We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“0315-0317” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    126
    95
    46
    44
See reviews for
113
103
56
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The place is in a very convenient location--6 minutes from the airport. Service was very good, even though I arrived just before midnight. The free breakfast is adequate. The room was clean. I was surprised how quiet it was, being that close to the airport. I definitely got my money's worth. Free parking at a San Francisco hotel is a real savings--and not something included in all hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpursville, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Pros: Convenient to and from airport. Shuttles run every 1/2 hour from hotel and are pretty timely
Great Customer Service. All personnel are friendly, accommodating and professional
Free Continental Breakfast. Bagels, Bread, Cold cereal and Oatmeal, muffins, hard boiled eggs. (would not claim deluxe breakfast as sign states)
Overall rooms clean. Beds comfortable

Cons: Property in need of updates. Bathroom tiles broken. Bath tub faucet leaked constantly
Air conditioner did not work properly. Room stuffy and some odor maybe from previous pet
Breakfast area too small. Seating capacity of 6.
Refrigerator was not cold.

For our needs, hotel was priced for what you receive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I really have no complaints about my stay at this hotel. I mean, sure, it's not the Westin, but we all know that in hotels, you get what you pay for, and in the case of the Howard Johnson, we got more. With convenient, free, and easy shuttles to and from the airport, and a small but extensive continental breakfast, what more could one ask for? The room was clean and the service was excellent. Everyone who manned the front desk, specifically Anjuli, was friendly and helpful. Overall, it was an excellent stay at a hotel with good value.

Room Tip: My only complaint about my stay at the Howard Johnson was that the wake-up call did not work any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I arrived early and needed to store my oversized luggage prior to going into the city for meetings throughout the day - and also needed to store bags after my morning checkout until my evening flight out of SFO. Anjuli at the front desk was more than accommodating. Convenient location with free airport shuttle

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the Howards Johnson as we were flying out early the next morning from San Francisco airport so it made it easier for us. We left our hire car back shortly after we arrived and were able to get the shuttle bus back to the motel. The girl in reception was very helpful and printed out some documents for us that we needed for our flight.
The only thing that annoyed us was that we ordered food from one of the brochures in the room and when it arrived the delivery guy told us he had no change and expected us to give what was left to him as a tip. Because we were tired and he caught us unaware we left him keep it but in hindsight probably shouldn't because he ended up with a very substantial tip and with his attitude he definitely didn't deserve it! And when I looked at the bill we were also overcharged so we were even more angry with giving such a large tip! So be careful if ordering anything!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco

Address: 222 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and friendly service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Free Breakfast, Free 24-hr Airport Shuttle, In-room coffee, Microwave and Refrigerator available, Hairdryer and Iron available, and Free Newspaper. Great value - visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.