We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for its price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good value for its price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I needed a room to crash for 12 hours before my next flight out of SFO so I booked this hotel through hotwire. The price was extremely reasonable for this hotel. The room is big and clean and the bathroom is very clean. The airport shuttle, which was very important to my stay, runs between 4am till 12:40am (I managed to catch the last one!). The staffs are generally friendly and helpful. TV channels are pretty comprehensive - HBO, ESPN, etc etc. There is a restaurant downstairs if you are hungry but definitely don't expect michelin star quality. I left my iphone charger at home but to my surprise, there is a usb power outlet in the room, which totally saved my day.

Two minor things - there are no slippers in the room so pack your own and you can only boil hot water in the coffee maker so your tea/water will smell like coffee to some extent. However, given the price I paid, I'm very happy with my stay. I think the hotel is great for transit but I don't think I'll recommend it if you are looking to stay a few days and explore SF.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    131
    112
    68
    45
See reviews for
60
89
60
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The room is nice, beds and pillows were comfortable, bathroom needs updating, a/c was a bit loud. Booked through Priceline and I got the area I expected. Stayed for 2 nights and paid only $206. Requested for two beds with a late check-in time and got what we wanted. They charge for parking which is $11/nt and they give you a parking pass that you put on top of your car's dashboard. However, there were cars parked overnight without the car passes and they weren't towed at all so I don't know how they implement the "parking for registered guests only" rule because it's an open parking lot and I didn't see holiday inn personnel going around and checking on the parked cars for their passes. How do I know that the cars were parked overnight? We were parked in between two cars that I took notice of because I didn't see any parking passes on their respective dashboards. We came in at 10pm to check in and left the following day at 9:30am and those two cars were still there, without the passes. Just made me wonder how they can charge us registered guests for parking and not charge the others who were parked there overnight as well. Wifi was close to non-existent, they should do something about the connection because they can't boast of a free wifi to their guests if it does not work at all. By the way, they will forget to tell you at check in but just to let everyone know that for the elevator to work, you need to put in your keycard at a slot inside the elevator. We stood inside the elevator pressing our floor number for a good 5 minutes until another nice couple came in and told us that we needed to put in our keycard so we can press the floor we need to be in. The couple actually said that they also had the same problem the night before when they checked in and were not informed about the elevator needing a keycard and just like us they stood there and tried to figure out how to make the elevator work. I like that keycards are needed for the elevator to move BUT I believe the front desk people should also let registered guests know.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear IDM1217,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to our room accommodations. However, it is regrettable that your experience with our elevator and parking services kept you from having fully enjoyed your stay. I have taken your comments into serious account and rest assured that we will use them to improve on these areas mentioned on your review.

I hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a more satisfying stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I reserved 2 rooms approx 2-3 weeks ahead; I requested space near UCSF for a medical appointment in San Francisco. I got Price Line and didn't know what hotel I was getting until after it was charged to my acct The next day I realized I only needed one room. Could not cancel. Room was beautiful and spacious, but I couldn't get internet except for a few minutes.

Room Tip: I asked for 2 rooms near UCSF for one night. I got Price LIne, which requires answers to lots of que...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very nice; very environmentally friendly. I was glad to see they were environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Generally good hotel conveniently accessible from the airport.
Complimentary Shuttle also very useful to go back to airport or the downtown area via the BART.
Friendly staff and tasty restaurant (I really enjoyed their breakfast options).
I sleep very easily, so no problem for me with the noise of the aircraft's. The hotel is located just under the plane paths if they are taking off in the direction of the city. It might be a bad thing for some visitors.

Being non American, I did not think to the Bay to Breakers race when planning my trip, so this hotel was a good alternative to the incredible prices of SF hotels (even if still more expensive as usual).

Room was big for me, free internet was working, but it was quite slow.

Room Tip: I don't have particular comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnIntlArpt, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out the time to leave us a review. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We hold ourselves to high standards of service and were very disappointed in not offering a comfortable stay to you. Your comments helped us in pinpointing the areas of improvement. We hope that you would give us another chance to serve you and show you the hospitality we are capable of.
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn San Francisco Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have stayed in all kinds of hotels, from simple Motel-6-type places to 5-star hotels with amazing concierge service, but this is the first time I've felt the need to review one. I stayed at the SFO Holiday Inn at the beginning and end of a recent trip, for a total of 3 nights. I would never stay there again.

