We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Much better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for three nights for a conference next door. After reading reviews I was a tad concerned, but pleasantly surprised when I arrived. They have redone the hotel and it is much more modern and inviting.
Pros: modern and sleek, very secure requiring card access for the elevator, has a bar/restaurant attached and we liked it, not a bad drive into the city, airport shuttle

Cons: gym was very small, but adequate for two women who work out often and can improvise, not a great view, airport shuttle took awhile when we arrived at the hotel but I think we had just missed it.

Overall a nice stay, inviting and helpful staff!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    143
    120
    73
    48
See reviews for
71
96
62
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a bad experience on our first night but the management was more than helpful in resolving it. Our room had some elements that were very poor and in dire need of maintenance and updating. The hotel is still being renovated and updated with many rooms only partially updated. We were moved to a room that has all the updating finished and is much more relaxing. Very pleasant staff and the manager was very real with us, told us the plans for the hotel. If you book here, just ask if your room is finished renovating and if not ask to see it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I checked into this hotel the night before I was to take a flight, due to the hotel's proximity to the airport. I arrived in the evening and immediately went to sleep. The next morning I woke up, and saw a bed bug crawling on the pillow next to me. I captured it and put it into a cup and quickly got out of bed. Upon lifting the covers, I saw others.. in broad daylight!
I was horrified. I brought the bugs downstairs to the desk and asked to speak with the manager. He told me that I brought the bugs into the hotel and the room would be "inspected" the following week.

Several days later the manager of the hotel called me and told me that they had a "legal" document from a bug company, stating that the room was "clean", despite the fact that I had shown them the evidence! Additionally, I was informed by the management of the hotel that I would be responsible for paying for the room. Whatever happened to "the customer comes first"? When I called the Corporate office, they refused to talk to me, and told me my case had gone to the "higher ups".. They could not produce a contact for me to speak with, nor have I heard from them since.

This turned out to be a very costly hotel stay. In addition to the $210 for the room, I had to dispose of all of my clothing and my carry-on bag as well.. I did not want to risk bringing the bugs from this infested Holiday Inn into my own home,

Do you want to take the chance?

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnIntlArpt, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
The Holiday Inn San Francisco International Airport has a strict protocol that is followed regarding any bed bug claim. The room in question was immediately put out of service for inspection by Terminix our licensed exterminator. Terminix after a complete and thorough inspection submits a legal and binding document of their findings. The room that the comments are referencing was inspected and found to be negative of any infestation or insects of any kind. This document was forwarded to IHG corporate for their records. This response by the hotel is necessary so that the facts are known and the hotel's reputation is kept intact. In any travel environment where people stay there lies a potential of things being brought in, however we at the Holiday are very proactive and cautious with this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights before flying back to australia and it was what we needed,they have a dedicated shuttle the works on a very reliable time schedule which we used a few times they gave us a free crib for our 18 month old baby free internet and a nice big clean room,what more could we ask for.We had dinner in the restaurant there both nights and enjoyed our meals both times.Straight across the is an ihop for breakfast or mcdonalds 2min walk up the road.There is a bus service the runs in and out of the city Bus 292,for $6 round trip then you can do what you want and travel back.We looked at getting a hotel in the city centre but all the nice hotels were over $300 a night when you could stay here and catch a $6 bus.we walked to the gas stations and mcdonalds and fell very safe at night,so overall was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We booked this hotel due to having a early flight the next day. This was a fantastic looking hotel , the lobby was amazing. They have very high back chairs and love seats that make you look very small when you sit in them. Good for pictures. The staff were helpful when printing out your boarding passes. There is a restaurant right in the hotel called Hoolans where we had an amazing dinner. It is a sports bar so there were many tvs around for you to watch while eating. The staff in there were also very nice. The wake up call came and then the shuttle got us to the airport in time. We would definely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUERTO RICO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very close to the airport. Airport shuttle available. Clean and comfortable.
Parking available. We booked through Hotwire and got a very good rate. Good value for money.
Great customer service!
I recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Ernest at Holiday Inn saved our day (and night) after our flight had been canceled. We had been given the run around by the airlines and it was near midnight when we arrived at Holiday Inn to redeem the hard fought hotel vouchers for a brief sleep before our morning flights only to find the airlines had sent us to the wrong hotel. I was ready to just sleep on a bench at the airport but Ernest worked some magic and switched our voucher to his hotel. Great customer service!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport

Address: 275 South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Francisco International Airport North is located in the birthplace of Biotech and ideally situated for travelers. It is adjacent to the South San Francisco Conference Center, just 1.5 Miles from the San Francisco International Airport, a short distance to DowntownSan Francisco, Less than 30 minutes from Silicon Valley, right off Highway 101, with easy access to Interstate 280 and 380. The hotel features 224 spacious rooms, a brand new lobby with marble floors, fireplace, and all accommodations are thoughtfully appointed with modern amenities such as Free High Speed Internet Access, Parking, Free Airport Shuttle Service, and 24 Hour Fitness Room. Along with the South San Francisco Conference Center s 16,500 square feet of premium state-of-art Conference Facilities, we offer 6 additional rooms totaling 23,000 sq. Ft. Of Meeting Space. A friendly welcome awaits families and tourists at our hotel. We are located near many tourist attractions such as Fisherman s Wharf, Chinatown, Golden Gate Bridge, Harding Park Golf Course, SBC Park, home of the San Francisco Giants, Monster Park...Go 49ers!, Great America Amusement Park, and the Cow Palace. For business travelers, we are near Genentech, Amgen, Cell Genesys, and United Airlines Western Hub offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport Hotel South San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco Airport
South San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn South San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.