We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos for CHRIS, THE AFTERNOON-evening shift desk clerk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
South San Francisco, California
1 review
“Kudos for CHRIS, THE AFTERNOON-evening shift desk clerk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My sister and I stayed at your HJ-express on So. airport Blvd, San Fran, CA, for 6 nights. Chris went out of his way to assist us with directions, making sure our room was good, and just being friendly and helpful whenever we had a question, no matter how foolish it seemed. You have a great employee on your staff. Do all you can to keep him, as it give Ho-Jo a good name.

Room Tip: Great staff, from housekeepers to front desk clerks. Great value for your money, and easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    118
    88
    43
    42
See reviews for
109
96
52
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Staff in general were very professional and helpful!! The manger, Anjuli, was amazingly wonderful, helpful and going out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. She even talked the Bus Tour Owner to give us additional discounts, with us even thinking we could have that. I will definitely come back here!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a wonderful stay, we were in San Francisco for my sons birthday. Mike helped us find great sights to see. Mike looked up addresses for us as well and printed directions for us. Mike had a great welcoming smile every time we saw him. The room was great and the hotel was in a great area with lots of parking.

Room Tip: We loved that our beds had lots of pillows, and the refrigerator in the room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were incredibly impressed by the kind and welcoming service that this Howard Johnson provided. The gentleman who booked our room was very warm and helpful. He went the extra mile to find us a great deal on our room, and was more than willing to inform us of how to get around in the area and provide directions (thanks Mike E!). We've been to a few Howard Johnson's already, and we have never been disappointed, but rather always pleasantly surprised. Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Really want to commend the young men working the front desk! Chris especially, as he could not have been more helpful and friendly. Helping guests find parking spots in a full lot at 11pm while taking extra pillows to other guests and trying to answer a constant phone, he is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed 2 nights and the room was fine and in good working order. Breakfast was nice and provided a good start to my day. I would stay here again. Not much else to say about my stay here so nothing else to add.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our stay was made very pleasant by the staff at the Airport Howard Johnson. Anjuli, Mike E and Chris went out of their way to help with multiple family needs and questions. Highly recommended. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco

Address: 222 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and friendly service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Free Breakfast, Free 24-hr Airport Shuttle, In-room coffee, Microwave and Refrigerator available, Hairdryer and Iron available, and Free Newspaper. Great value - visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.