We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience at this South SF Howard Johnson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great experience at this South SF Howard Johnson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This Howard Johnson is super clean, very safe and friendly, and so convenient. My room was very comfortable, I was able to leave my car within sight of the office, and the shuttle to/from the airport runs on a regular easy schedule, very comparable to much more expensive hotels. Anjuli helped me check out; she and everyone in the office were so helpful. This is a great choice for the budget conscious traveler.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    125
    95
    46
    44
See reviews for
113
103
56
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

A recent early AM SFO flight required a park, sleep and fly hotel. We are glad we found this Inn.

From the moment Chris the super friendly helpful staff checked us in, and seeing the ample room, we knew we made a good choice.

Combine with comfortable beds, hot coffee at 4AM, shuttle on time, including fast pick up at airport, then Chris's friendly help on return, this airport lodging is good.

And aprox. 15% -50% cheaper then other park, sleep and fly packages.

Room Tip: There's even a fridge in the room if you have food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Front Desk Agent Anjuli was very helpful and have a very good guest service experience. She treated us very special and welcomed with a Smile!. She explained all the hotel amenities and the room was very nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Very comfortable bed, clean and quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Service here is excellent. The staff working here are very understanding and polite. A young gentleman named Chris working the front desk helped provide one of the nicest experiences I've had with hotels thus far.
As I stayed for an extended period of time, I switched rooms once or twice. Each room was extraordinarily neat and homey. Staying here, I did not feel the rather empty, dreary feeling that hotels seem to provide. I was able to leave my room and go about my day without having to worry that my favorite necklace or ring would go missing upon my return.
As location goes, it is right next to the freeway, but there is no noise whatsoever heard from the thousands of vehicles passing by hourly. A short two minute drive or ten minute walk in either direction unveils gas stations, convenience stores, an IHOP, a Denny's, and much more.
If you've forgotten any common bathroom items such as deodorant or shampoo, the front desk has that for you which came in handy when I decided to get ready for a meeting only to realize I was all out of deodorant. Yikes! Front desk to the rescue. The best thing about this hotel is the privacy. Staying here, I couldn't hear anyone above me or next to me which is very rare for any hotel. The least enjoyable aspect of my visit here would be squeezing into a parking space. There are many available spaces, but their size just isn't big enough to comfortably slide into. From needing deodorant to trusting the staff, I highly recommend staying at the Howard Johnson Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco

Address: 222 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and friendly service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Free Breakfast, Free 24-hr Airport Shuttle, In-room coffee, Microwave and Refrigerator available, Hairdryer and Iron available, and Free Newspaper. Great value - visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.