We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 East Grand Avenue, South San Francisco, CA 94080-4812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After a long flight from Europe and needing a restful evening before continuing our trip, this Comfort Inn fell short of its write-up and rating. Their claim of having restaurants nearby was exaggerated as, after walking for twenty minutes, we found ourselves lost and under some dimly lighted bridge. And after a tiring walk back to the hotel the only option left for dinner was a pizza delivery service. Old paint was spilled in and around the elevator entrance and while the rooms looked clean, no one would dare go bare footed on the carpet because of the way it felt. If you stay here make sure you have your own car.

Room Tip: Personally, next time I’m in the area I plan on staying at the La Quinta hotel. Their closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I deeply regret that you did not have a positive experience with us at Comfort Inn & Suites SFO North. Unfortunately, all the restaurants around us are about 10 minutes walking on the other side of the freeway and we provide written directions. We always welcome any suggestions and feedback our guests provide since we are always looking for ways to improve our service. Thank you for posting this review and look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    128
    85
    33
    38
See reviews for
88
73
26
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a great location for easy access to many attractions and points of interest in the Bay Area. Only a few miles from City College of San Francisco where we watched the Butte College Roadrunners defeat the Rams of City College in a very exciting football game.
The Comfort Inn is conveniently located near the 101 South Freeway, yet we were not at all disturb by noise. Our room was clean and well-furnished, the free wi-fi was fast and efficient, definetly a plus. They do charge for parking, but only $6.00, which is a bargain for near-airport parking.
Must give MANY compliments to the staff who were very friendly, helpful and courteous. There were many athletic events going on nearby and many fans staying at the hotel and the staff was graciously giving directions to all. Very impressive staff!
Choice Hotels offers one of the best breakfasts and this property was no exception. Hot eggs and sausages as well as those delicious waffles. Very good coffee, too. The breakfast room was spacious enough that it didn't feel crowded, even when full. The courtyard patio was very well-kept and a nice choice for outdoor breakfast dining.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard and pool appear quieter, nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Wow! Thank you for all of your great compliments. I am sure the staff will love to hear all the great things you had to say, I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Comfort Inn & Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back when your are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Large rooms w/2 king beds, great location, clean and the morning breakfast fresh and way better than expected. Nice court yard area with tables to sit and enjoy the evening or to enjoy your breakfast! Not to mention the price was excellent for the value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We appreciate your nice comments and we are always happy to hear a positive feedback and looking forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Let's be honest - I booked this hotel to use a reward night, and because of the low daily rate the rest of my stay. It seemed perfectly located: close to the airport and a few minutes walk to the Caltrain station. The rooms have been recently updated and are comfortable, and the breakfast buffet was sizeable and well attended to. That's where the good stuff ends.

The staff were friendly, but not very helpful. The first night I went to the desk to ask for an additional towel. I was told "Someone will be right up." ?? Usually the desk clerk goes to a back room and returns with one. An hour later, nobody had been right up; I returned to the front desk, at which point a different clerk went to a back room and brought me a towel.

The staff didn't seem to communicate with each other from shift to shift. Case in point: midway through the stay, we stopped to get change for the guest laundry, and were told it was broken. The next morning when we asked if the washing machine was scheduled to be fixed, the morning desk clerk seemed unaware a problem had been reported. (Incidentally, 2 nights later the machine was still broken). The WiFi was down for a full day, more of an inconvenience for us than a critical fail. But no one on site seemed to have a clue how to fix it or have it fixed. There was definitely an "Oh well" attitude in the air.

When I return to San Francisco, I'll likely look for a different hotel, if not a different chain entirely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am deeply concerned to hear that the service our staff provided did not meet with your expectations. We are constantly looking to improve our procedures. I will be sharing your concerns with the rest of the staff to make improvements to our service. We found out the issue with the internet and we have implemented the solution, so it is working much better.
I hope this unfavorable experience will not deter you from giving Comfort Inn & Suites South
San Francisco a second chance at imparting a great impression and winning your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon,CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was in town for the dental convention in the month of October 2012. The hotel room was clean, the pillows and bed were very comfortable. There was not a vacant room in sight as there were a lot of things going on in San Francisco that weekend. With that being said, the hotel staff were very courteous and the hotel was pretty quiet. The complimentary breakfast was great and the on-site parking was safe, well lit and reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area. I liked the location of the hotel as it was right next to the freeway and a couple fast food restaurants. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am glad to hear that our location and our amenities have suited your needs and made your stay in San Francisco enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Where to begin... I flew into San Fransisco International Airport for work. I picked up my rental car and drove straight to the hotel. The staff was friendly, but slow. It took almost 20 minutes to get checked in, then they made me pay additional money so that I may park in their parking lot. I then drove my rental car around to the other side of the hotel to go to my room, when I saw a homeless man carrying a bag up the hill to a bridge directly behind the hotel. I then walked to my room, which had a terrible musty odor. I had to turn on the ceiling mounted exhaust fan in the restroom to help clear out the smell. I left the hotel for a while and returned later that evening, planning to use their wi-fi internet to do some work and get caught up on e-mails. Needless to say, the wi-fi signal was very weak and I kept losing connection. Fortunately, I travel with a hot-spot!

Pro's: Close to the airport; clean room (excluding smell); good hot breakfast including scrambled eggs, sausage links, cerael, toast, muffins, coffee, juices, milk, fruit, etc.; public jacuzzi.

Con's: Terrible road infrastructure around hotel - hard to get onto the interstate from hotel location; no swimming pool; stinky room; poor wi-fi connection; public jacuzzi is outdoors; no local attractions within walking distance; etc...

If and when I return to the San Fransisco, CA area, I do not plan to stay at this hotel, as there are many other options in nearby areas that appear much newer and nicer.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are the only ones with a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
At Comfort Inn & Suites, we have worked hard to ensure that all of our breakfast items are fresh and satisfy guests' needs. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our different amenities. I do apologize for the week signal of our internet; we are working on fixing this issue as it is a concern for us. We would like for you to give us another chance to show our exciting new look after we are done with our renovation, including an upgraded internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for only one night of a planned two-night stay, because their internet service was very poor to non-existent. I had called the technical support line twice, at 1:30 AM and 7:30 AM, and they were unable to restore my service.
The room was comfortable, with a queen bed and a sofa, flat-screen TV, microwave and fridge. I do not like the new, small-sized pillows that Quality Inns have started to use...I find them uncomfortable. Other than that, the bed was OK. The entire feel of the building was a little tired, but potentially could be very nice with a little renovation in paint, small repairs, etc.
The breakfast variety was quite good, with eggs and sausage in addition to the usual waffles, fruit, cereals, etc.
There was also a nightly parking charge of $6.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
The majority of our guests enjoy the complimentary High Speed Internet service we provide to be an incredible convenience during their stay with us. I am deeply apologetic for the week or the non-existent signal you endured during your stay with us. We have lost signal in the whole hotel overnight; unfortunately, tech support was not able to get it back on before you checked-out. But we are working on fixing the issue so it will not happen again.
I hope that the lack of this service did not greatly impair your enjoyment of your stay. And we would greatly appreciate a second chance to impress you with the many wonderful amenities and excellent service we provide, including an upgraded High Speed Internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North

Address: 121 East Grand Avenue, South San Francisco, CA 94080-4812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North for your next business trip, family vacation or romantic retreat to South San Francisco.At our hotel near San Francisco Airport, enjoy our peaceful deluxe rooms, an array of modern services and features, friendly hospitality and value-added packages for the ultimate Bay Area escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North Hotel South San Francisco
Comfort Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Comfort Inn
Comfort Suites South San Francisco
South San Francisco Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.