people were very friendly, even gracious and welcoming, efficient, and very helpful when we had questions or needed advice. One guy even walked outside to show us exactly where to walk to get across the freeway and into the cute historic downtown for lunch and other shopping. The breakfast was good for a free one. I especially appreciated the waffles, but wished there was cream cheese and strawberry sauce for them. We felt really cared for and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are very happy to hear that the location of our hotel suited your needs. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed the variety of amenities that our hotel offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North

Address: 121 East Grand Avenue, South San Francisco, CA 94080-4812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North for your next business trip, family vacation or romantic retreat to South San Francisco.At our hotel near San Francisco Airport, enjoy our peaceful deluxe rooms, an array of modern services and features, friendly hospitality and value-added packages for the ultimate Bay Area escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North Hotel South San Francisco
Comfort Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport North
Comfort Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Comfort Inn
Comfort Suites South San Francisco
South San Francisco Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.