We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good first impression from the staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“very good first impression from the staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Good first impression from the staff. Arrival after midnight after a long flight and was quite pleased to find the front desk well staffed and well organized. The reservation was made via the Holiday Inn / Priority Club web site. The keys and room number were completed prior to arrival so quick check in and quick check out the next day. The room is exactly as pictured on the web site so would be one of the newly renovated rooms. 24 hour IHOP and convenient store (gas station) across the street so available food and drinks and snacks. The friendly staff and the quality food at the IHOP certainly adds value to the airport hotel aspect of the Holiday Inn. No lack of pillows or blankets on the very comfortable bed. Hot water and towels to spare. Shuttle to / from airport is quick and free. Taxi $11. The hotel is not ideal for a multi day visit to San Francisco. The hotel is an ideal airport hotel or conference hotel. Parking is $7.

Internet was fast and free! Thank you.

Room Tip: no view to speak of so enjoy the comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    160
    130
    76
    51
See reviews for
81
104
66
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I moved to the Holiday Inn after staying at the Best Western one horrific evening! The staff was so pleasant and very outgoing! They did everything they could to make my stay pleasant! I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and it's staff! Of course when traveling on business, you don't always stay at the Ritz, but I still want to feel comfortable in a safe and clean environment! The restaurant was great too!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in April of this year. I purchased the hotel in advance on Hotwire. Great Deal! Everything we needed: Resturant, Shuttle and a Clean Room! The Stay was interesting. We spent the first day out in the City, came back and our room had not been cleaned. Went to the front desk, they didn't have us checked in our room which was odd because we had already stayed the first night and they told us they would have someone clean our room. We said no...just fresh towels would be great! Next we wanted to watch a movie, couldn't do it because...they didn't have us checked in. No one could tell us what the problem was. Eventually, they figured out the movie, and gave us a free breakfast. Perfect, until my credit card bill came in the next month. You guessed it....they charged my incidentals credit card for a one night's stay. So, I called the hotel. They said, "no problem, we'll credit it back immediately." It didn't happen until I called 5 times and threatened to involve Hotwire and Visa.

It's a very nice hotel...just check your credit card at the door.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIrmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed at Holiday Inn for one night before my flight back to UK. The room was lovely, very spacious and very clean with king size bed and selection of soft or hard pillows (I slept like a baby that night!). I ordered room service twice (dinner and breakfast) and the food was very good and delivered hot and very fast.
All staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the ladies at the main reception.
Complimentary airport shuttle arrive promptly and dropped me off at the airport within 10 minutes.
My only complaint is TV remote. The first one wouldn't work at all so someone came to my room to give me a replacement. The replacement was only marignally better and it was such a hassle to switch from one channel to another that I gave up in the end and watched the same channel eventhough I wasn't particularly interested in what was on.
Overall, if I needed to stay close to San Francisco Airport again I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My business trip ended in South San Francisco where I had to stay a night before my flight home. The staff was very friendly and the hotel seems to be remodeled and was very clean. I did mark the hotel down for the paid parking that I thought might be free,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed for 6 days total and overall very much enjoyed our stay.

Pros:
-One of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed at; the room was absolutely spotless.
-Despite being next to the airport, very quiet.
-Free internet and cable channels.
-Room service was very convenient. Houlihan's is a great restaurant connected to the hotel.
-Most of the people we spoke with both at the Holiday Inn and Houlihan's were extremely polite and friendly.
-Fridge in room.
-Very comfortable bed.
-Guest laundry; I didn't use it, but it was nice to know it was there if necessary.
-Free airport shuttle.
-Nicely decorated, especially the lobby.

Cons:
-Phone issues, on every call I had to yell into the phone for guest services to hear me.
-No microwave in room like advertised.
-Location wasn't the greatest, which was my fault for not doing better homework. The free shuttle to the airport BART station was convenient, but it was about an hour and a half one way to get to any destinations in San Francisco, which I wasn't anticipating. I would have preferred a more convenient location, but that was my fault, not the hotels'. Even basic things, like stores were not in the area. We had to go all the way downtown for groceries which was a pain in the butt.
-One guest services rep I spoke with was rather rude, but that was one out of about six or seven we spoke with over the whole stay, so not a huge deal. Everyone else was great. Maybe she was just having a bad day.
-Internet was slow sometimes, but it was free so I guess you take what you can get.

I would recommend this hotel if you're staying overnight for a flight or something, but it's probably not the best for a long term stay, due to the inconvenient location. It's a shame because other than that, it's a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed here for the third time when we were in town for a wedding. Over the past years, much improvement has been made to the hotel.

The staff here is always great. They are helpful and kind. I have never been treated rudely. They go out of their way to help us.

It is true that the hotel is still under renovation. While the furniture and bedding has been updated, they hallways are still in need of work, and the old carpeting is still in the rooms. I'm not sure if they have any intention of working on these areas. However, the rooms are clean. The linens (including the towels) are nice.

The remote control was VERY touchy. You had to fiddle with it and point it at exactly the right spot to get it to work. The internet, while free, was a bit slow.

We always manage to get this hotel through Priceline at a VERY cheap rate. It's probably not my favorite place to stay, but it's certainly adequate. We really only sleep at this hotel and for the price we pay, I can live with it. Again, the staff is what makes the difference here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport

Address: 275 South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Francisco International Airport North is located in the birthplace of Biotech and ideally situated for travelers. It is adjacent to the South San Francisco Conference Center, just 1.5 Miles from the San Francisco International Airport, a short distance to DowntownSan Francisco, Less than 30 minutes from Silicon Valley, right off Highway 101, with easy access to Interstate 280 and 380. The hotel features 224 spacious rooms, a brand new lobby with marble floors, fireplace, and all accommodations are thoughtfully appointed with modern amenities such as Overnight Parking at $10.95 including tax, Free High Speed Internet Access,Free Airport Shuttle Service, and 24 Hour Fitness Room. Along with the South San Francisco Conference Center s 16,500 square feet of premium state-of-art Conference Facilities, we offer 6 additional rooms totaling 23,000 sq. Ft. Of Meeting Space. A friendly welcome awaits families and tourists at our hotel. We are located near many tourist attractions such as Fisherman s Wharf, Chinatown, Golden Gate Bridge, Harding Park Golf Course, SBC Park, home of the San Francisco Giants, Monster Park...Go 49ers!, Great America Amusement Park, and the Cow Palace. For business travelers, we are near Genentech, Amgen, Cell Genesys, and United Airlines Western Hub offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport Hotel South San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco Airport
South San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn South San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.