We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Airport, too close to Freeway!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Close to Airport, too close to Freeway!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This was the last hotel of our trip, we wanted to be as close as possible to SFA as possible for the plane home. After trying a few that were already full we ended up here. The rooms were normal fair for motels and quite ok, the problem was our room was right next to the freeway. Cars were roaring passed all night making it difficult to sleep, double glassing that back window would be a good idea. Next morning the breakfast room was way to small to enjoy breakfast, after people gave up room for us to sit down we felt pressured to move so others could sit down.
Satnav location: N37 38.908 W122 24.351

By the way, its 1.6 miles from the hotel to the National car depot at SFA, that drive took 5 mins, that at least was very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for posting your experience with us. We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay, unfortunately the noise is an issue for all our hotels in this street, but the trade-off is the location which is very convenient.

Thanks again for taking the time for your comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    117
    87
    43
    42
See reviews for
109
94
52
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Initial dealing with the staff via email did not leave a very good impression. Enquired few weeks earlier, but was still comparing places.
Then 2 days before check in date, contacted the staff again via email, she was quite blatant rude. Price had gone up by then.
Since other places were over our budget for that weekend, decided to stick with this hotel.
Surprisingly, at check in, reception staff was friendly, fast and efficient.
Even the housekeepers were very helpful and friendly when we requested extra blanket and towels.
The beds and furnishing..absolutely a surprise. for the price we paid, it was very worth it. bed was plush and comfy..a bit regal for a room like that actually.

Parking was free which was great.
Breakfast was abundant..the breakfast area was small [in the reception area], so just took the food back to our room..no problem.

The location, since was out of SF city, so our first day was spent exploring the suburb nearby. can't remember the name, but it was great, coz it has so many outlets and well know names next to each other.

very near to airport, would be convenient for those who need to fly off to next destination. we were driving to LA after that, so did not benefit from this.

Room Tip: corner room..more spacious. we chose ground floor coz my aunt and uncle don't want to climb the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are so happy to hear that you had a delightful experience with us. Our staff will always go out of their way to make sure that your stay with us is a memorable one. We’re glad you enjoyed all of our amenities and left a happy guest! Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to SF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The room was large and clean. Very good price and the location is handy to the airport. Only drawback is that it is a bit noisy due to proximity to highway but this was not an issue as we wanted an early start. Basic breakfast - OK -

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We choose this hotel because the closeness to the airport, as we had an early flight the next morning; All and all, it wasn't bad.. The room was very clean and neat, but aged and a bit worn.There was an emply; clean ashtray in he room, but thankfully no cigarette oders.I thought this hiotel WAS non-smoking.... apparently not! , The hotel has outside hallways, so anyone talking outside near your room can be clearly heard; plus it's not too soundproof, so the strreet noise can be bothersom..( use earplugs.; it will help!) There was a group talking rather loudly outside our room , and once I told them to shut up, they did..(Couldn't call the office because of ....another problem... the in room phone DID NOT work

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We strive to provide clean and neat rooms for each guest, we’re glad you got to experience that. As for the phone in the room not working, we will definitely look into that, and thank you making us aware of it.

We would love to see you again on your next trip to sunny San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A very handy situation for all the sights in San Francisco as it was only a short ride on the BART. The room was clean and tidy and the breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alondra_vazquez, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am very glad to hear that you enjoy our location and rooms. We hope to see you the next time you visit South San Francisco! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We recently stayed on Howard Johnson So. San Fransisco for our son's wedding, great location, very close to the airport. From beginning to the end of our stay, all of the staff members were very nice and friendly, nice breakfast, all rooms were well equipped, except for the iron board, but not a big deal. it was well worth the price. I would highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alondra_vazquez, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am very glad to hear that you enjoy our location, rooms and service; we always try to go an extra mile for our guests. All our rooms are equipped with Irons and Ironing boards, my apologies if your room was missing one. We encourage all our guest to bring to our attention any problem they may encounter, this way we can solve the situation. We hope to see you the next time you visit South San Francisco! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The room was outdated,We had to wear flip flops in the shower (the tiles were broken around tub,extra set of holes where taps use to be for bath and shower VERY OLD AND WORN PLus LINO IN BATHROOM NOT GOOD!!!!)Needs new BATHROOM.Found it very noisy-Probably the worst hotel we have ever stayed in

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alondra_vazquez, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review online. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

Please know that all our rooms were renovated about a year ago however the renovations did not included the vanity area. This year we are actually in the process of renovating all our bathrooms. It is a long process but I am sure that the room will be at your standards next time you visit South San Francisco.

Please feel free to contact us directly if you have any remaining questions or concerns. Again I apologize for the inconvenience and hope to see you next time you visit South San Francisco. – Alondra Vazquez - Guest services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco

Address: 222 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and friendly service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Free Breakfast, Free 24-hr Airport Shuttle, In-room coffee, Microwave and Refrigerator available, Hairdryer and Iron available, and Free Newspaper. Great value - visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;