We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$20 pet fee, $5 parking” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Focus SFO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Focus SFO to your Saves list
Hotel Focus SFO
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   111 Mitchell Avenue, US 101 / Bayshore Freeway at South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Francisco Airport (North))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Grass Valley
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“$20 pet fee, $5 parking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This about average for an inexpensive hotel and would have received 2 stars but with a $20 pet fee and $5 for parking, that did it for me. Don't trust hotel booking sites that advertise "no pet fee" or "free" parking. $70 room was $100 out the door.

Stayed here Xmas Eve. Several rooms partied until early in the morning. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    15
    14
    13
See reviews for
20
17
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you're getting the shuttle from the Airport it's a little confusing, as the shuttle that arrives says that it's for North hotel airports and when we asked the driver of it took us to hotel focus South he said it didn't when in actual fact it did.

The hotel itself is pretty basic but for $60 a night, we weren't expecting anything fancy.
The room was very basic however there was a hole in the bathroom door and a hole underneath the shower head.
There was also a big chunk of food on the floor which wasn't the most welcoming site.
On the upside the bed was pretty comfortable, although we could hear the people upstairs moving around.

The wi-fi was awful, it said we had signal and then just wouldn't load anything and we were constantly getting kicked off. They could probably do with a wi-fi signal booster.

The breakfast was basic. Cereals, cereal bars, bagels and bananas with different juice drinks. The room got extremely crowded around 8am and there weren't enough seats for people to sit down and eat.

Overall the hotel is fine for a one night stay, anything more and I would probably go for something a little nicer. The hotel was also undergoing renovation so who knows, it may improve a lot when it's finished.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia G, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valuable Guest:

I wanted to thank you for your time in writing your review, after reading your comments, The WIFI was awful, it said you had signal and then just wouldn't load anything and you were constantly getting kicked off. They could probably do with a WIFI signal booster.
Our property is currently undergoing some changes for better services and upgrades that will be beneficial to the comfort of our guest’s. Thank you again for staying with us! Sincerely, Focus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We unexpectedly had to stay in San Fran on an international trip, and booked Hotel Focus SFO based on the affordability and distance to SFO. We were really grateful for the free hotel shuttle that came pretty promptly. The elevator is rather small and old. The rooms are pretty standard, you get what you pay for. Decent Wi-Fi in the room. The breakfast included what looked like costco pastries, some oatmeal packets, paper plates/bowls, and some coffee. If we were ever stuck in SFO again for a few hours, I'd probably book again, but it's not a place to vacation at all.

Room Tip: manageable for long layovers at SFO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia G, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest: We are glad to hear that you were grateful for the free hotel shuttle that came pretty promptly and decent Wi-Fi in the room. I wanted to thank you for all your feedback and positive comments. If you are around the area again please keep us in mind. “Focusing and improving everyday" Thank you again for staying with us! Sincerely, Focus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place has every door to the place unlocked so anyone can stay at this hotel, paying or not. Plus it smelled really really bad. Rooms are ok if you can get over the smell. Basically it is a motel 6 hotel that has been painted. This is no way a two star hotel, maybe a one star and that is maybe.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia G, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valuable Guest:

I wanted to thank you for your time in writing your review, after reading your comments, Homeless sleeping under the stairs. We had identified the door issue and we fixed the door lock so only paying guest can enter the door. I assure you that our hotel is secure for our guests and the staff. Our property is currently undergoing some changes for better services and upgrades that will be beneficial to the comfort of our guest’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beware of the 'pink slips' they give you at San Francisco airport. When faced with an unexpected stay over because of bad weather we were handed one of these with a toll free number and
supposedly a room rate discount. After arranging with the chap on the other end we were directed to catch the shuttle to the 'Hotel Focus' just outside the airport. For $111 we were expecting better. Bathroom door was falling off it's hinges, elevator was ancient and breakfast was a joke. Only good thing to say was the staff were very helpful and friendly. Suggestion: When faced with this unexpected problem, take a few minutes and search out the hotels board and book your own room and hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia G, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

We apologize for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay with us arranged by Airport. In the future, we are looking forwad to better accommodate you. By the way thank you for your compliments on your stay was the staff were very helpful and friendly, we will let our know

Sincerely,

Focus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for a week and all I can say, for the money I payed, this place is awesome. Starting with a nice room that offers all the comfort needed. Very clean (for the same rate you get an old smelly room in the same area). And last but not least, the front desk staff are so friendly and always happy to help. I certainly go back there...

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia G, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest:

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I wanted to thank you for all your feedback and positive comments. If you around the area again please keep us in mind.

“Focusing and improving everyday"

Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Focus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I made my reservation the first time, I was nervous due to cheaper price and noisy area. I have stayed at this hotel 3 weekends now. Very reasonable room price, comfortable bed, free good wifi, hot water, good tv selection, and quiet (other than people talking loudly in hall one night). Nothing fancy but comfortable and a great deal for the area. Yes more electrical outlets would be nice, yes a small refrigerator would be nice. You do need to pay extra for parking .... but still a great hotel deal for the area. Staff have been very professional and pleasant. I am heading back this weekend.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia G, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Valuable Guest:

I wanted to thank you for all your feedback and positive comments, also to share with you that our property is experiencing new upgrades that will add more value to your future stay.
If you need a lay over again, please keep us in mind, we are here

“Focusing and improving everyday"

Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Focus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Focus SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Focus SFO

Address: 111 Mitchell Avenue, US 101 / Bayshore Freeway at South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Francisco Airport (North))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Focus SFO 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Focus SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Francisco Airport (North) Hotel South San Francisco
Motel 6 San Francisco
South San Francisco Motel 6
South San Francisco Motel Six
Motel 6 South San Francisco
Motel Six South San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Focus SFO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.