I got the rooms through Hotwire and was happy to get a supposed 3-star hotel for a 2-star price. However, they charge $11 a day for parking and don't provide breakfast, making it less of a bargain than I realized. But that wasn't the main problem; it's with the quality of the facilities and services that the hotel does provide. Here are some of my experiences:

* The wireless internet either didn't work at all or worked so slowly as to be unusable. (I don't mean I couldn't watch videos; I mean I could not even get e-mail or check in for my flight because the connection kept timing out.) No problem, I thought, I'll just go to the business center. I followed the signs to the business center and found... nothing. There was a room full of storage boxes that looked like it might have been the business center once, but it said "Do Not Enter." When I asked at the desk where the business center was, the clerk said "right over there" and pointed to a single computer, without a printer, sitting on a desk in the middle of the lobby. When I tried to use it, it was password protected with no instructions on how to log in. I didn't want to wait in line to talk to the clerk again, so I gave up.

* There was hair (not mine!) in both the sink and bathtub of one of the rooms. Enough said.

* Half of the drawers to the dresser and night table were open when I checked in to one of the rooms, implying that they hadn't finished cleaning it (see above).

* One of the rooms had such loud A/C that I couldn't sleep and had to turn it off. Then of course it was too hot to sleep.

* One of the mornings, I got a wake-up call at 5:40 a.m. I had not requested any wake-up call; in fact I had planned to sleep late. I feel bad for the person who didn't get his or her call and missed a flight.

* They were supposed to provide a free newspaper outside my door, but one only appeared one of the three mornings, even though I saw it at other room doors. The last morning, a Monday, I asked for one at the desk, and the clerk said, "you can have that San Francisco Chronicle," pointing to a single newspaper off to the side. It was only after I was at the airport that I wondered why the paper was so thick and realized it was Sunday's; they had given me a leftover paper from the day before.

It's not that any one thing was so terrible, but overall it was a really unpleasant experience. I would have been better off at a well-run 2-star hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieterlen
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We can highly recommend this place as it's very close to the airport. To drive to the city it will take you about 20 minutes, depending on the traffic. There are ample parking lots available. The rooms are spacious and absolutely clean, the lobby is very impressing and very nicely furnished. It's definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnIntlArpt, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Mizzi22,
Thank you for the perfect score! We loved reading your review and sharing it with the staff.
Safe Travels,
Holiday Inn San Francisco Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had a very pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn. I stayed in 504 which was very fresh looking and seemed like it was recently renovated, the TV was especially nice and large screen. Wi-fi internet worked very well as well. All that, and at an excellent rate!

Room Tip: don't get rm on side of 504 if you dont want parking lot view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport

Address: 275 South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Francisco International Airport North is located in the birthplace of Biotech and ideally situated for travelers. It is adjacent to the South San Francisco Conference Center, just 1.5 Miles from the San Francisco International Airport, a short distance to DowntownSan Francisco, Less than 30 minutes from Silicon Valley, right off Highway 101, with easy access to Interstate 280 and 380. The hotel features 224 spacious rooms, a brand new lobby with marble floors, fireplace, and all accommodations are thoughtfully appointed with modern amenities such as Free High Speed Internet Access, Parking, Free Airport Shuttle Service, and 24 Hour Fitness Room. Along with the South San Francisco Conference Center s 16,500 square feet of premium state-of-art Conference Facilities, we offer 6 additional rooms totaling 23,000 sq. Ft. Of Meeting Space. A friendly welcome awaits families and tourists at our hotel. We are located near many tourist attractions such as Fisherman s Wharf, Chinatown, Golden Gate Bridge, Harding Park Golf Course, SBC Park, home of the San Francisco Giants, Monster Park...Go 49ers!, Great America Amusement Park, and the Cow Palace. For business travelers, we are near Genentech, Amgen, Cell Genesys, and United Airlines Western Hub offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport Hotel South San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco Airport
South San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn South San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.